Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Spanking, and then More Spanking
Now, if spanking and corporal punishment are your thing, this book deserves six stars. Because while there is sex here, even erotic, steamy, well-written sex, the frequent use of the paddle is the dominant theme of this story. Anne Rice is to be commended for turning a subject that in the hands of a lesser writer would be nothing but descriptions of body parts in action...
Published on April 17 2004 by Chris O'Malley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STOP!!!
Seriously, don't dare click the buy button! I love to read good, well-written eroctica and this was not it. As the other reviewers say, it's just boring. The writing is so non-descriptive ( other than the many colors a rear end can turn). This is an excellent premise gone terribly wrong. It's just a rehash from chapter to chapter of one long spanking. I guess that if you...
Published on May 5 2003 by A. Coray


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STOP!!!, May 5 2003
Seriously, don't dare click the buy button! I love to read good, well-written eroctica and this was not it. As the other reviewers say, it's just boring. The writing is so non-descriptive ( other than the many colors a rear end can turn). This is an excellent premise gone terribly wrong. It's just a rehash from chapter to chapter of one long spanking. I guess that if you only want that in your erotic collection then this might be of interest. I prefer to mix mine up a little...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Happily NEVER After, July 4 2004
By 
Evelyn M. Jensen (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
This is the worst piece of supposed erotica I have ever encountered. It is neither scintilating nor satisfying. It's billed as an erotic exploration of the Sleeping Beauty story--a concept I find not only valid, but interesting and extremely promising. However, after the prince enters the castle, slices off Beauty's clothes and proceeds to rape her--she's unconscious, mind you--the story leaves behind any trace of the fairy tale. It begs the question, why bother with the tie? Why not just create your own Prince-Not-At-All-Charming and Princess Exquisitely Idotic?
There's really nothing to recommend this book. Certainly not the characters; they're repulsive, simplistic and downright stupid. Plot? Nope! The plot is merely a vehicle to set up one insipid sexual situation after another. The writing itself is dreadful. It clunks and thunks along through one improbable description after another. Stylistically, it downright stinks! I've never read Ann Rice and I see no reason to check out any of her other works.
I love a well crafted sexual encounter. However, there's nothing remotely resembling such an animal here. There's scene after scene describing various supposed erotic acts, yet in her apparent attempt to shock, Ms. Rice completely misses the mark. It gets so ho-hum--oh, sex again? Another spanking? Will he raise welts or not this time? Yawn! Wake me when it's over. Not erotic! There's nothing at all appealing about any of it. In fact, unless you're heavily into abasement and degradation, there's nothing here for you. If there is, I recommend therapy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Erotic it is NOT, July 4 2004
By 
Evelyn M. Jensen (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
This is perhaps the least erotic bit or erotica I have ever encountered. It is neither titlating nor satisfying at any point along its tedious way. It bills itself as an erotic take on the Sleeping Beauty legend--a concept I find valid and rather interesting. However, after the Prince enters the castle, and shortly thereafter, Beauty (yes, he "takes" her while she's unconscious--charming!) it has NOTHING to do with the fairy tale. It never agian even visits the traditional story. The characters are all repulsive, deranged and drearily stupid. And, as though that weren't enough, the writing clunks and thunks awkwardly about. Frankly, the style is downright stinky.
I am a devotee of the well-crafted sex scene. Unfortunately, there is not even one here--odd for erotica, wouldn't you say? In fact, unless you're heavy into S&M and degradation, there's NOTHING for you in this book. Certainly there's no character development and the plot exists merely as a vehicle for the next spanking, penetration and badly described thrusting fest. UGH!
Do yourself a favor; put this book out of your mind forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sleeping Beauty meets the Prince, June 24 2004
By 
Anne Rice's rewriting of Sleeping Beauty is absolutely remarkable. The Prince that claims her takes her away for her to become a sexual toy in the court of some tyrannical Queen. She goes through an initiation that leads her into understanding and feeling that subservience and total submission is the source of absolute slavery to pleasure. Her sexual functioning is made so prominent in her life that it becomes dominant in her bodily functioning. And this sexual desire that becomes permanent is triggered by anything and particularly by humiliation, punishment, abasement, domination, etc. This sexual excitement is also made dependent on all other senses, particularly her sight. She just needs to see someone or something that is desirable for her sexual circuits to start flowing with desire and fluids, and then some punishment or humiliation is inflating this desire even more. She becomes the slave of it and can only fulfill its course. Yet this training of princes and princesses by other nobles does not aim at dominating the intellect of these young people. And in this intellect the rebellious element can become more powerful than their subservience. And in their psyche love can become stronger than sexual drive. Then Beauty is led into rebellion and thrown down into a punishing experience out of the court, in the village next to the castle. Sexual enhancement, if it does not go along with the breaking of the intellect and the negation of all sentiments and passions, can only lead to that rebellion.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spanking, and then More Spanking, April 17 2004
By 
Chris O'Malley (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Now, if spanking and corporal punishment are your thing, this book deserves six stars. Because while there is sex here, even erotic, steamy, well-written sex, the frequent use of the paddle is the dominant theme of this story. Anne Rice is to be commended for turning a subject that in the hands of a lesser writer would be nothing but descriptions of body parts in action into a sensual experience that even I, a non-paddling sort, found erotic, even if unbelievable.
As well, the novel succeeds despite the fact that the universe in which it is set makes little sense - a sign of a truly talented author. An unreal fairy-tale quality is maintained, blended seamlessly into a world where sex and bondage are the norm. Is it contrived? Of course; sexual fantasies usually are, whether it's the imaginary world of Anne Rice, Pauline Reage, John Norman, Jacqueline Carey or Karen Anne Mitchell. That's why they're called fantasies. So if paddles are what floats your boat, this is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A regular spank-fest of a book!, April 11 2004
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
The story begins with the awakening of Sleeping Beauty. Of course, this is not the Disney version where the dear sweet Prince Charming wakes the virginal Beauty with a chaste kiss. No, this is the version where the very lusty eighteen-year-old Prince cuts off Beauty's clothes with his sword and has his way with the fifteen-year-old girl whom he later makes his "love" slave though I think "love" is used almost sarcastically here. The Prince takes her to his homeland where he and his mother, the Queen, have both male and female sex slaves whom they both enjoy. Sexual teasing and spanking (lots of it) figure strongly in this book. No, it's not a perfect book. The dialogue reads just like the narrative (like who talks that way in real life), but who cares? I know I didn't (if it weren't for all the English classes I've taken, I wouldn't have been "keen" to that). I read this book in less than a day. If bisexuality and spanking and sexual teasing to the point of cruelty offend you, this isn't the book for you. But, if you just want a good kinky read, this is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The meaning of 'happily ever after', Jan. 18 2004
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
Never would we imagine what the expression 'happily ever after' used in the ending of fairy tales means something so naughty. Anne Rice --writing as A. N. Roquelaure-- wrote a whole trilogy showing to us that the 'ever after' includes a lot of sex --actually sex, spanking and sex again.
Writing an erotic novel was a clever move of Rice, thinking of fairy tales for grown ups. The novel begins with the last scene of the original story, but instead of awakening the Beauty with a kiss, the Price uses all his manhood. After that, the beautiful princess is taken to his kingdom where she becomes a sexual slave --not only his, but also many to people. At an early point she is introduced to BDSM and is humiliated and [warped]as many ways as possible. And so the novel goes, with all the possible humiliation and some sexual games. Nothing other than this.
There isn't enough plot to fill in a book, let alone a trilogy. One starts wondering what Anne Rice has done with the two other books. 'The Claming of Sleeping Beauty' is reduced to a lot of spaking, and not so much sex. Of course, there is a 'love story' between Beauty and another slave who also happens to be a prince, but it is not near enough to grab the avarege reader's attention. I guess one must have some interest in BDSM to keep interested and read the whole book --the others will feel bored after a hundred pages.
It could have been a more interesting book, would it have dealt with some issues like womem freedom and sexual behaviour. But the way it is, it is very simple and doen't have a wide appeal. Moreover, it could have, say, 50 pages less, because the novel is too repetitive. It has a good start, a good idea, but it goes bad, unfortunatelly. At some point, the prince Alexi --who Beauty truly loves-- starts telling his story. And, alas, it is very very similar to what we have read thus far. If his his story could be told in 30 pages, why does Beauty's need 200?
All in all, 'The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty' is a clever spin off, but it can't keep its interest for too much time, unfortunatelly. Maybe one has to read the whole trylogy to understand it, but why three books if something could be told in only one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Fairy Tale Gone Bad........................., Nov. 22 2003
By 
girldiver "Enjoy!" (tangled up in blue.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
In order to enjoy this fairy tale turned nightmare you have to remove your self from what is our societies reality. Consent, Freedom, Love as we accept it does not exist in the Adult Realm of Anne Rices vision of Sleeping Beauty.
Beauty is awakened from her sleep to find her kingdom weakened and herself claimed by a Powerful Prince very different from herself. She is not his fairy tale love but simply a slave to his sexual perversion and the perversion his kingdom celebrates and exploits.
This book showcases BDSM in its purist form and this tale is not for everyone, not even an avid consumer of erotica. Anne Rice unveils her very sexually dark imagination and sets the stage for a tale that will arouse, shock, question, and make you draw lines with in your nature you choose not to cross.
As for the writing, I can not begin to tell you my disappointment. I expected her usually beautiful descriptives and more depth in her characters all of which this book lacked. There is no indepth knowledge of the characters, no beautiful prosaic, and no plot. I found this book simply written to describe horrendous acts of debauchery and depravity in a world where the word consent does not exist.
If you enjoy fantasy BDSM you might enjoy this but if your sensibilities are more reality based this might not be for you. In so many ways I found this book to be pornographic and shocking.
I could not give this book higher than two stars due to my great disappointment in the writing style and lack of depth in the characters. I found that I didn't care for any of the characters at the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sexual abuse and brainwashing, Aug. 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
I know very little about BDSM, but I'm far from sexually conservative and enjoy reading many kinds of erotica. While I enjoyed the writing and careful attention to character development in this novel, I found myself turned off by the pervasive themes of coercion. My acquaintances who enjoy BDSM have always told me that an important element of that kind of sexual play is that all parties enter into it of their own free will, even if the play itself involves coercion. The fact that Beauty and the other slaves are taken into service against their will, and then undergo sexual practices that in our culture easily qualify as sexual abuse, was not appealing to me. Though the novel advertises itself as one "of cruelty and tenderness," for me it was a novel of sexual abuse and brainwashing. I also couldn't really banish my psychological knowledge from my mind as I read -- it's one thing to engage in BDSM play willingly, and hand over your will, but in real life when people are tortured and broken the way these characters are, it does not generally produce a strange form of enlightenment (as in the novel), but rather neurosis, tremendous self-esteem problems, and afterwards, post-traumatic stress disorder.
I won't condemn this book completely. It -is- a fantasy, and that's emphasized by the fairy-tale setting. But for me, the suspension of disbelief required to enjoy the novel was just too great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm..., Nov. 14 2002
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
I'm not a big reader in the genre, so I'm probably not an overly qualified reviewer, but I'm going to give you my opinion anyway, if I can only figure it out for myself.
THE CLAIMING OF SLEEPING BEAUTY is based on a very original idea, but it could have been better executed. I'm not sure what I would have preferred instead, but the relentless spanking gets a little old after, say, the first two chapters. The plot is not, as other reviewers have stated, completely non-existent, but it's paper-thin. There are signs that some development may occur in the two subsequent novels, but I haven't decided yet if they're worth my time to seek out and read. I hear Anne Rice often spends the first novels of her trilogy on background and doesn't get into the plot until the second book...but I can't say for sure, as I've never before read Anne Rice.
In any case, this one's an entertaining read, if absolutely nothing else, and even if S&M isn't your thing, it might even be a turn-on. Or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty
The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice (Paperback - June 7 1999)
CDN$ 17.00 CDN$ 12.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews