Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty's release
I absolutely loved this book. If you are in to erotic novels then this book is perfect. It was well written, like all of Anne's books, and I felt for the characters. I couldn't put this book down. It goes past what you would think or imagine in this type of genre. Loved it and will be reading it again!!
Published 20 months ago by Kirsten Bauer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If you are into S&M
I liked 50 Shades of Grey, but Beauty's Release is all about being a sex slave and submission, and being whipped and obeying. It's not what I call an erotic novel. I call that an Sado/Masochism novel. Not my thing.
Published 17 months ago by Annie Constantineau


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars If you are into S&M, Jan. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
I liked 50 Shades of Grey, but Beauty's Release is all about being a sex slave and submission, and being whipped and obeying. It's not what I call an erotic novel. I call that an Sado/Masochism novel. Not my thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty's release, Nov. 10 2012
By 
Kirsten Bauer (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book. If you are in to erotic novels then this book is perfect. It was well written, like all of Anne's books, and I felt for the characters. I couldn't put this book down. It goes past what you would think or imagine in this type of genre. Loved it and will be reading it again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Resilience and slavery, June 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
The first moment of their sultanic experience is to be degraded even more. Their being transformed into sexual toys is considered by their captors as destroying their intellect. They thus become mute animals that have no other level of existence than this very sexual drive and desire to satisfy all sexual and also cruel pulses in the sultan and his court. But this third volume shows the metaphoric or even allegorical dimension of the trilogy. Beyond the erotic speculation in the book, Anne Rice shows how degrading a human being leads to the « discovery » she says, the building of a new consciousness that will have a lasting existence. Human beings are emerging in their humanity or even humaneness through the difficulties and the challenges they encounter, and first of all the degrading and enslaving situations. The more overpowered one is, the greater his psychological strength. This is kind of optimistic because many human beings are destroyed through these experiences and experiments. But it is based on the concept of « resilience » in human beings : their capacity to resist degredation, not by rebelling, but by reinforcing their psyche. The world today shows many situations in which human beings are thus abased and tortured and downtrodden, and it also shows how many of them can emerge from these experiences with a reinforced psyche. Yet it is not that simple, and this resilience does not allow any human being to do such things to other human beings. Anne Rice is an optimist when she deals with humanity. But be sure that the erotic matter of this trilogy will become banal very fast. It will become a decor, a backdrop and nothing else. You will only see, after a while, the degredation and the psychological resilience of the characters. A last remark is to be made : slaves can be made to love slavery, and that is the worst part of it : a slave is not necessarily conscious that he can change the situation, and what's more he is not necessarily willing to do so because he comes to the point where his dependence is a necessity to survive, or at least he sees it like that.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BDSM is its own reward., March 1 2004
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
Punishment is its own reward. The third book of the series declines a little as Rice tries to find new erotic adventures for our heroine, Beauty. She and Tristan are captured by Arabs and taken to some far off land where their torments continue. However, that isn't part of the bargain that the Kingdom of torment makes with their parents, so they are rescued back and returned to their village slavery. Tristan is just returning to his life as a carriage horse when he receives word that his father has died and he is now King. He is immediately released from bondage and sent home. Beauty eventually also goes home as a properly trained young princess, but finds life in her parent's castle boring. She's beginning to find interesting things to do with candles when Prince Tristan, now King Tristan comes to ask for her hand in marriage. She agrees, but only if he holds her in erotic bondage, a life of torment and eroticism. They ride off into the sunset together with her being forced to endure a deliberatly painful ride just because.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Submission is never released it's Dominated!, Jan. 23 2004
By 
girldiver "Enjoy!" (tangled up in blue.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
This is the third and final installment of Anne Rice's Sleeping Beauty Series of Erotic Fantasy.
Beauty has been kidnapped by enemy soldiers; along with Tristian, Laurent, and a handful of others. They are taken across the sea to a Sultan of great power and his palace of numerous slaves.
I found this final book to be rather tame but then again perhaps I was sufficiently shocked in the two previous books that all the sexual escapades seemed boring.
I am glad I read this series, it definitely opens your mind to a different mind set of acceptance and desire. Through out the book its characters decide what is their desire to be a slave and submit or to rise above submission as a dominator.
The bottom line is to be a true dominant you have to have submitted to everything to understand the dynamics of Submission.
I enjoyed the conclusion to Beauty's Journey of Submission but I do think it could have been better. Better character development and perhaps a different style of writing.
girldiver:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars my humble opinion (brooklyn buddhist bi bookworm), Jan. 12 2004
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
Take a glimpse into the sexual imagination of Anne Rice by picking up this series. But i must warn you that this is not for the sexually un-adventurous, nor those not inclined towards S&M. I have read most of Rice's books and this Sleeping Beauty series is my least favorite. Only beacuse in terms of quality erotic writing with "believable" characters, Rice has written much better books than this. But keep in mind that this is an adult fairy tale (get it? Sleeping Beauty), so there's no motivation for any of the characters to come across to the reader like a true human, but that's just my preference. this series is a great example of applying the rules and fantasies of Sexual Master/Slave relationships to the fairy tale world. have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beauty's Release, Dec 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
A disappointing end to a trilogy of books. I would recommend it for a person who has read the previous two because you will want closure. But, I expected more pazzaz for an ending. It also does not go as fast as the first two. Has some parts that seem to be just thrown in to make the book longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Conclusion to Exquisite Erotic Fairy Tale, Sept. 29 2003
By 
B Eaton "Avid reader of all genres" (Westminster, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
This is the last of the beauty series, though definitely not any less in excitement or erotic thrills.
Once again, Anne Rice takes the reader on a sensual tour of sexual fantasy, which leaves them gasping for air. The story remains intriguing until the very end, daring you to put down the book before you find your own satisfaction.
True to form, this is well-written, exciting, and just generally good fiction! It is, however, written for the over eighteen crowd as its sex scenes are VERY graphic in nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the trilogy..., Sept. 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
Anne Rice has always been able to dazzle her readers with incredibly descriptive settings, characters and emotions. This book is no exception. She travelled into uncharted territory and emerged with a series that captures every reader and challenges them to explore their sexuality in a place where even the very wrong seems right and it is acceptable to have desires that society frowns on. This book will change your view on sexuality and make the black and white areas gray. Never have I read a book as eloquently written on just a taboo subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Erotica Plus, July 31 2003
By 
This review is from: Beauty's Release (Paperback)
The third of the trilogy, these are really interchangeable novels with different settings. The story does have a lot of variations with reference to masters but how many times can poor Beauty and Laurent undergo these trials of the heart andn body?
We are in mysterious Arabia, with jewels, exotic foods (ha ha), a retinue of slaves and rituals. Then on to the horse races with the human horses - almost a hilarious concept if you think about it. Rice does well, though, in exploring the depths of the soul and how it is consumed by the feverish, steamy situations and people they inevitably encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauty's Release
Beauty's Release by Anne Rice (Paperback - Aug. 6 1999)
CDN$ 17.00 CDN$ 12.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews