Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAT DAYS ARE OVER!
I used to be a fat lazy "Garfield" type cat. I am 10 years old and I hadn't played in almost six years because it was too much of an effort. My coat was brittle, full of dandruff and my belly nearly hung to the ground. I wheezed a lot since my belly was so big. My owners were very worried about me. They put me on these really expensive prescription diets that the vet...
Published on Feb. 1 2002 by K. Lordan-Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sound logic, false premise, absurd conclusions
I bought this book while in a pink cloud after a successful new cat introduction by my sister using Anitra's suggested method. I found her feeding instructions bogus. I agree with not overfeeding a cat, however her feeding ideas are based on the idea of a cat in the wild may get a mouse a day and be healthy. Well, guess what animals in captivity live longer, lots. My...
Published on April 19 2000 by Cary J. Cardwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A must for true feline lovers, Aug. 31 2002
By 
"pegyost" (Whitier, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
I have used this book as the best reference for treating
ailments, assisting in recovery, emotional problems,
diet, as complementary use to standard veterinary
medicine (although the author tells you frankly and
without reservation when a vet must be consulted).
It's written with true compassion for the feline
members of the family. I have learned so much about
diet, home health care, natural remedies, and so much
more, with very positive results. Get a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long live Mr Whiskers, Jan. 26 2000
By 
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
Thanks to The New Natural Cat I am happier. I suffer kiddey disease and require shots of Ringer's Lactate. My owners read this book and learned how to heat the fluids so they don't hurt when I get the shots. They also changed my diet and I am now given the nutrients I need in order to survive with my disease. Thanks to this book, I am a better kitty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just one word of caution, Jan. 6 2003
By 
E. Yeo (Singapore Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
This book is great for anyone who truly loves their cats. i only have one concern: Ms Frazer advocates feeding cats baby food, which is generally acceptable in certain circumstances. However, she does not clarify that owners should not feed baby food that contains onion powder, as it is highly toxic to cats. So please be warned, fellow cat lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've thrown it across the room more than once., Nov. 15 2001
By 
Amanda Peck "amanda931" (Waynesboro) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
Screamed "I'll never do that" out loud as well. And I always come back to it. Looking forward to getting it again. It's probably in need of new edition.
She's right as far as I'm concerned on the subject of kitty litter. (Don't use very much, don't bother scooping, just pitch it, clean, clean clean the box)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on Cats in general I have ever bought, Sept. 2 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
I highly recomend this book. It has every thing the new and not so new cat owner needs to know about their furbaby. Helpfull tips on everything from living with your cat to how to take care of them and give them the best life possible. I love the tip on how to throw "cat kisses"!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good health for all, Jan. 12 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
I found this book very helpful in learning how to take care of my cats. Being a person who lives wholisticly, I only wanted the same for my cats. This book has great information which I found easy to incorporate into our lives. Adam Bernstein
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book for the true cat lovers!!!, Oct. 3 2001
By 
Veronica Ferris (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
This THE best most comprehensive cat care bible I have ever come across. Anitra is the new authority on cat care. Get this book if you love your cat and want him or her to live a long healthy life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Be careful with the information in this book. It ..., July 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
Be careful with the information in this book. It is OLD and out of date! There are many things you should research before implementing!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This book is for the over bearing cat lover, Sept. 27 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
I found the book hard to read and quite boring. Her radical opinions didn't amuse a bit. In fact I found it quite comical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing diet information!, Sept. 23 2011
This review is from: New Natural Cat (Paperback)
This book helped me understand cat nutrition.
DRY FOOD is JUNK FOOD for your cat.
It took me a under a week & my 3 older (10 yrs old)cats are finally off of DRY FOOD.

-WARNING: DO NOT CHANGE YOUR CAT'S DIET IF HE OR SHE IS OVERWEIGHT.-
-Drastic diet change for an over weight cat,
will make him or her sick & die - WARNING.

I did what the book said:
WEEK 1 -
-remove all dry food,
-& replace with 4 small meals a day of wet food(canned cat food or pureed chicken)
-In the Baby food Chicken/pureed chicken:make sure that there is NO ONIONS or SALT added, both are TOXIC to cats.
Make your own pureed chicken with a blender.
-I bought frozen raw chicken food for cats(Red Dog Blue Cat brand from the neighbourhood pet food store (look for a freezer)[...]
-I mix the raw chicken food for cats with the Purreed Chicken.(half & half)
-I add grated carrot & heinz baby food creamed corn.
So thats:
-40 percent protein(raw cat food chicken & baby food purreed chicken)
-30 percent vegie (carrot)
-30 percent grain (creamed corn)
-1/4 teaspoon of Cod Liver Oil (or some salmon oil for cats, find in pet store)

One of my fussiest cats is slowly transitioning to the raw yet, i mix more pureed chicken than frozen raw chicken for cats. (Has only been 1 week)
Remember for the first week you will be feeding them more often, do not restrict calorie intake of obese cats, feed them 4 meals aday to start. My cats got hungry every 5-6 hours,so i had to take notes of times they ate, so i would know when the next feeding time will be.
WEEK 2 -
All 3 cats are eating now:
-1 1/2 teaspoons of Raw Chicken for Cats (Red Dog Blue Cat brand from a pet food store freezer)
-1/2-1 teaspoon of grated carrots
-1/4 teaspoon of Cod Liver Oil, or salmon oil for cats, find in pet store)
Mix together above with a fork.
Place on a new plate if Presentation is important to your cat.
On top i smeared 1/4 teaspoon of pureed chicken
THEY GOBBLED IT ALL UP GLEAFULLY!
They get hungry every 5-6 hrs - So I feed them!

WEEK 3 -
ALL 3 cats are on the raw chicken cat food from red dog blue kat brand.
Nothing added. They eat more of the food now that its just raw chicken food, 1 cat gets hungry every 3 hours, other 2 cats get hungry every 5-6 hours.

WEEK 4 -
I've adjusted the diet, after following their bowel movements.
Two cats prefer some extra grated carrot added, as well as 1/4 teaspoon of cod liver oilor salmon oil. Other cat not into carrots, so just 1/4 teaspoon of cod liver oil or salmon oil added.
They eat every 6 hours.

WARNING:
During the first month of transition diet:
YOU WILL HAVE TO WAKE UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT TO FEED ON SCHEDULE.
So get some cat naps yourself!!!!
:)

All their coats are softer & they're more mellow.
They poo less.
They have way more energy!!!

Remember to give tons of brushing & petting during the first 4 weeks of the new diet. (Remember how u feel when u diet, better with no stress)
I also add 1/4 tsp of cod liver oil or salmon oil,
for a softer stool during week 1-2.

Raw Chicken Cat food Red Dog Blue Kat brand is from pet store freezer section
READ THIS BOOK - IT IS A BIBLE FOR CAT HEALTH!!!!!
Well at least your not in the dark anymore.

-WARNING: DO NOT CHANGE YOUR CAT'S DIET IF HE OR SHE IS OVERWEIGHT.-
-Drastic diet change for an over weight cat,
will make him or her sick & die - WARNING.

-WARNING: DO NOT CHANGE YOUR CAT'S DIET IF HE OR SHE IS OVERWEIGHT.-
-Drastic diet change for an over weight cat,
will make him or her sick & die - WARNING.

-WARNING: DO NOT CHANGE YOUR CAT'S DIET IF HE OR SHE IS OVERWEIGHT.-
-Drastic diet change for an over weight cat,
will make him or her sick & die - WARNING.

-WARNING: DO NOT CHANGE YOUR CAT'S DIET IF HE OR SHE IS OVERWEIGHT.-
-Drastic diet change for an over weight cat,
will make him or her sick & die - WARNING.

Ask your vet how to help your overweight kitty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Natural Cat
New Natural Cat by Anitra Frazier (Paperback - Oct. 1 1990)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews