Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great when the SHTF book
Many good ideas on how to prepare, what to look for , why you need it. Has really good detail on many issues and you can search online for more info if required. A little outdated with respect to electronic equipment, but again, you can search Amazon for items mentioned to get more ideas.
Published 3 months ago by DAN 79

versus
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting, but somewhat misguided, book
First off, I'm not a "Rawlesian". The author has an active blog with lots of followers who are "Rawlesians". That is, people who believe that in the not-too distant future, society will collapse, mostly or entirely, leading to people fending for themselves. If you are a Rawlesian, or think like one, then this book definitely is worth a 4- or 5-star rating. But I don't...
Published on March 18 2011 by A. Volk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting, but somewhat misguided, book, March 18 2011
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (#1 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
First off, I'm not a "Rawlesian". The author has an active blog with lots of followers who are "Rawlesians". That is, people who believe that in the not-too distant future, society will collapse, mostly or entirely, leading to people fending for themselves. If you are a Rawlesian, or think like one, then this book definitely is worth a 4- or 5-star rating. But I don't think that way. It would have to take something a lot worse than a terrorist EMP, or a serious pandemic, or a major economic crisis to knock modern civilization back into the stone age around the planet. Another depression? Sure. Times of hardship or serious disease? OK, I can see that. But a near-complete collapse of civilization? No, I don't see that happening in the West any time soon.

Which is largely why this book gets three stars. It's not very practical advice for short-term situations like power-outages, economic crashes, or realistic terrorist attacks. The book basically aims at describing how to live a modern life without modern civilization. That's it's second big flaw. If civilization really goes down the tank, then things like night-vision goggles, solar-electric panels, cars, modern gun ammunition, etc. are going to disappear in a few years and you're back into the 19th Century or earlier technology. This book gives next-to-nothing about living under those conditions. Skills like septic tank cleaning won't matter much when you can't replace the parts of your PVC plumbing under the house concrete. So the book isn't helpful in a really serious social collapse, and it's not really helpful in a short-term set-back.

What it is generally good at is describing what to do if society collapses enough for money to be worthless, for gangs to start roaming, and for the government to come after you (why is it that survival types worry about the government tracing VISA records to find and confiscate their hidden supplies of rice when the government in question has collapsed to the point where it can't even maintain civic order?), but for law-and-order, the economy, and the rest of modern civilization to return before things really go medieval. The author's solution is to move you (and your family) to a safe haven now before the stuff hits the fan. That's right, sell your house, find a new job (preferably self-employed), and build a shelter far enough away from other people to serve as your new fort. And I literally mean fort. The author clearly states how poor modern homes are for defense, advocating layers of defenses like moats, fences, barb wire, hedges, motion sensors, seismic sensors, night-vision goggles, and above all, some good guns. Rawles calls most North Americans "idi@ts" for doing stupid things like not always locking their doors and not having a gun at the ready. While I don't doubt that some people will turn ugly when a situation turns ugly, up here in Canada I can't imagine large roaming gangs of gun-toting maniacs (unless they come up from the US!). To be fair, Rawles is also a devout Christian who emphasizes the value of charity by helping (covertly so no one can find your hideout/fort and raid/attack it) those less well-equipped.

If you leave that paranoid view behind, the author does give good advice about getting, growing, making, and/or storing food, water, power, vehicles, and medicine. That part of the book (which in fairness, is a good chunk of the book), is quite a good read. Even the section on bartering is quite interesting (although in some cases, it's US-specific- I doubt that M-16 and handgun magazine clips would be hot bargaining items up in Canada). The bottom line for the book is that if you want to prepare for future disasters, it's best to start thinking ahead now. While I don't necessarily think that's bad advice, I guess I don't agree with Rawles about the scope of the disaster, and thus the scope of the necessary preparations. I'm all for more independent living, but I just couldn't buy into the right mindset for this book. Again, if you think that way, then this is a 4-5 star book for you. If you think more along my lines, it's about a 3- a fun read, but not all that useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, July 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
I read through the whole book found parts to be very dry. I did get useful information out of the book and found some views to be interesting. I recommend for new people to the whole survival preparedness although a lot if not all the information can be found online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful survival idea's, April 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
The book is full of helpful idea's and lesson's on survival . However , many of the suggestion are beyond the mean's of the average working man .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Order came fast., March 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
Good ideas on what could happen and what you can do about your survival when it hits the fan. Be ready is my idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great when the SHTF book, Jan. 5 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
Many good ideas on how to prepare, what to look for , why you need it. Has really good detail on many issues and you can search online for more info if required. A little outdated with respect to electronic equipment, but again, you can search Amazon for items mentioned to get more ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit heavy on the acronyms, April 15 2013
By 
Bradley Gould (Yarmouth, NS, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
If you are a bit too serious about preparing for the end of the world, then this book probably has you beat. He really does cover as many different difficult scenarios as I could have imagined, and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD INFO, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
Has some good info, well worth the price. US based so if you don't live there you will have some extra research to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend for being prepared for a worst case scenario, Nov. 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
One of the best `prepper` books I have read. Very good advice and the lists of equipment to acquire are very complete. It is a bit doom and gloom, if you don`t prepare, but what do you expect from a TEOTWAWKI book. It is good for those of us who can`t buy a retreat and move off the grid and for those who can. It is the only book I have reviewed on here that I would highly recommend...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stay Alive, March 17 2012
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
While there could be more specifically dedicated material for your lifestyle, this is one book that can help anyone in the near future.
It covers the general public urban or rural and provides useful ideas to keep you safe while pointing out the hazards to each choice.
As a resident of a medium size city, I now know I must find a better location to survive any major social disaster leading to a lawless society.
Shelter;food;clothing and pracical mobility are covered in detail.
The sooner you impliment survival ideas from this manual, the better future you may have hope of attaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The end of the world as we know it..., July 6 2010
By 
Danimal (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times (Paperback)
There may not be a total breakdown of society as we know it, but the more governments aggravate the current recession and perpetuate war, the greater the risk is. This book touches on a lot of areas to consider BEFORE such a breakdown occurs.

There are many titles out there of a similar theme. This is the only one I've read. This one provided everything I expected which is a list of things to consider and suggested resources for more in depth coverage (i.e. farming, medicine, etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8afdcb4)

This product

How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It: Tactics, Techniques, and Technologies for Uncertain Times
CDN$ 19.00 CDN$ 13.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews