Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sizzling hot!
When I first read this years ago, I could not believe how hot and rough the sex was in this very adult fairy tale. There is a lot of emphasis on bottoms and punishments which may not be to everyone's tastes.It's still worth reading for those who are interested in deviant takes on fairy tales.
Published 5 months ago by Bella Swann Erotica

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STOP!!!
Seriously, don't dare click the buy button! I love to read good, well-written eroctica and this was not it. As the other reviewers say, it's just boring. The writing is so non-descriptive ( other than the many colors a rear end can turn). This is an excellent premise gone terribly wrong. It's just a rehash from chapter to chapter of one long spanking. I guess that if you...
Published on May 5 2003 by A. Coray


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STOP!!!, May 5 2003
Seriously, don't dare click the buy button! I love to read good, well-written eroctica and this was not it. As the other reviewers say, it's just boring. The writing is so non-descriptive ( other than the many colors a rear end can turn). This is an excellent premise gone terribly wrong. It's just a rehash from chapter to chapter of one long spanking. I guess that if you only want that in your erotic collection then this might be of interest. I prefer to mix mine up a little...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sizzling hot!, Feb. 23 2014
When I first read this years ago, I could not believe how hot and rough the sex was in this very adult fairy tale. There is a lot of emphasis on bottoms and punishments which may not be to everyone's tastes.It's still worth reading for those who are interested in deviant takes on fairy tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crap, March 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
Ok, I'll be honest - I'm not sure if Amazon asked me to rate their service or the actual book. I didn't read the link before I clicked. But, since I'm here, I feel compelled to tell you that this book sucks.
I've read a lot of Anne Rice, I consider myself a fan. I've read a lot of Mommy Porn (I'm on mat leave, don't judge!). So I was expecting to be entertained. Instead, this book appears to be 200 or so pages of stuffing random objects into people's bums. I kept waiting for it to get better - it didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, Jan. 26 2013
I was under the impression that this authour was for empowering women. I was disappointed and kind of offended by this book. I am hoping that maybe she would stand up to him in the next book. I feel as though she should have some control within her life. When I say she I mean Beauty.I didn't find it like 50 shades at all. Bared to you is closer to the 50 shades style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay with a lot of repetition, Sept. 21 2009
By 
Sam (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
The Claiming Of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice (writing as A.N. Roquelaure) is the first of the Sleeping Beauty trilogy. I found that there was much repetition in the descriptions and the events that occurred - apparently the characters noticed the same thing about different characters, and the similar problems were inflicted on the characters. Thus, I grew tired of reading because of this. I cannot even imagine how much repetition the second and third book will have.

This is a book that only adults should attempt to read. A lot of the time I was very shocked at what I was reading; I guess I am not used to this genre.

After sleeping for one-hundred years, Beauty is awakened by the Prince after he has sexual intercourse with her without consent. Beauty's entire kingdom awakens and she is consistently reminded by the Prince that the curse was lifted and her kingdom was restored because of him. Thus, the Prince has attained right to take her with him to his kingdom.

Beauty is taken to the Prince's kingdom naked, and she becomes slave there. She discovers that she is not the only naked slave there; there are so many more, and all of the slaves are princes and princesses from surrounding kingdoms that were offered to the Queen - the Prince's mother - as a tribute.

In the palace, the slaves are trained to become submissive and obedient. Everyone, even those in the lowliest ranks are above the slaves. The slaves are spanked, displayed publically, must crawl at times, kiss people's feet, and entertain their masters.

Will Beauty adjust to this place where pain and pleasure are one and the same? Will she be able to submit and become an obedient slave to please the Prince? Or will Beauty be sent to the village along with the other princes and princesses that were unable to please their masters?

2.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warning! Not for everyone, Oct. 27 2013
If you love romantic love stories with light sexual scenes this is not for you.
Real BDSM. Very rude book. Love it, but then again not - for - everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ok, Sept. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It kinda went beyond demented however was well written... Not for the faint of heart - very graphic and serious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sleeping Beauty meets the Prince, June 24 2004
By 
Anne Rice's rewriting of Sleeping Beauty is absolutely remarkable. The Prince that claims her takes her away for her to become a sexual toy in the court of some tyrannical Queen. She goes through an initiation that leads her into understanding and feeling that subservience and total submission is the source of absolute slavery to pleasure. Her sexual functioning is made so prominent in her life that it becomes dominant in her bodily functioning. And this sexual desire that becomes permanent is triggered by anything and particularly by humiliation, punishment, abasement, domination, etc. This sexual excitement is also made dependent on all other senses, particularly her sight. She just needs to see someone or something that is desirable for her sexual circuits to start flowing with desire and fluids, and then some punishment or humiliation is inflating this desire even more. She becomes the slave of it and can only fulfill its course. Yet this training of princes and princesses by other nobles does not aim at dominating the intellect of these young people. And in this intellect the rebellious element can become more powerful than their subservience. And in their psyche love can become stronger than sexual drive. Then Beauty is led into rebellion and thrown down into a punishing experience out of the court, in the village next to the castle. Sexual enhancement, if it does not go along with the breaking of the intellect and the negation of all sentiments and passions, can only lead to that rebellion.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ...Classic?, July 14 2004
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
I've heard this touted as an "erotic classic," I don't know if that's the general consensus for I don't normally read or pay attention to the genre, but I certainly hope not, because that would mean this rubbish is among the best it has to offer.
First of all, I'm lead to question why Anne Rice even decided to base this on the Sleeping Beauty tale at all, seems like mostly a marketing decision. She doesn't go back to tell us why or how Beauty came to be "Sleeping Beauty," and it does nothing for the rest of the story after she's been awakened (within the first few pages.) The matter doesn't seem to be considered to its full potential either... just imagine being a fifteen year old girl awakened from a 100+ year sleep by the loss of your virginity, and immediately whisked away naked, helpless, and alone into a sexual subservience of endless rape, torture, and humiliation in a now alien world. I know I'd either be attempting suicide or escape.
There's virtually no development to the history of the world or any of the characters, all of whom I hated--though I sympathized with many of them. Really, there's not one admirable quality in anyone, they're all too busy being either sadistic, masochistic, or just weak and subservient; with no exceptions, it seems, in this entire twisted world. Even Beauty's parents, who it's hinted had themselves spent time serving as sex slaves, are readily compliant to allow their only daughter to be bagged away to suffer under this sub-human prince in his torture chamber of a castle. I know if I were a king, debt or no, I'd have the rascal's head lobbed off in an instant for even suggesting such a thing, never mind his already assumptuous, outrageous behavior. But alas, it seems to be accepted practice in this world and with that I won't argue.
Though when it comes down to it, the setting and the premise are just excuses for one big torture-filled, fairytale porn "novel." Hey, if that's what gets you off! This book is porn, damn straight to ya, and in so many, ahem..."flavors" along the way. I'll warrant, many of the scenes are written quite well, we can feel Beauty's pain and pleasure, and sometimes I actually found the sadistic side of myself getting a kick out of the whole inflicting pain business. But it becomes tiresome and repetitive, quite unbearable once we realize that it isn't leading anywhere worthwhile; it's then exposed for what it is: one long tirade of endless spankings, rape, and human degradation.
It's painful because there's no sense of hope for relief, no justice, not a thread of decency or principle in anything or anyone. I'm surprised at being so offended but such a book just isn't one I *enjoy* reading. Overall I found it disturbing and pointless. The only triumph being learning to endure the pain and domination, to accept it and better oneself. Perhaps it could have been written in a better, more enlightening way, but as is this story is little more than degrading, fairytale-esque torture porn. If that's what you're looking for then read this book and enjoy it, else it'd be better for your health to skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, lame, anti-erotic, Dec 6 2007
By 
Owen Arthur Laprath "The Artistic Scientist" (Tacoma, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Paperback)
This is hands down THE lamest piece of writing I have ever had in my hands.
If I had never read anything "erotic" before, I would have never touched anything with that label again. Maybe that was the author's goal though, as she is now a converted super-Christian writing about Jesus stuff only?

Now, some think this series is great stuff and oh-so educational about Bondage/Discipline/Sadism/Masochism.
I disagree with that point as well, as any naive "beginner" would certainly be drawn into an oddly twisted "scene" version of what can be very loving and lighthearted play and fun for grownups.
With all the repetition through the pages, poor character development, entirely nonsensical settings and scenes, and an attempt at pornography that doesn't deliver on the real pornographic part for the most part, but is just tasteless enough to spoil the erotic, this is a less than half baked piece of trash writing in every respect.

Disappointing in writing style, disappointing in eroticism, disappointing in pornography (the erotic and the pornographic are not the same!), disappointing in the childishly primitive story plot.

This series of books is only good as paper-fuel for a fireplace for a nice evening on the floor when you're naked with a lover enjoying real eroticism and pornography :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty
The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice (Paperback - June 7 1999)
CDN$ 17.00 CDN$ 12.27
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews