Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars They Are Controlling Your Utilities!
Palast provides a factual blast of secret corporate and government liasons that have been created to rip all of us off! He's done an excellent job of tying together the names and dates of suspicious events, and the guts to spell it all out.
Turns out the U.S. government has been financing corporations, and giving those corporations lucrative contracts, as we all...
Published on July 18 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sincere But Sloppy
Greg Palast is a well-known American-born reporter who has spent most of his career reporting for the British media. He is best-known among political watchers as the reporter who broke the story on the purging of the voter rolls in Florida, helping to make the presidential election there in 2000 much closer than it should have been. This story is covered in the first...
Published on July 24 2002 by Susan Nunes


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars They Are Controlling Your Utilities!, July 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Best Democracy Money Can Buy (Paperback)
Palast provides a factual blast of secret corporate and government liasons that have been created to rip all of us off! He's done an excellent job of tying together the names and dates of suspicious events, and the guts to spell it all out.
Turns out the U.S. government has been financing corporations, and giving those corporations lucrative contracts, as we all know. However, according to Palast these contracts are specifically for the building new utility companies, or the taking over old utility companies and deregulating them. They are trying to gain control of all utilities such as water, natural gas, cooking oil, fuel oil, waste treatment, and electricity.
Once they take control, these companies can then generate profits forever. They can also generate fake energy crisis, fake oil shortages etc, whenever they feel like it. It is obvious after reading this book that we probably went to war in IRAQ so that this fat-cat Oligarchy could build their utility companies and then get paid back whenever the Iraquis sell their oil. And this profit stream will continue forever, as long as they keep all of us driving oil burning or fuel-cell powered vehicles. What we all kind of knew was true, but couldn't really prove, Palast has now provided the facts to make it so obviously real.
This is a must-read for any aspiring republican or democrat that really wants to learn about what is going on in the world today. There is a thin line being drawn in the sand between good and evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book about Democracy You Can Buy, June 10 2004
By 
Brian Bastyr (Burr Ridge, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Democracy Money Can Buy (Paperback)
Greg Palast is a U of Chicago grad who smoked from the bong of free marketeers and was able to get over his addiction to the fallacy that unregulated markets are efficient and the panacea to all our problems, from poverty to foot fungus. Palast is an investigative journalist who tackles topics ranging from the IMF and the World Bank to the electioneering in Florida. In fact, his analysis of the disenfranchisement of Florida voters is must reading as the 2004 election approaches. An American citizen based in Britain, he is able to look at things from a slightly detached perspective and asks questions the mainstream media failed to, such as, on 9/11, why is that the only planes still in the air after the attacks were shuttling members of the Bin Laden family out of the country? While Michael Moore is mainly a satirist, Palast is a true journalist in that he is able to dig into hidden memos and dodgy laws to bring us a view of the truth that we would not otherwise be exposed to. Most impressive is that because of Palast's educational background, he is one of the few journalists qualified to crunch statistical information and come up with cogent explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most IMPORTANT book you'll ever read..., April 18 2004
This review is from: Best Democracy Money Can Buy (Paperback)
OK, we have all seen the "Save the Children" commercials on TV, we see the dire poverty people all over the world live in, and we say to ourselves "gosh, I wish there was something I could do..." And we try to reason why the people in these countries live in such poverty, "Well, their government must be corrupt" or "People over there just don't know how to run things".
What if I told you that the United States and a handful of industrialized European Nations set up these countries for failure just to earn huge profits (think IMF and World Bank). What if I told you that from 1960-1980 per capita income grew 73% in South America and 34% in Africa when their governments were running things, and that since 1980 (because of the IMF/World Bank/the Reagan model and so many other reasons explained in depth in this book) South America has experienced no growth and African incomes have declined by 23%.
Excerpt from book:
"Take Tanzania. Today in that African state, 1.3 million people are getting ready to die of AIDS. The IMF and World Bank have come to the rescue... require Tanzania to charge for what were previously free hospital appointments. Since the bank imposed this requirement, the number of patients treated in Dar es Salaam's three big public hospitals have dropped by 53 percent. The Bank's cure is working!" (p. 149)

The IMF and World Bank condemn people and countries to death, and not just abroad... You have to read this book... It will make you so sick to your stomach that you'll want to kill all the guys in the IMF/World bank with your bare hands, and...
Remember all those young activists you saw on TV protesting outside of all IMF/World Bank meetings held in posh hotels? Well, after reading this book I guarantee you'll want to join those guys.
Save the world and its people, BAN THE IMF/WORLD BANK (and tell everyone to pick up this book, it's the truth).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In response to "Manuel from New York, NY", April 7 2004
By 
Drusca (somerville, ma) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Democracy Money Can Buy (Paperback)
Manuel, perhaps the problem is that since you only flipped through a couple of pages of the book, you did not catch on to one of the main traits of Palast's writing style: sarcasm.
Anyway, I don't think he was trying to say what you think he was. In fact I think he was trying to say the exact opposite. The section on Chile is basically about the period from 1973 to 1983, during which Pinochet adhered to the "neoliberal" economic theories of Milton Friedman & the "Chicago Boys", and about how Pinochet decided to abandon those theories in the end, due to the disastrous results they produced, and returned to policies that were more like Allende-style socialism.
Well, here are some excerpts from the section, so people can judge for themselves:
****
But unblinking study discloses that the original claim to "success" - that General Pinochet begot an economic powerhouse - is one of those utterances, like "we are winning the war on terror," whose truth rests entirely on its repetition.
Chile can claim success. But that is the work of President Salvador Allende, who saved his nation, miraculously, a decade after Pinochet had him murdered.
These are the facts. In 1973, the year the general seized the government, Chile's unemployment rate was 4.3 percent. In 1983, after ten years of free market modernization, unemployment reached 22 percent. Real wages declined by 40 percent under military rule. In 1970, before Pinochet seized power, 20 percent of Chile's population lived in poverty. By the year "President" Pinochet left office, the number of destitute had doubled to 40 percent. Quite a miracle.
Pinochet did not destroy Chile's economy all alone. It took nine years (1973-1982) of hard work by the most brilliant minds in world academia, that gaggle of Milton Friedman's trainees, the Chicago Boys.
[snip]
But what really happened in Chile ? Freed from the dead hand of bureaucracy, taxes and union rules, the country took a giant leap forward...into bankruptcy. After nine years of economics Chicago-style, Chile's industry keeled over and died. In 1982 and 1983, gross domestic output dropped 10 percent. That's a depression. The free market experiment was kaput, the test tubes shattered. Blood and glass littered the laboratory floor.
[snip]
By 1982, the Chilean pyramid finance game was up. The Vial and Cruzat groups defaulted. Industry shut down, private pensions were worthless, the currency swooned. Riots and strikes by a population too hungry and desperate to fear bullets forced Pinochet to reverse course. He booted his beloved Chicago experimentalists.
[snip]
New Deal tactics rescued Chile from the Panic of 1983, but the nation's long-term recovery and growth since then is the result of - cover the children's ears - a large does of socialism. Pinochet nationalized banks and industry in a scale unimagined by the socialist Allende. The general exprorpriated at will, offering little or no compensation.
While most these businesses were eventually reprivatized, the state retained ownership of one industry: copper.
[snip]
Copper has provided 30 to 70 percent of the nation's export earnings. This is the hard currency that has built today's Chile, the proceeds from the mines seized from Anaconda and Kennecott in 1973 - Allende's posthumous gift to his nation.
[snip]
Agribusiness is the second locomotive of Chile's economic growth. This is a legacy of the Allende years as well. According to Professor Arturo Vasquez of Georgetown University, Allende's land reform, that is, the breakup of feudal estates (which Pinochet could not fully reverse), created a new class of productive tiller-owners, along with corporate and cooperative operators, who now bring in a stream of export earnings to rival copper.
etc.
****
I loved this book. Reading it made me really furious about the state of things in this country (and how that affects the rest of the world), which motivated me to really get actively involved in politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN ALL-STAR READING, April 6 2004
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
It was a New York Times bestseller, now it's destined to be an audiobook bestseller due in large part to the stellar group of actors who are giving it voice.
Kind readers, please do note that whether thou leanest to the left or the right these comments are confined to the quality of the audio editions, and have absolutely nothing to do with political agendas. Both editions from Penguin, the CD version and the cassette edition, are read by the author and an outstanding group of performers, including (in alphabetical order) Ed Asner, Jello Biafra, Al Franken, Janeane Garofolo, Amy Goodman, Jim Hightower, Cynthia McKinney, Alexander Paul, and Shiva Rose. An outstanding group of experienced and gifted artists.
For those unfamiliar with the author, Greg Palast is an investigative reporter for BBC Newsnight and Britain's Guardian papers. Once based on these shores we understand that he relocated to Britain where he found greater freedom of expression.
In these updated editions of his previously published hardcover book he revisits some of his more groundbreaking exposes. Among these revelations are the author's take on how the Bush family stole the election in Florida, Pat Robertson, how Bush nixed the FBI's investigation of bin Laden before 9/11, how Enron lied, cheated, and wriggled its way into becoming a monopoly, plus much more.
Surely no one could give voice to these stories as eloquently, passionately, and animatedly as this stellar cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN ALL-STAR READING, April 6 2004
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
It was a New York Times bestseller, now it's destined to be an audiobook bestseller due in large part to the stellar group of actors who are giving it voice.
Kind readers, please do note that whether thou leanest to the left or the right these comments are confined to the quality of the audio editions, and have absolutely nothing to do with political agendas. Both editions from Penguin, the CD version and the cassette edition, are read by the author and an outstanding group of performers, including (in alphabetical order) Ed Asner, Jello Biafra, Al Franken, Janeane Garofolo, Amy Goodman, Jim Hightower, Cynthia McKinney, Alexander Paul, and Shiva Rose. An outstanding group of experienced and gifted artists.
For those unfamiliar with the author, Greg Palast is an investigative reporter for BBC Newsnight and Britain's Guardian papers. Once based on these shores we understand that he relocated to Britain where he found greater freedom of expression.
In these updated editions of his previously published hardcover book he revisits some of his more groundbreaking exposes. Among these revelations are the author's take on how the Bush family stole the election in Florida, Pat Robertson, how Bush nixed the FBI's investigation of bin Laden before 9/11, how Enron lied, cheated, and wriggled its way into becoming a monopoly, plus much more.
Surely no one could give voice to these stories as eloquently, passionately, and animatedly as this stellar cast.
- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So very sad., March 15 2004
This review is from: Best Democracy Money Can Buy (Paperback)
I don't know what I find more disheartening, the facts that are revealed in this book or the poor sheep who have made feeble attempts to shoot down Greg Palast's efforts. There are, by far, more facts used to substantiate claims in this book than I have seen used by any journalist in America. Yet a handful of hardcore, conservative automatons will try to persuade you, without any factual support, that Greg Palast is some sort of tabloid journalist who simply pulls his "crazy" theories out of thin air. It's obvious that these folks didn't bother to actually read the book, or they are ignoring the copies of actual memos, letters, and e-mails gathered by Mr. Palast to verify his stories. I am going to assume that they did not read the book, as most of the critics focus only on the content of the first chapter, the Florida election debacle. That is just a fraction of the shameful activities that are illuminated in the book. Oh, and just so you know, Greg is not just another journalist rehashing the Florida scandal. He is regarded in the field of journalism as the man who broke the story. Like his critics, most American journalists do not possess the fortitude to break such a story. Do yourself a favor and buy this book. Read it very carefully. Decide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Milton Friedman and his economics, March 2 2004
By 
Manuel (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Democracy Money Can Buy (Paperback)
I saw this book sitting on my roommates table and decided to flip through it. First thing I looked at was to see if there was a section about Chile. Not surprisingly, there was one. After reading the couple of pages he wrote about the Chile, I felt like flying to London to kill the author. But instead, I settled with just letting everyone know about the outrageous lies that he writes. Although I have not read the rest of the book, just reading this section let me know about the stupidity and ignorance of the author. If you have read this section you will be fed with lies such as that Milton Friedman and the Chicago Boys produced a catastrophic economy in Chile...hmmm...that's a little hard to believe considering that Chile has the highest GDP (per capita) in South America, is the 20th most competitive economy in the world, and has the highest standard of living in Latin America. He also tells you how great the communist years were, which in reality were characterized by immense poverty, protest, corruption. The lies continue in each paragraph. Although I'm not pro or against any government in my home country of Chile, this book is an insult to it's people, and I have taken it very personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Worst Tabloid Trash Money Can Buy, Feb. 2 2004
By 
Enigma "Cheers" (Constantly Moving) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Democracy Money Can Buy (Paperback)
Let's get serious folks this book is written by a tabloid writer, you know the same genre that gave us BATBOY as factual news for god's sake. How can you take anything Greg Palast makes up, excuse me, writes about, is beyond an intelligent, rational person's ability to comprehend. About the most truthful item that Mr. Palast printed in this farcical tome is that "no reputable news organization would report these stories." Yeah no kidding Greggy, no reputable organization reports about batboy visiting the pope, aliens abducting the president, or the devil appearing in your bowl of corn flakes either. But that's beyond the point; let's have a little fun looking at batboy's factual accounts.
Chapter ONE
Yawn old news that been proven false over and over again. 50 zillion voters did not get to vote in Florida because Jeb Bush ordered their removal from the voting records. Actually Greggy, it was the state legislature that enacted a law that the voting records be audited and adjusted every 4 years and that law had been on the books almost as long as Jeb has been alive. But don't let the facts mislead you; why not talk about how many people actually went to the voting booths and tried to vote and were turned away?
Well Greg, oh yeah that's right because there were less than 30, whoops there goes your coveted theory down the drain. So what is old Greg to do. The only thing a pitiable tabloid reporter who wants to play in the big leagues can do. Play the race card. The biggest problem with Greg's race card is that most of those people who were turned away where white - republican voters. Pathetic, simply pathetic.
Of course you would expect Greg to cover the California cover-up where 270,000 absentee ballots from the two most conservative counties in California never got counted. No, I didn't see that in the book, Hmmm. Or what about the misapplied vote totals in Idaho and Utah, the two most conservative states in the union? Nope not a mention. Or what about the over 100,000 oversees ballots from mostly conservative service people that never got counted? Again no mention, I wonder why? One last item why is not Greg investigating a New York town that voted 1,400 to 12 for Hillary Clinton and then a few months after the election Billy Clinton pardons the towns big shots who were serving time for massive fraud. No wouldn't want to investigate that sort of document-able voter coercion/fraud would you.
The rest of the book is Greg's whiny little complaints about anything he can think of to make himself feel important. Overall it is stuff that "real newspapers" wouldn't print. Such as did you know that the Exxon Valdez ship didn't crash because the captain was drunk and a third mate, who could NOT pilot the supertanker, was ordered to do so ran it into a charted reef. No that's not what caused the accident according to batboy-Greg, it was because the radar was not turned on. It doesn't matter that the third mate doesn't know how to use the radar, nope and it also doesn't matter that even if the radar had been on it couldn't have stopped the ship. But to Batboy-Greg simply having the radar on would have put a magical force field around the ship and the reef, much like you see in cartoons causing the ship to magically bounce away from the reef, pleaaaaase get real.
You will also learn on the pages of this screed that Pat Robertson is, get this, an alien imposter, no just kidding. Even worse though, Greggy pulled out all the stops on this one The good old preacher Pat is BIG DRUM ROLL, rich. Yes he is rich. I can't understand why 60 minutes is not doing a report about this. WOW thanks Greg. It keeps going on like this but I won't bore you any longer.
In the end I guess the book was good for a laugh. I wasn't even going to write a review about it, I figured 100 other people already had exposed this for what it is. But low and behold look at all the ignorant Simple Simon's who think that Greg is a real reporter. Oh well PT BARNUM was right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive Investigative Journalism, Jan. 25 2004
By 
Patrick Mc Coy (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Democracy Money Can Buy (Paperback)
The Best Democracy Money Can Buy by Greg Palast, a fascinating, eye-opening and disturbing collection of investigative journalism.
Greg Palast is an investigative journalist, who is currently working for the BBC and The Guardian. He formerly worked fighting corporations with Labor Unions and consumer groups. He brings his investigative experience from these organizations to uncover greed, avarice, and injustice the world over. He is probably most well know for uncovering the voting shenanigans in Florida during the last election, which makes up most of the first chapter of this book. His documentation is meticulous, and his style is straight forward and to the point.
He takes on the Bush family and the corporations (i.e. Enron) and countries (i.e. Saudi Arabia) that have supported them throughout their political lives. He also has a lot to say about deregulation of power, which has significant relevance in light of the recent blackout in the northeast. He also shows how the IMF, World Bank, and WTO have had a negative impact on developing economies and challenges the globalization. Of course he devotes a full chapter to corporate America. In another chapter, he goes after Pat Robertson and Pepsi Cola among others.
Furthermore he provides a handy appendix for your turn-resources for action. In that section he lists organizations that are fighting against injustices all over as well as suggestions as to what people can do to get involved. Very motivational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Democracy Money Can Buy
Best Democracy Money Can Buy by Greg Palast (Paperback - Feb. 1 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews