Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I saw the movie first. The book difference was a surprise
An unnamed time traveler sees the future of man (802,701 A.D.) and then the inevitable future of the world. He tells his tale in detail.

I grew up on the Rod Taylor /George Pal movie. When I started the book I expected it to be slightly different with a tad more complexity as with most book/movie relationships. I was surprised to find the reason for the breakup...
Published on Jan. 19 2008 by bernie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book
Although I didn't like this one as much as Wells' other books, I did enjoy it and I am glad I read it. His view of the future is one that is interesting and thought-provoking. The book remains fresh and suprising despite its age. Unfortunately, it doesn't really seem to go anywhere. The reader learns the theme of the book pretty early on, and the rest of the book the...
Published on May 27 2004 by Brendan


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I saw the movie first. The book difference was a surprise, Jan. 19 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
An unnamed time traveler sees the future of man (802,701 A.D.) and then the inevitable future of the world. He tells his tale in detail.

I grew up on the Rod Taylor /George Pal movie. When I started the book I expected it to be slightly different with a tad more complexity as with most book/movie relationships. I was surprised to find the reason for the breakup of species (Morlock and Eloi) was class Vs atomic (in later movie versions it was political). I could live with that but to find that some little pink thing replaced Yvette Mimieux was too munch.

After all the surprises we can look at the story as unique in its time, first published in 1895, yet the message is timeless. The writing and timing could not have been better. And the ending was certainly appropriate for the world that he describes. Possibly if the story were written today the species division would be based on eugenics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction at the roots, March 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Time Machine (Kindle Edition)
This is the original thing! The future of science fiction rests on the shoulders of this giant work. Read this and understand the roots of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic!, March 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Time Machine (Kindle Edition)
Yep, it is not because it is old and free that is not worth it.
This one is good.
Timeless and good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Jan. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Time Machine (Kindle Edition)
This book transport your mind to different situations, you live the agony, the surprise, and hola history with the main character, you're part of the history, part of the environment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Time Machine, Dec 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Time Machine (Kindle Edition)
This is a classic sci fi that should not be missed. It has been made into a movie a couple of times, with huge success. The book itself is fantastic and gives a greater look into the characters and scenario of the future scientific advancements and worlds that could be possible. Wells was way ahead of his time when he wrote this book. If you are a sci fi buff, this is one book that should be a 'must read'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Nov. 6 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Time Machine (Kindle Edition)
This book was one of the first of what we now consider as the science fiction genre. H G Wells had a brilliant mind and wrote speculative fiction that lasts and is still consumed to this day. Steamj punk also owes a lot to what H G Wells wrote. For Mr Wells the Victorian era was what he lived in and the mix of that era and sc-fi is what we now call "Steam Punk".
This book still tracks well and was my first introduction into science fiction. Manymovies of varying quality have been made based on this book. The book itself is far better than any of those movies.
This is one of those books that I turn back to and re-read on afrequent basis. It keeps getting better and better in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Sept. 29 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Time Machine (Kindle Edition)
H G Wells is one of the great authors of the past. If you at all claim to be a sci-fi fan you must read this at one point. And come on....its FREE!!!! It does not get better than that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!!, Aug. 2 2013
By 
Rose (Saint John, NB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Time Machine (Kindle Edition)
Have you ever watched a movie and you loved it..not just loved it, but thought about it all the time..so much that you just knew you had to read the book or else it would drive you crazy wanting details that you knew never made the cut? That's why I read this book.
And it was good. Really good. But it was not quite like the movie. In fact, other than the time machine itself they were quite different. I loved his view of how cultures could change over time and how society, or lack thereof, would function. Evolve or devolve - however you look at it. This is a book that I would recommend to anyone, young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Time Machine, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Time Machine (Kindle Edition)
I am a die hard SCfi fan and I really loved this book, a very good, cant put it down type. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Start of Something Special, Sept. 14 2010
By 
Dave_42 "Dave_42" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Time Machine (Paperback)
In any discussion of the history of Science Fiction, H. G. (Herbert George) Wells is sure to be mentioned, and "The Time Machine" is the first of his novels/novellas. Wells may not have invented the genre, but his impact on it would be difficult to overstate. Unlike Verne, Wells was able to go beyond just what could be accomplished by science currently, and the invention of a Time Machine is central to the story Wells is telling. That is not to say that he has nothing to say on current sciences as well, just that he allows stories to take readers far beyond that which Verne would allow.

The history of "The Time Machine" is an unusual one. Wells had used the subject of time travel repeatedly starting in 1888 with his incomplete serial "The Chronic Argonauts". It next took form in a series of articles published in "The National Observer" in 1894, and then finally as a serial novel in "The New Review" in early 1895 when editor W. E. Henley moved from one publication to the other at the end of 1894 and convinced Wells to write it as a serial for his new publication.

The story itself is quite unusual as well. Wells refrains from naming the Time Traveler at all, and the narrator also remains nameless except one reference to a person named Hillyer in the final chapter before the Epilogue, which apparently refers to him. The only major character whose name is repeatedly used is Weena, the childlike woman whom the Time Traveler meets in the year 802,701 A.D. Though Verne would have considered the Time Machine a cheat, i.e. non-scientific, Wells does include other bits and pieces of science in the telling of this tale and there is a point he is making about science as well. He touches on evolution, astrophysics, and sociology in looking at what could happen to a society if life is too much of a utopia, as well as looking at the social divisions in the society of his time and where they may lead.

The story is a quick read, at around 90 pages, and just 12 chapters and the epilogue the reader can easily get through this in a single sitting if they desire. It also, despite its flaws, captures the reader's attention and so one is willing to forgive the flaws in the story-telling.

The Penguin Classics edition of "The Time Machine" also contains an Introduction by Marina Warner, notes on the text by the editor Patrick Parrinder, and textual notes by Steven Mclean. Lastly, though certainly not least, it contains Wells preface to the 1931 edition of "The Time Machine" in which Wells discusses the circumstances in his life when he wrote it, as well as his view that the work will outlive him. Flawed though the story may be, it is a significant work, very readable, and the Penguin Classics edition adds to the experience with the added material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb657396c)

This product

The Time Machine
The Time Machine by H.G. Wells (Mass Market Paperback - Oct. 1 2002)
CDN$ 4.50 CDN$ 4.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews