Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good reading for young adults looking into finance
I've given this book to family members in the hopes that they will think more logically about finances and financial planning. It's a great starter book that is easy to read with very good ideas and advice. It's certainly helped me a lot.

The only down side is that a book like this can get out of date with changes in tax laws. I'm looking forward to purchasing...
Published on May 19 2008 by Penny pincher

versus
9 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much advice has proven ill-suited to recent events
Lots of this is pretty reasonable stuff, but the authors display too much trust in the basic decency of the financial services sector, and were too dismissive of certain asset classes. Most obviously, they sneered at gold as a worthwhile asset, yet someone investing in gold five years ago would have had returns far in excess of someone who had put the same amount into a...
Published on Jan. 29 2009 by GoonMoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good reading for young adults looking into finance, May 19 2008
By 
Penny pincher (Kitchener, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
I've given this book to family members in the hopes that they will think more logically about finances and financial planning. It's a great starter book that is easy to read with very good ideas and advice. It's certainly helped me a lot.

The only down side is that a book like this can get out of date with changes in tax laws. I'm looking forward to purchasing a new copy that covers new tax deductions and the new tax free bank account the government of Canada has proposed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great All-in-One book on Personal Finance for Canadians, Dec 29 2011
By 
This review is from: Personal Finance For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
I was very satisfied with Personal Finance for Canadians for Dummies. The authors cover a great range of subjects, from reducing debt, tax-sheltered savings and retirement accounts, insurance, estate planning and others. The book is written in a very plain language that anybody can easily digest and understand. While there are specific books covering in detail each of the subjects discussed, this book is an all-in-one primary reference to have at home.

My only comment is about wishing a newer version of the book. For instance, Tax Free Savings Account are only slightly covered in the book. While most principles are likely to remain unchanged, a new edition could also include more links to relevant websites. However, at least at this point, I still maintain a 5 star rating for this excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basics widely explain and very little of the important ones, Oct. 4 2011
By 
Daniela D. Farrera (Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Personal Finance For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
Really good book for people who is really lost in the finantial matters. Sometimes the basics are very detailed (and for some people that can be annoying because a lot of it could be "logical") and sometimes the most important or complex topics are just "touched".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, June 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Personal Finance For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
Am mentoring my nephew on wise financial practices...this book is very helpful in retraining him to make better financial choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Personal Finance met my expectations, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Personal Finance For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
A very informative book.I was so impressed with the knowledge that I purchased 3 more books for each of my kids.It was easy to read and understand and not boring or dry reading which I really appreciated.I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wanted to learn about finances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Starting Point, April 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Personal Finance For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a great book if you never really studied finances and have little experience with it. Also, even if you feel your finances are under control, it is good to learn or be reminded of other options you have. I found the language used and the way the information was organized to be clear. The book was easy to pick up and look at a specific topic; the topics were laid out plainly and it was easy to find what you were looking for. A good book to keep around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, April 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Personal Finance For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this book for my husband and he really liked it,he said it was easy to understand and thinks all young people should have one to help with their future finances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping up with classic "For Dummies" books!, Oct. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Personal Finance For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
What a great book! Very insightful and enjoyable! Jam packed with all the right things to do and laid out in an easy to read and understand way! Every Canadian should have a copy of this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dummies books are always great and fully informative. Excellent buy :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It helped, Jan. 24 2010
By 
Marlon Schmitt (Oakville, ON, CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book helped a lot with investing, but it could have had more info about how to save money - by cutting spending, going to sales, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Personal Finance For Canadians For Dummies
Personal Finance For Canadians For Dummies by Tony Martin (Paperback - Dec 20 2010)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews