Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
We saw Richard Florida on TV and decided to buy the book. It is well researched and well written. It really makes you think about the world that we live in.
Published on Feb. 16 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Help me
Ostensibly "Who's Your City?" is a self-help book intended to facilitate using career preferences, relationships, personality and life-stage to find the optimum place to live. But alas, Dr. Florida is not part of the helping professions. Rather, he is an academic researcher and the book is primarily a rundown of his and others research. The self-help is a last chapter...
Published on Aug. 7 2008 by RondoReader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Help me, Aug. 7 2008
By 
RondoReader (Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ostensibly "Who's Your City?" is a self-help book intended to facilitate using career preferences, relationships, personality and life-stage to find the optimum place to live. But alas, Dr. Florida is not part of the helping professions. Rather, he is an academic researcher and the book is primarily a rundown of his and others research. The self-help is a last chapter add on that is skimpy and not thought out. For example; step seven advises observing people's behaviour in a targeted city to determine the level of trust in the city but we are not advised to actually visit the city until step ten.

The book is more successful as a review of some important global trends. Dr. Florida's key point is that where we chose to live is as important a decision as what we chose to do and who we chose as a life partner. Obvious perhaps but, as Dr. Florida points out, historically we have not given the decision of where to live sufficient attention. Topics covered to support his argument include; the formation of "mega-regions" through "clustering" of like minded individuals, the creative class' affect on mega-regions and vice versa and the effect of location on happiness. All are presented adequately with a liberal measure of anecdotes. After reading the book I have to agree with his premise.

A minor complaint: despite Dr. Florida's contention that where to live is now a global decision and despite his current location in Toronto, Canada or any of the world outside the U.S. are not considered as possible choices of where to live. It does not seem unreasonable to think there are at least a few plausible options beyond the U.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Read and Conversation Starter., Dec 1 2012
This is a good mix of research, anecdotes and opinionated writing from Mr Florida, who for his part, does not claim to have all the answers. Rather, this book seems to me a good starting point for asking if, why, and how, in an increasingly globalised world, where you choose to live still matters.

From a North American (and particularly Canadian) perspectives, Florida talks about why someone from Toronto might have more in common with another person from Montreal or New York, for example, than someone from other parts of Ontario. He explains why he believes that the city in which one lives is a reflection of their personality, values, and aspirations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, Feb. 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We saw Richard Florida on TV and decided to buy the book. It is well researched and well written. It really makes you think about the world that we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much new here., April 20 2008
While I enjoyed the "Rise of the Creative Class" this book adds little that is new, and ends up concluding that where you decide to live is important - hard to disagree with that, but I expected more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough substance, May 19 2009
By 
I liked the book, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who is already familiar with his other work.

I think the idea of a Canadian edition is not a bad idea, but needs more work to make it happen. He basically just inserted something about Toronto at the end of every third paragraph, and repackaged it as a 'Canadian' edition.

Overall, just ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who's your city : with explanations and applications, June 24 2008
By 
Ken Raudys (Toronto , Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Richard Florida practices what he preaches, by moving from Newark New Jersey to Toronto. He is reported to be interested in applying his theories to Canadian cities. With more immigrants than most American cities, high concentrations of the most creative types of employment, government funding for small business and the arts, low crime, good public schools and a large urban middle class, Canada's biggest cities seem well poised to take advantage of the trends he describes.
Educated as an urban planner at Columbia University, Richard Florida is offering advice on how to pick the right place to live. He has organized his book around three key ideas of, the importance of place in the global economy, the diversification and specialization for quality of life, and the mobile nature of society giving you more choice where to live.
As a realtor myself, I found both his anecdotal style of illustrating his concepts enjoyable , and his action steps to implement his suggested options enlightening . For example he provides lists of cities clustered into mega regions throughout the world to choose from . His discussion of the lifestyle considerations is supported by a " notes" section linking it to personality websites, for those who would like to try them. To make an informed choice he includes a "Place Finder" as a self rating check list to help you organize and evaluate your potential choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable walk through "Who's Your City", May 24 2008
By 
I enjoyed Florida's first two books as they brought clarity to a few things I had been thinking about regarding latent creative talent and the benefits of encouraging everyone to use it. In his latest work, we find that our location matters to many things including our collaborative potential and elements of subjective well-being which is in many ways intuitive, but Florida brings his keen observations and signature enthusiasm to the topic, while drawing upon an array of other relevant experts to make his case. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews