Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will save you years of hard work
I though I knew it all. After investing in real estate for 20 years I can find, develop, build, manage and sell it. However, I left the financing to others and this is a mistake. We all make mistakes in life but Peter's book will eliminate a great number in your real estate investment business. His book will help you identify why you are investing, the real estate deal...
Published on June 6 2010 by Murray Wood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Regrettable purchase.
Much repetition... and some excuses.

Written in a somewhat condescending and annoying style pretending to re-enact the discussions during a live seminar. Filled with nonsensical made-up conversations reminiscent of a magic bullet blender infomercial. "Gee I can't even taste the broccoli in this fruit smoothy!" Some of the formulas relating to qualifying for...
Published 8 months ago by Atari enthusiast.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will save you years of hard work, June 6 2010
By 
This review is from: The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio (Hardcover)
I though I knew it all. After investing in real estate for 20 years I can find, develop, build, manage and sell it. However, I left the financing to others and this is a mistake. We all make mistakes in life but Peter's book will eliminate a great number in your real estate investment business. His book will help you identify why you are investing, the real estate deal focus required and the financing knowledge needed to be successful. The book The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan is the first clear book I have read on the financing side of the deal. It is not only a fun read but a critical read.

Murray Wood
Real Estate Investor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, June 4 2011
This review is from: The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio (Hardcover)
Excellent book. Very good information. Wonderful resource materials. I read it in 1 day. Highly recommended for real estate investors in Canada!!! As most of the resources on the market now are from the US and information really does not apply to the Canadian Reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Regrettable purchase., Nov. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Much repetition... and some excuses.

Written in a somewhat condescending and annoying style pretending to re-enact the discussions during a live seminar. Filled with nonsensical made-up conversations reminiscent of a magic bullet blender infomercial. "Gee I can't even taste the broccoli in this fruit smoothy!" Some of the formulas relating to qualifying for mortgages and some insight into lenders is interesting and useful but having to wade through the rest of the book is somewhat painful. "Here's an obvious and simple formula for you to calculate how much money you have in your bank account. Don't blame me - I never promised any startling revelations." That's true. There are no startling revelations and precious little insight other than "Use your savings to buy real estate. If you don't have savings, try to attract some joint venture partners." This book could (and should) have been condensed into one or two chapters.

As difficult as it is to find a book on Canadian real estate investing not written by Don Campbell (and this author is obviously aware of that fact as he takes every opportunity to remind the reader that he and Don are best buddies) I would give this one a pass - even at it's overpriced $21 kindle edition.

If you already have considerable capital (or rich friends willing to invest with you) and/or find the idea of pursuing joint venture partners appealing, you may find this book somewhat interesting. If you are looking for innovative ways to finance real estate purchases with little money down or want advice on investing techniques to help raise money for capital, you will not find it here. The idea of being able to buy property with little money down (by way of vendor financing for example) is very briefly mentioned but immediately dismissed with no viable alternatives offered. I don't see the point of listing several financing options and then explaining that only two or three of them are actually possible. "Hey, I didn't say there would be a magic solution." Thanks.

If you like books filled with repetitive non-information I would stick with the Rich Dad books. They are at least much more motivating. This book claims to help you "identify and overcome obstacles to your success" and "Discover financing options and solutions." The obstacles are "no money for down payment" and the financing options are "joint venture partners". The rest is mostly endless inane fictional unrealistic dialogue and filler.

On the other hand, if you enjoy reading the word "doors" ad infinitum and want a book to help you determine why you want to purchase real estate and how much real estate you may need to accomplish that goal, this book might be for you. The section on exit strategies is also useful - assuming you get to that point in your real estate investing career. Undoubtedly, the author has a wealth of experience and insight into the mortgage industry which is displayed in the first few chapters. If you have little or no money for down payments and no interest in pursuing joint venture partners, you will probably find this book a bit of a let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Real Estate Investing book, Nov. 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio (Hardcover)
This book provide me with the true reason that I need real estate. It is done in a simple sample class environment with many different scenarios. It does not have anything on purchasing real estate but more on getting to the core as to what you want real estate to do for you and how to get financing.
It has open my eyes to more that real estate investing, it has given me a clear view of what my goals are and how to get achieve them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Estate Investing, Dec 7 2010
This review is from: The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio (Hardcover)
Peter has written an excellent, easy to follow book on how to built a Real Estate portfolio. As an investor I found it highly motivational and it opened my eyes to methods of obtaining sources of income for future investments and how to build a foundation of wealth for myself and my family. His website allows for the downloading of material so one can do their analysis to meet ones goals. I highly recommend this book to any investor or would be investor. Great job Peter.

Ned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, Dec 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio (Hardcover)
Book was easy to read and very helpful. I recommend this book to anyone interested in getting a start in real estate investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As advertised, Oct. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio (Hardcover)
This is not a Don Campbell book but forwarded by Don.
Good info on building a basis for your own action plan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Sept. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio (Hardcover)
Great Information every thing was explained clearly! Highly Recommended for real estate beginners. Will definitely read it over and over again. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Sept. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio (Hardcover)
this is one of the best books i have read. it has a ton of useful information . everyone investing should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James MacKay, July 11 2010
By 
James MacKay "Real Estate Investor" (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio (Hardcover)
My wife and I have 6 rental properties and have found this book very helpful to map out how we are going to buy the next 6. If you are interested in real estate investing in Canada read this book before you start and it will help to set up your portfolio. Your action plan will be complete by the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Canadian Real Estate Action Plan: Proven Investment Strategies to Kick Start and Build Your Portfolio
CDN$ 36.95 CDN$ 23.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews