Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for every human-being
One of greatest books written about the empire building. It'll just make you wake up and look around understand where we are heading as a society. Instead of brushing everything off as a conspiracy theory it's time to rise up and ask the right questions. John Perkins has put his life online by exposing the truth. I just hope more people read it and take some action to...
Published on March 8 2005

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject, badly written
An economic hitman, according to John Perkins is a highly paid professional who's job is to force exorbitant loans down Third World country's throats. Then sit back and let the creditor, usually a large prosperous country or a corporate syndicate, extort them both politically and economically. It's loan sharking on a massive scale.

And Perkins reveals all in...
Published on March 22 2007 by Erico


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject, badly written, March 22 2007
An economic hitman, according to John Perkins is a highly paid professional who's job is to force exorbitant loans down Third World country's throats. Then sit back and let the creditor, usually a large prosperous country or a corporate syndicate, extort them both politically and economically. It's loan sharking on a massive scale.

And Perkins reveals all in this book as he pours out all the secrets of the profession that used to be his career. He reveals his handiwork in Saudi Arabia, Central America, and South Asia and although it is at the least ten years after the fact it still has some impact.

However, Perkins delivery is horrible. He doesn't write badly but it isn't great either. Also the way he tells the story is scattered and uninteresting even though this should page turning subject matter.

All in all Confessions of an Economic Hitman should be an amazing expose on a dangerous form of modern day imperialism but Perkins butchers it with his prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for every human-being, March 8 2005
By A Customer
One of greatest books written about the empire building. It'll just make you wake up and look around understand where we are heading as a society. Instead of brushing everything off as a conspiracy theory it's time to rise up and ask the right questions. John Perkins has put his life online by exposing the truth. I just hope more people read it and take some action to make this world better for everyone to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for Americans, Oct. 21 2014
By 
G. Camilleri (Toronto, Ont) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Confessions of an Economic Hit Man (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading this book detailing all the money American companies have extorted from poor Central American and African countries. With the help of the world bank and U.S. government these companies convince countries that privatization and huge debts is the way to a country's prosperity. What is amazing to me is how governments could be fooled by this considering the same model has failed miserably in America.

My problem is that the author spends too much time on self pity. He knew what he was doing was wrong yet it takes him 30 years to finally quit. Maybe he was enjoying the money too much. The book would have been perfect if he would have spent less time telling us how badly his conscious hurt and giving more details on the corruption going on in these countries.

The book is also a required reading for all Americans who think terrorism exists because they are jealous of American freedom. B.S. Terrorism exists because America creates too many downtrodden countries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I have ever read, Sept. 9 2011
Ce commentaire est de: Confessions of an Economic Hit Man (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone interested in knowing the truth between developed vs developing world and how the Americans are treating other countries as just means to achieve their own ends. Now the information is out in the open, it is time America treats others with respect to build a better world for our children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent balance between personal story and history, March 29 2005
By 
This book is at once an autobiography, a 20th century history of America and a call to action. These elements are balanced very well with a very readable narrative style.
The history in this book is somewhat controversial. It is the less-shiny aspects of history which may or may not be taught in US schools (I will not make assumptions here), but which is easily accessible if one only looks for it. It is also quite well-documented and supported by evidence. Perkins discusses American corporate and governmental involvement with Saudi Arabia, Indonesia, Nicaragua, Panama, Ecuador and many other nations from a first hand perspective.
What is interesting is that we see this history as the setting for a very personal story, through the eyes of a participant. As the title suggests, it is in fact a confession. Perkins was an important player in some of the darker aspects of subtle non-governmental foreign policy, and he is not an apologist.
He shows a little bit of the psychology of people who commit evil acts on behalf of organizations to which they belong. For example, structures set up to do harm can generally find people with the personality characteristics that can be capitalized upon - greed, ambition, etc. What this means is, rather than simply provoking hate towards individuals who are perpetuating exploitation, Perkins reveals the underlying broader issues, such as the consequences of the misuse of power and profit. I think he very effectively places the specifics of historical facts (as well as his story) in context in a way that historical texts typically do not.
Although it is not a prescriptive book as such, Perkins does offer some ideas and suggestions at the end as to what individuals can do if they believe in trying to ameliorate the situation he has presented.
I found it to be both a compelling page turner and very factual at the same time. Highly recommended for the history buff, social activist, avid biography reader, news junkie, or really anyone who cares about the world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars where people and their concerns for health and economic happiness are not on the agenda of those who make ..., Sept. 7 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Confessions of an Economic Hit Man (Paperback)
This is a book everyone should read. Full of anecdotes and in plain language it explains how we have gotten to the point where the world is in a state of perpetual war, where people and their concerns for health and economic happiness are not on the agenda of those who make the decisions. It explains why it is that Islam is the most recent target for ensuring that war and a state of high security continue to consume our resources and our attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great read for everyone to learn about global empire building, Aug. 3 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Confessions of an Economic Hit Man (Paperback)
a really good book, glad I got this as i am more enlightened to the unbelievably bad bad controlling ways of the USA on the world. The world would be a better place if they stayed within their own borders. we are supposed to be civilized now but all what happens today is a modern version of empire building thru' dictatorship and dominance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOVERNMENTS, June 15 2014
By 
Carol Taylor "Health nut" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Confessions of an Economic Hit Man (Paperback)
THIS WILL OPEN YOUR EYES AND GET YOU WONDERING JUST WHAT IS REAL
WHO DO YOU TRUST MEDIA? OR GOVERNMENT? BIG PHARMA?
THIS WILL WAKE YOU UP
FOR PEOPLE WHO WANT TO EDUCATE THEMSELF ON THE WORLD STAGE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly useful and enlightening book, Jan. 15 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Confessions of an Economic Hit Man (Paperback)
This book provides incredible insight into the world we live in and how the leaders we think are in charge are actually puppets themselves. Brilliantly written from someone who did the dirty deeds back in the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The truth is finally coming out., Oct. 5 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Confessions of an Economic Hit Man (Paperback)
Concise, to the point. An easy read. This book confirms the so called "conspiracy theories" about global economic domination. It'll never get old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confessions of an Economic Hit Man
Confessions of an Economic Hit Man by John Perkins (Paperback - Dec 27 2005)
CDN$ 18.50 CDN$ 13.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews