Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Every Canadian Investor
David Trahair has done it again. I closely followed his advice in his last book (Smoke and Mirrors) and as a result avoided the carnage of 2008. After reading Enough Bull I have to say that it's even better and more to the point than Smoke and Mirrors. Yes, it is a very conservative approach to investing but that's the whole point of this strategy - to sleep soundly at...
Published on Jan. 29 2010 by Jasper Taylor

versus
13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very conservative investment approach
I love to invest in equities, and have been generating an average of a 25% return this year, but I bought this book to see the other extreme. With the crash of 2008, a lot of people will think a 4-5% return is pretty decent now compared to the 40% loss last year. This book suits investors 55 and over, as it avoids the risks of the stock market in favor of safe guaranteed...
Published on Sept. 21 2009 by Oai Truong


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Every Canadian Investor, Jan. 29 2010
By 
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
David Trahair has done it again. I closely followed his advice in his last book (Smoke and Mirrors) and as a result avoided the carnage of 2008. After reading Enough Bull I have to say that it's even better and more to the point than Smoke and Mirrors. Yes, it is a very conservative approach to investing but that's the whole point of this strategy - to sleep soundly at night knowing that your retirement funds are OK. No, you're not going to make some 'black-swan' - type extraordinary gains using Trahair's tactics, however, you will not have to worry whether or not your portfolio is going to blow up on the eve of your retirement (something that tens of thousands of Canadian boomers have experienced as a result of sheepishly handing over their money to the banks' 'actively' managed mutual funds). If you're a middle-class investor who's looking to stash away some funds for your golden years this is the best $20 that you'll ever spend. I've bought over 10 copies of this book already for my friends and relatives. Thank you Mr. Trahair for your contrarian insight that anyone can understand and follow. Every Canadian should have a copy of this book before investing a penny. it's the perfect counterbalance to the barrage of propaganda that's unleashed on the public every RRSP season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am going to follow this advice, Nov. 26 2009
By 
E. Lemieux (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
Full disclosure: I do not know Mr. Trahair, the publisher, nor do I work in the financial industry. However, I actually read this book.

The author has written a book that is simple enough for a worker like myself to understand, while also providing plenty of evidence to support his arguments. I actually found his arguments so clear and rational that I am applying his advice.

I would like to reply to the criticisms that this book has received:

The book makes a clear, long-term argument in support of GICs compared to the stock market during the same period of time. Trahair does not merely cherry pick 2008 and 2009. To say that GICs only look good in comparison to the recent crash is false. For readers that insist on earning massive (unrealized) gains, we will see in a year or two if they can still make those claims. Unlike GIC holders in CDIC-covered institutions, they cannot offer guarantees.

The accusation that the book ignores the implications of income tax and inflation on GICs is also false. Remember, I read the book, and the author does provide a convincing argument in support of the GIC compared to mutual funds (for example).

The concern that the book is going to convince people suffering in this recession to pull out of their stocks before they (possibly) recover is completely false. Trahair clearly states that this situation is painful, but generally recommends that people in this situation hang on to recover their money. Once that is achieved, they should move over to GICs (after clearing all of their debts, of course).

When reviewers with credentials like "CFP" make false accusations about this book, I wonder what their motivation is. You decide who is giving you bad advice; I have made my decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investing Simplified, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
This book takes the mystery out of investing and helps a person to develop a simple plan to ensure a solid retirement. We have already started to use the methods described in the book and are amazed at how easy it is to do and how freeing it is to know that our money is secure. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally some great advice, July 21 2012
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
Thanks to Mr. Trahair for allowing Canadians to enjoy a cup of coffee again without feeling that they are destroying their future financial security. The best advice for sound financial management that I have read in a long time. While some mega financial experts tout mutual funds with 12% returns but considerable risk, or advise to attempt to make RRSP contributions, debt repayments, and establish emergency savings, all while paying down a mortgage, Mr. Trahair establishes a commonsense approach that any of us with depression-era parents will find comfortingly familiar and irrestibly exciting. An excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point, Sept. 18 2010
By 
IronM (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
This is an excellent book to get your finances in order and put things into perspective. Some of the advice in this book is excellent, such as; get rid of your debt first before investing. Another pearl of wisdom is to not borrow money to invest. My only beef with this is the GIC only approach to investing. If you read this book, follow the advice, you are doing well. When you've actually paid off your debts and have money to invest, I would recommend reading Rob Carrick's "What's Good, Bad, and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments today". The combination of these two books will set you up for financial independence and give you enough information so you don't get hosed by the financial industry, and retire well.

I highly recommend this book in conjunction with Rob Carrick's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very conservative investment approach, Sept. 21 2009
By 
Oai Truong (Winnipeg, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
I love to invest in equities, and have been generating an average of a 25% return this year, but I bought this book to see the other extreme. With the crash of 2008, a lot of people will think a 4-5% return is pretty decent now compared to the 40% loss last year. This book suits investors 55 and over, as it avoids the risks of the stock market in favor of safe guaranteed investments like GICs and government bonds. There is good advice on CPP and how to get the best out of that, but otherwise most younger investors like myself will find this approach too boring, too safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 sides to every story, make sure you know them both., Dec 2 2010
By 
MITguy (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
I have read this book front to back. It has some very sound advice and not so great advice.

1. You don't need an investment advisor. - Maybe yes, Maybe no. If you don't understand the market, it probably isn't a bad idea to get a one to start off, They know more than you so it's better than nothing. A better idea would be to learn more about the market and do it yourself. However a good advisor would not have anyone close to retiring allocated to more than 20% in equities, so the crash should not have been a big deal. If anything crashes present buying opportunities.

2. Stay out of the stock market. - This is the biggest problem in the book.
This should depend on your age and investment time frame. People that are close to or retired could definitely use his advice, his laddered GIC method would work very well. Young people will not be able to fund their current standard of living without the stock markets. The problem is not the stock market but greed and the lack of diversification. Diversification is not just picking different stocks in different sectors and countries, it also includes different assets. A mix of equities, fixed income and cash.

The author chooses to cherry pick examples against the stock market to make his argument.

Had everyone taken his advice and sold all their equities during the market crash of 2008, they would never recovered most of their losses in the past 2 years. He should mention that historically the steeper the crash, the faster the recovery. It is incorrect to use the average stock market return of 5-6% to calculate how long it will take to recover your losses. He also excludes dividends in his rate of return calculations. Why is this? Are they not part of your rate of return.

He uses Apple stock as an example, it's drop from around $200 to $90 and then assumes the average market return to get back to break even. He should know or mention that growth stocks like Apple don't average the average 5-6% ROR, but also have greater volatility, Apple is trading at $318 as I write this.

3. His whole section on CPP is great. It explains everything that you would need to know about it.

4. He says not to put money into RRSP's until you have paid off all debt, including your house. For income earners in the top tax bracket, RRSP's are not only a tax refund, but it can also lower your tax bracket, which can be a significant savings.

Overall it is a useful read, You will definitely learn something in the CPP section. His fixed income only investing idea is flawed logic, but that's the whole premise of the book. I am not an advisor and do not recommend them if you know what you are doing. I'm a savvy investor that is always open to new ideas. I have years of knowledge in stocks, options, bonds, fixed income products and commodities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date but still some applicable things, Jan. 25 2013
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
Unfortunately, a couple years makes some points in this book out of date. I cannot find a GIC at the rate he suggested, but that was back in 2009. He bases alot of his arguments on these high rates, but now we can't find them. It could make turning to mutual funds a better idea. His chapter on decreasing your tax was quite helpful for me. The book is a little too basic for me, and I was looking for a beginner investment book! Trahair does have some good points, so the book is worth a skim at your local library, but probably not to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Enough Bull, Sept. 20 2009
By 
Brian Poncelet "CFP" (Toronto, Ont.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
Like most books you can learn something here. The problem is it has been told before, plus there is some bad advice.

1. Avoid Personal Fiancial Disasters. Ok
2. You Don't need the Stock Market or Mutual Funds. Maybe
3. Buy a home and Pay off the Mortgage. Good
4. Reducing Expenses Donesn't have to be Painful. Ok
5. Forget RRSPs Unitl your debt is paid off. Maybe
6. Ask Yourself if you really Need an Investment Advisor. Maybe

The problem is this CA is suggesting putting money in GIC's (currently under 4%)
He has forgot about inflation and taxes which makes this idea about the same as planting the money in your backyard.

There is no talk about risk mangement (insurance) which you need and advisor!
If you don't get sick, get laid off, have kids, or die, you don't need insurance.

Generally, if you talk to your mother you will get the same advice and save money on the book to invest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good for people with no knowledge, Dec 4 2011
By 
Richard B. Barnaby (Calgary AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor (Paperback)
bOUGHT BOOK LOOKING FOR MORE ON cANADIAN PENSION PLAN FACTS AND FIGURES
mOST OF WHAT THE AUTHOR SAID WAS COMMON TO ME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enough Bull: How to Retire Well without the Stock Market, Mutual Funds, or Even an Investment Advisor
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 14.40
Usually ships in 2 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews