Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book
I am using this book for a Masters level group development course. It is honestly a book I could and would want to read on my own. It does not read like a textbook which is refreshing and Yalom puts the information across in such a way where you can follow and feel attached to what he is saying. Much of what he says feels like it was said in discussion and the questions...
Published on Feb. 18 2009 by Kaela Scott

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money!
This text may be considered the "gold standard" to use in gradate counseling group psychotherapy classes, but it only offers Yalom's perspective, which is very different from other theoretical orientations. This book was extremely difficult to read, and too excessive - 600+ pages. Just a ridiculous amount of reading. What's worse is that Yalom likes to ramble and does...
Published on Jan. 2 2011 by Jasmine Alexander


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book, Feb. 18 2009
By 
Kaela Scott (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
I am using this book for a Masters level group development course. It is honestly a book I could and would want to read on my own. It does not read like a textbook which is refreshing and Yalom puts the information across in such a way where you can follow and feel attached to what he is saying. Much of what he says feels like it was said in discussion and the questions he asks are reflective and introspective, not at all the usual questions you find in textbooks. i would recommend this book to any professor and any student or individual who wants to learn about group development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Text, March 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
As usual Yalom writes in a way that is easy to follow, but keeps you thinking all the while.
Great text for Group Psychotherapy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good text book, May 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
We used this book for class, I liked the price but found it difficult to read at times the author talks only to promote his other books. Also some topics presented only the authsor way of doing things which is fine but as a intro to group counselling book I felt it should present multiple views. Overall there are a few things I will reference in future but Iwould not make this my go to reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book came good and fast, Oct. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
Good book for learning about theory behind group counselling techniques. Yalom is an engaging writer and provides some good anecdotal material to illustrate his points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, every counsellor/counselling students should have it, Nov. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
great book, every counsellor/counselling students should have it. The price is reasonable. It's worth to have it in your shelves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money!, Jan. 2 2011
By 
This review is from: Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition (Hardcover)
This text may be considered the "gold standard" to use in gradate counseling group psychotherapy classes, but it only offers Yalom's perspective, which is very different from other theoretical orientations. This book was extremely difficult to read, and too excessive - 600+ pages. Just a ridiculous amount of reading. What's worse is that Yalom likes to ramble and does not necessarily get to the point. I ended up resorting to other texts to help me understand how to conduct group psychotherapy. Don't WASTE YOUR MONEY on this book - buy Corey & Corey's text on Group Psychotherapy. It's a much easier read, half the size, and you actually LEARN how to conduct and facilitate groups, and learn what you're supposed to learn in graduate counseling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition
Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy, Fifth Edition by Molyn Leszcz (Hardcover - July 6 2005)
CDN$ 69.00 CDN$ 59.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews