Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and challenging!
I found this book a difficult read, not because it was hard to understand, but difficult, because it spoke so much of how I and many others struggle with how we "do" church. It seems we make so little difference in our community, neighborhoods, etc. And yet while this book acknowledges some pretty serious concerns about the North American church, it doesn't do a slam...
Published on Aug. 15 2011 by Beverly A. Sesink

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pointing the way
great book outlining principles and practices of a missional community, with real life illustrations from a community that is experimenting and sharing their findings. Written for American disaffected evangelicals who are looking for a new ways of being salt & light. So a lot of contextual application stuff has to be re-thought for Canadian neighbourhoods, but very...
Published on Jan. 7 2010 by Daniel Sheffield


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and challenging!, Aug. 15 2011
By 
Beverly A. Sesink (Edmonton, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tangible Kingdom: Creating Incarnational Community (Hardcover)
I found this book a difficult read, not because it was hard to understand, but difficult, because it spoke so much of how I and many others struggle with how we "do" church. It seems we make so little difference in our community, neighborhoods, etc. And yet while this book acknowledges some pretty serious concerns about the North American church, it doesn't do a slam dunk, but rather gently, but firmly, makes us aware that indeed all is not well. For those who are willing to consider the tough road of "doing" church the way it was modeled for us in the early church, this can give some solid encouragement and hope in the midst of the situation we face as church in the West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pointing the way, Jan. 7 2010
By 
Daniel Sheffield (Hamilton, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tangible Kingdom: Creating Incarnational Community (Hardcover)
great book outlining principles and practices of a missional community, with real life illustrations from a community that is experimenting and sharing their findings. Written for American disaffected evangelicals who are looking for a new ways of being salt & light. So a lot of contextual application stuff has to be re-thought for Canadian neighbourhoods, but very helpful for gleaners like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not eminently practical, nor soundly theoretical, April 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Though the author would probably like this, I find him a little too 'devil-may-care' about life, faith, and church. Seems like a legitimately caring and gregarious individual, but probably not the best spokesman for the 'missional' thesis. There are some good anecdotes and a few nuggets of insight on some broken ways of thinking/doing within the church. Read it to accompany the Tangible Kingdom Primer, but I would have been better without the book. If you are remotely skeptical or cautious about diving head first into new things, this book will probably only feed your suspicions. I'm still so convinced that many Christians need to change their ways of thinking/doing, but not because of this particular book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to missional incarncational spirituality, Dec 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tangible Kingdom: Creating Incarnational Community (Hardcover)
Bought as a course text and it is well written in modern, easy to read language by a guy who is a church planting pastor (Hugh) and his partner in this work (Matt). I don't personally agree with the approach so while it is useful and has some good parts it is not something I see myself doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, July 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Tangible Kingdom: Creating Incarnational Community (Hardcover)
A book about real people doing real life... and real church. Really well. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tangible Kingdom: Creating Incarnational Community
The Tangible Kingdom: Creating Incarnational Community by Matt Smay (Hardcover - April 14 2008)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews