Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but a Hidden Agenda in Here
Overall, this is an excellent book that provides the basics and allows beginners to get a good grasp of where to go from there. The chapters are laid out nicely and it does an excellent job of introducing key terms and lingo, and demonstrating how stocks fit into the overall economic (and political) picture.

My only problem with this book is that I'm used to...
Published 1 month ago by hexedd

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Information
This book provides the reader with a "very basic" understanding of the stock market.
Not a bad choice for the stock market illiterate.

If you are looking for information a bit more in-depth or if you already process a basic understanding of the stock market,
you may find this book a bit too elementary.

Several great chapters on assessing...
Published on Sept. 10 2011 by K. Jolly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic Information, Sept. 10 2011
By 
K. Jolly (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stock Investing For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
This book provides the reader with a "very basic" understanding of the stock market.
Not a bad choice for the stock market illiterate.

If you are looking for information a bit more in-depth or if you already process a basic understanding of the stock market,
you may find this book a bit too elementary.

Several great chapters on assessing your finances, risks and intentions with regard to investing.

What I disliked most about this book, is the introduction of a topic or idea followed by "this will be cover later in chapter ....".
For me, this lead to a really choppy disjointed unenjoyable read.

Perhaps skimming the book before purchasing might be a good idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but a Hidden Agenda in Here, June 18 2014
This review is from: Stock Investing For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
Overall, this is an excellent book that provides the basics and allows beginners to get a good grasp of where to go from there. The chapters are laid out nicely and it does an excellent job of introducing key terms and lingo, and demonstrating how stocks fit into the overall economic (and political) picture.

My only problem with this book is that I'm used to reading books in the "Dummies" series that are neutral in regards to the topic. In this case, it is very obvious the authors subscribe to a right-wing, conservative, "just let the market sort everything out" ideology, which subsequently colours much of their analysis and description of how the economy (in their opinion) should and does work. I wish they had been a little more impartial in their discussion of this, since there is plenty of evidence on both sides of the "left" and "right" positions in economics and economic history. One need only look at the Scandinavian countries for a great success story that proves the "markets will fix everything" approach has plenty of evidence against it as well. I would've expected a more sophisticated analysis from two experts on the topic. It appears they haven't done their homework on this, and have read only the parts of economic theory that suit their points, and ignored the rest (or simply discounted it). For that reason I think it loses a five star rating, since a fuller discussion of stocks would also give a fair shake to the liberal side of the debate as well.

Other than that, it is a great book, and definitely worth checking out for beginners who need to learn the basics before moving on to more advanced things like options, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I learned very few things, not worth the read, June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pretty long book considering the amount of valuable informations that are in it, I did not learn much from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very good, May 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lots of information. May be more than I was looking for. Easy to read and understand. Lots of help available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good basic information for novice investors, Oct. 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stock Investing For Canadians For Dummies (Paperback)
it is an excellent source of basic information for someone wanting to start investing in the Stock Market.
Also written in a manner that is easy to understand for the novice
Highly recommend this book to anyone considering investing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stock Investing For Canadians For Dummies
Stock Investing For Canadians For Dummies by Paul Mladjenovic (Paperback - Jan. 29 2010)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews