Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars very user friendly
Repetition is important.

The book that comes with it for useful to bring along on a trip where the general public will be speaking Spanish to quickly look up words or phrases.
Published 15 months ago by Melanie Scott

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just O.K. and far from great
Spanish For Dummies Audio Set is divided into three lessons which are subsectioned into thirteen topics for lesson one, fifteen topics for lessons two, and twelve topics for lesson three. Lesson one provides the basics, which is broken down into topics such as personal pronouns and formalities, saying "hello" and "goodbye", saying and replying to "how are you?",...
Published on Feb. 16 2011 by C. Robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just O.K. and far from great, Feb. 16 2011
This review is from: Spanish For Dummies Audio Set (Audio CD)
Spanish For Dummies Audio Set is divided into three lessons which are subsectioned into thirteen topics for lesson one, fifteen topics for lessons two, and twelve topics for lesson three. Lesson one provides the basics, which is broken down into topics such as personal pronouns and formalities, saying "hello" and "goodbye", saying and replying to "how are you?", introducing yourself and talking about where you're from, and indispensable words. While, lessons two and three cover topics on the nitty gritty: language structure and real-world situations respectively. Each lesson is assigned to an hour-long CD which can be conveniently taken around and played in your CD player, car, home stereo, or on your computer.

This audio set is accompanied by a booklet with lesson numbers that correspond to the track numbers on each CD. The introduction on each CD is track one. The narrator of the CDs presents words and phrases in English, followed by a native Spanish speaker who does the Spanish version. There is a pause provided for the listener to say the word or phrase himself, followed by the repetition of the same word or phrase by the Spanish speaker, and another pause to provide the listener with another opportunity to practice saying the word or phrase. Listeners are expected to repeat these steps for CDs one, two and three. The supplemental booklet is divided into four parts. The first three are in direct association to the three lessons on the CDs, while section four presents a mini Spanish-English dictionary.

I give this product 3 stars. It really isn't that bad but when compared to other methods of learning Spanish, this is not something that I would recommend.

Some other products that I recommend for Spanish language learners are Visual Link Spanish. This is the best learning Spanish software program for the visual learner. Before I discovered Visual Link Spanish - Level I, in all of my reviews I had recommended another Spanish software product. The one that is heavily marketed in all of mass media, including radio and television. But after using Visual Link, it is clear to me that this software is a much better alternative.

In order to speak Spanish fluently, you must also learn lots of new words. For increasing Spanish vocabulary, I recommend Quick Study-Spanish Vocabulary Flash Cards-1000 cards You get 1,000 of these cards at an excellent price.

To speak Spanish fluently besides having a stand alone course as your base and a method to learn new Spanish words, you will also need to master conjugating Spanish verbs. The best product for that is the Verbarrator Version 1.1 (Windows Version) software. The Verbarrator software does a great job of replacing the boring Spanish verb conjugation books and makes learning Spanish verbs enough fun that you will want to use the software every day. And the more you use the tool the quicker that you will learn how to conjugate Spanish verbs and reach fluency. The Verbarrator is probably the best investment that I have made in my journey to learn Spanish because it is a product that I will use it almost daily.

The last product that I recommend for anyone who is really serious about learning Spanish is The Ultimate Spanish Review and Practice w/CD-ROM (UItimate Review & Reference Series). This Spanish grammar book covers every aspect of Spanish grammar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spanish for Dummies, Aug. 22 2013
By 
JD (Virginia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish For Dummies Audio Set (Audio CD)
This is a good CD set to begin learning Spanish. I do have a hard time mimicking the Spanish when you have to roll the r's and wonder if maybe they should have taken that into consideration when speaking the Spanish portions. I have enjoyed this CD set and feel it has been helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very user friendly, Jan. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish For Dummies Audio Set (Audio CD)
Repetition is important.

The book that comes with it for useful to bring along on a trip where the general public will be speaking Spanish to quickly look up words or phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good - but in an odd order, Dec 1 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish For Dummies Audio Set (Audio CD)
These cd's go through some vocabulary and some small sentences which is helpful. I did find it difficult to follow along in the last half of disc 2 - they go into all the different tenses (past, future), negative, etc. - which was quite confusing! It was like going from grade 1 to grade 5 and wondering how you got there. I realized that I will have to look at some books to learn all the different verb tenses etc. It just seems so much more advanced that the other parts of the cd's. Also, the spanish speaker has a very strong accent - in spanish he pronounces "d" like "th" - I was aware of the spelling, and know that this is a pronunciation from certain spanish speaking areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good start, July 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish For Dummies Audio Set (Audio CD)
I find this very good for starters. I had very little spanish language exposure and wanted to learn the basics. The audio is very clear and it is easy to follow along with the text book. Adios!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spanish for Dummies. Par Jessica Langemeier, Jan. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish For Dummies Audio Set (Audio CD)
Très intéressant cette façon de nous rappeler ce que nous avons oublié ou nous apprendre
Les secrets de cette merveilleux idioma nous incitant à pousser plus loin nos recherches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbb04c948)

This product

Spanish For Dummies Audio Set
Spanish For Dummies Audio Set by Jessica Langemeier (Audio CD - April 30 2007)
CDN$ 23.99 CDN$ 17.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews