Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dollar Crisis Accurate and Timely
I first read The Dollar Crisis four months ago. With each re-read, the author's reasoning for and results of the coming dollar crisis makes more sense. It lays an extremely good foundation for the current world imbalance and makes valid predictions which are based on historical models.
Although I wish the author had given additional recommendations for what we, as...
Published on May 17 2004 by Dr. William T. Mahon

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Analysis and Excreable Solution
The author does an excellent job of analyzing why the U. S. dollar will crash, explaining very well the factors that will lead to such a crisis. His proposed solutions, unfortunately, recommend the same factors that will cause the crisis in the first place. He is employed by the World Bank and I am sure that his book and its proposed solutions were approved by it prior...
Published on March 7 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dollar Crisis Accurate and Timely, May 17 2004
By 
Dr. William T. Mahon (Rogers, AR United States) - See all my reviews
I first read The Dollar Crisis four months ago. With each re-read, the author's reasoning for and results of the coming dollar crisis makes more sense. It lays an extremely good foundation for the current world imbalance and makes valid predictions which are based on historical models.
Although I wish the author had given additional recommendations for what we, as individuals, might do to protect ourselves before the eventual dollar demise, I do believe his idea of establishing a Global Minimum Wage may be the best way, internationally, to avoid the collapse of the dollar. I wish him the best of luck if he pursues this ambitious solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No one can afford to ignore this book, April 12 2004
By 
B.Sudhakar Shenoy (India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Globalization is here to stay. Walls have tumbled and so have the barriers to trade. But in the process of creating a global economy that has seen rapid growth in global trade in the last three decades, have we committed any major blunders, atleast in economic terms ?. The answer seems to be an affirmative YES according to the author. During the days till the First World War, gold was the only currency that was acceptable across international borders. While the war led to the departure from this standard, paper currency flooded European markets, leading ultimately to the great depression of the 1930's. This was our first concrete lesson to realize that money, cannot be created out of thin air, for that matter even out of plain paper.
Bretton Woods restored the relationship between currency and gold and thereby linked exchange rates. The author explains how a country with trade deficit had to part with gold which in turn led to shrinkage of credit, increase in lending rates, fall in consumption and ultimately the restoration of trade balance. Gold clearly played the role of being the conscience keeper in international markets. A noble metal indeed.
With gold standard, everything was working fine and global accounts were balanced. Suddenly Uncle Sam with his insatiable need for foreign goods, thanks to the growing consumer demand at home and increasing military expenditures in his self proclaimed capacity to police the rest of the world, goes on a spending (and borrowing ) spree. The greenback is no longer exchangeable with gold, but in fact would have to be treated to be of value in itself. The rest is history as so well explained in this book. This book devotes atleast a third of its space for graphs, charts and tables taken from published international sources to support the arguments in every chapter.
What follows the departure from the gold standard is the generation of a huge US trade deficit with its trading partners over the last three decades. This deficit is paid alteast in terms of accounting, in Dollars that are not backed by gold. This paper money creates the following :
- Increase in investments in manufacturing capacities by multinationals in low wage countries
- Increase in capacities creates fall in prices of manufactured goods
- Fall in prices leads to higher purchases by Americans
- Higher consumer spending on foreign goods leads to increase in trade deficit
- US trade deficits lead to more Dollars with trading partners
- Trading partners experience asset appreciation in their countries
- Investments by trading partners in US leads to asset/housing/stock market appreciation.
Till here it is fine. It is like the first couple of drinks at the party and everybody is enjoying. But then it does not stop there, unfortunately. The drinks keep pouring in and the music turns to noise. The party soon becomes a nuisance to society. In the above sequence, the asset appreciation leads to asset bubbles and over investments leads to deflationary pressures. This leads to fall in corporate profitability which is followed by the collapse of stock markets and banks. Banks collapse and soon the party is over. The hangover unfortunately lasts longer than the duration of the party. Tigers soon become kittens as we saw in the second half of the last decade in Asia. And the kittens are too drunk even to move.
This book presents a very powerful case to argue that America will not be able to continue its trade deficits and that the global economy is on the verge of a collapse thanks to the overvalued Dollar. Overvalued by how much ? 50 % by one estimate. When will the dollar collapse ? Anytime from yesterday.
Consequences to various trading partners from Asian Economies including Japan, Latin America to the European Union is well analyzed. China will be the worst hit with its banks already facing up to 50 % non performing loans. Europe seems to be the safest, atleast relatively.
Any rescue package ? . Certainly, says the author who advocates a demand side stimulation of the global economy through increase in wages ( in export oriented companies in developing countries) over a ten year period, which would not hurt multinationals since daily wages are too low at $ 4 in countries like China and we can afford to take it to $14 by 2014. With Multiplier Effect, the author explains that this will lead to surge in demand to offset the slump in US Consumption. There is also the need for a Global Central Bank to restore normalcy in international currency standards. Monetarism will fail since we are on the verge of a liquidity trap with near zero interest rates as experienced in Japan.
It helped me to brush up my understanding of Macroeconomics and it is advisable to do so before reading this book. What has happened till date is supported by facts. What is likely to happen is frightening. Can I have a drink please ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Analysis and Excreable Solution, March 7 2004
By A Customer
The author does an excellent job of analyzing why the U. S. dollar will crash, explaining very well the factors that will lead to such a crisis. His proposed solutions, unfortunately, recommend the same factors that will cause the crisis in the first place. He is employed by the World Bank and I am sure that his book and its proposed solutions were approved by it prior to its publication.
Winston Churchill is reported to have said of noted academic of his time that "he knows everything and understands nothing." Unfortunately, this book discloses the same tendencies on the part of its author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great points on international trade issues, poor solutions, Aug. 26 2003
By 
Kirk Linder (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This book is really worth the read for anyone trying to make sense of our world economic environment. Mr. Duncan makes many persuasive points as he explains the cause of the boom/bust cycles that have occurred since the breakdown of the Bretton Woods agreement. A major point is that the proliferation of a fiat "dollar standard" has created credit inflation in the banking systems of export heavy nations. This increase in credit created much distortion and malinvestment, and the cycle ended with over-capacity and speculation. Asset bubbles were then created in equities and real estate. He also describes the "boomerang dollar" as the money flowing out of the US, because of our current account deficit, finds it's way back here as foreign nations buy our corporate, federal, and agency debt. Our budget deficit is largely financed by foreigners who then add the dollar denominated assets to their bank reserves. The author's work is well researched and presented.
In part four the author presents his solutions to what he believes is a looming global deflationary depression. He describes a global minimum wage, and the empowerment of the IMF to basically become the world's central bank. It was enough to make the Austrian hairs stand up on the back of my neck. I believe his solutions are thankfully unworkable. The cost and logistics of overseeing the minimum wage compliance would be staggering. We have enough trouble enforcing work laws in our own country. How do we expect some UN knockoff to monitor an employer in Saigon or Calcutta? The author's solution to allow the IMF to use special drawing rights to provide global welfare makes me wonder if he may have written the fourth part of his book as an intellectual exercise, target practice if you will.
Mr. Duncan's book is important in its factual examination of some very troubling global economic developments. I'm glad I read it. But, his solutions are way off the mark. Any real solutions come with much pain, it can't be avoided. We need a sound money system, less government intervention, and more reliance on free market forces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, July 23 2003
By A Customer
The content of the book was amazing.
The person who gave it one star complains about flawed economics. He easily forgot that economics is a flawed science by itself. Most of the famous theories that we as economists (including myself) learnt haven't worked. All I know for sure is that the modern era economics and the economists are totally out of reality. They are consistently wrong with their predictions and their theories and their implementation have failed dramatically.
This book is an eye opener and as real as it gets. Some People will not like its content because they do not want to believe that modern economic policies have failed.
(the pewrson who complained talks about a model showing that the U.S. could sustain its level of current account deficit level for another 20 years)
this statement is laughable.....
The deficits if they keep growing like that they will destroy the dollar.PERIOD.
MODELS are for people who sit in ivory Towers totally out of reality.
The author of the book has proven right up to now and the dollar collapse has already started.
AGAIN AMAZING WORK....One of the best books I have read on the dollar and deficits and the real dangers that lie ahead of us.
It seems to me that some people can make the black white making the Debt problem of the US looking like nothing. The US phenomenon is the biggest CREDIT, DEBT, ASSET BUBBLE ever on this planet.
We technically exchange paper money for goods and the thing is that the other countries accept that.
My advice is:
Buy this book and read it. It will open your eyes and pay off for its price multiple times. I got the idea about this book from Richard Russell's newsletter. He himself that has seen everything in his extremely succesfull career has been completely amazed by the book and keeps mentioning it.
Do yourself a favor and don't listen to the economists that are consistently wrong. Listen to some people with experience in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's coming true!, Nov. 17 2007
This review is from: The Dollar Crisis: Causes, Consequences, Cures (Paperback)
Although Duncan's "The Dollar Crisis" can occasionally be a bit of a tricky read, given the heavy use of technical terms and complicated graphs, recent events have shown many of Duncan's predictions to be true. The sub prime mortgage crisis, real estate crash and collapse of the American dollar are undeniable consequences of the dollar crisis.
In essence, Duncan explains how the end of Bretton Woods and the end of the gold standard have allowed for an incredible amount of growth, credit expansion and economic bubbles. However, this growth, largely export driven, is not sustainable in the long term. Though Duncan is somewhat unsure about the when, he is quite certain this will (and had already started occurring). Though he proposes a number of solutions to reduce the impact that this inevitable depression/recession might have, his principal solution consists of the creation of a global minimum wage.
Once again, "The Dollar Crisis" is not a light read and requires some concentration, but goes very much hand-in-hand with the predictions of other authors such as Kiyosaki. I recommend this read for monetarists and Keynesians alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read between the lines, May 20 2004
By A Customer
Having traded currencies successfully for the past 20 years, I found this book to be a credible resource. With the U.S. deficit spiraling in the wrong direction, we need to be aware of all the possibilities to create optimum contingency plans. This book will provide you with the information to make the informed decisions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U.S. Dollars - Too Much of a Good Thing, Dec 4 2003
By 
dennis wentraub (schenectady, new york USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There is an unsettling conviction to Richard Duncan's assessment of world trade today, and it is forcefully explained and supported with dozens of charts and tables. An enormous U.S. trade deficit has created a sea of liquidity and easy credit for those nations to whom we are indebted. Without a Global Central Bank to control the money supply, the debt and liquidity it provides keep growing. Nations on the Surplus side of this trading arrangement have few choices with their outsized inflow. If they keep it in their central bank reserves, their currencies will appreciate, their exports, and their economies will slow. If it is absorbed into their economies in the form of low interest rate loans to business and individuals it will spark inflation, excess capacity, and ultimately recession and deflation. Economic crises in Asia and Japan are evidence of this damaging cycle. Consequently, much of our indebtedness, our trade imbalance, returns from our trading partners like a boomerang, to buy dollar-denominated securities. Returning capital adds to asset inflation and creates more credit, more capacity, and fewer opportunities to make a profit.
Add this: Our trade deficit is growing and at some point one or more market segments of the economy - direct investments, corporate securities, even government securities - will no longer accomodate this inflow of repatriated foreign capital. At the center of this mess is a structural flaw in our global economy. It began when the U.S. Dollar decisively replaced gold in the 1970's as the basis for value in world trade and became the de facto global reserve currency. In the absence of monetary controls our trading partners accept our promises (our bonds) in place of cash or gold in payment for trade. Up to what point is uncertain. According to Duncan our cumulative indebtedness to the rest of the world is approximately $3 trillion or 30% of our GDP and it increased by five hundred billion last year. A drop in the value of the U.S. greenback seems likely (for Duncan, "inevitable"). If it helps our exporters begin to bridge the import-export gap then let it happen. Longer term, Duncan calls for an escalating Global Minimum Wage in the export industries of our trading partners to stimulate the development of a consumer class to supplement the world engine of American consumption. Currently the International Monetary Fund (IMF) assumes the role of a supervisory central bank for national economies in crisis. Duncan would like to see its role evolve into a Global Central Bank. In an advisory role a GCB just might be politically acceptable and useful in moderating boom-bust cycles caused by trade imbalances. My only caveat with Duncan's thesis is that his case is made and repeated so strongly that it seems to disallow for the possibility of unforseen events leading us to a more benign state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit rushed, yet a valuable book nonetheless, April 20 2004
As I write, the Fed has declared victory over the deflationary threat and is getting ready to raise interest rates. Thus, one reading this book would think that its dire warnings regarding deflation constitute old, passe news. They should beware. Duncan wrote this book in order to further educate people amongst the common investor class as well as analysts/economists about how dire the *overall* economic picture is in America. I.E. Said deflationary threat may have seemingly dissipated, yet the larger trends outlined in the book beg the question over whether disinflation/deflation have truly been knocked out in favor of a genuine economic recovery.
For any student of economics, political economy or investments, this book will serve as a rare and valuable primer regarding the real reasons why we are the richest nation on the planet, the core reasons for said status, the true nature of "money", and our relationships with other nations deemed as our "creditors". Quantitatively supplemented with charts, tables, graphs, quotes and figures cited directly from sources such as the IMF, Federal Reserve and luminaries/authors in the field (Stiglitz, Soros, Von Mises, Keynes, Friedman, Krugman, et al.), Duncan certainly backs up effectively his core assertions. If nothing else, the book serves as a mini course in global finance and macro-economics, and thus deserves a read.
The book didn't get much press or publicity in the U.S. after it was published in 2003. No wonder. Its bearish tone and thesis are hardly qualities that Kudlow and Cramer would rant about, let alone even cite cautiously. However, the book does compliment other compelling texts with similar subject matters such as "Conquer the Crash" by Robert Prechter, Jr., "Financial Reckoning Day" by William Bonner, "The Case Against the Fed" by Murray Rothbard, "The Truth About Markets" by John Kay, "The Mystery of Capital" by Hernando de Soto and even "After the Empire" by Emmanuel Todd -- in describing what would otherwise be washed out in the mainstream media and press.
I was initially put off by the grammatical oversights that pop up every now and then, yet later figured that the book practically went from author's computer to the printing press. That's rare, considering the large publisher, yet considering the urgency of the material, I overlooked it. Again, the majority of the content outweighs aesthetic concerns.
Also, Duncan can be annoyingly redundant with many of his core points, which, coupled with the above complaint, gives the book's writing the sense that no one else really reviewed said text. Yet, again, the urgency of Duncan's arguments, that our current account and trade deficits are out of control, that foreign creditors are starting to show palpable concern, that current trends resemble past lead-ups to crashes while out-sizing them, amongst other points, mitigate such concerns.
The language he uses in describing his latter proposals is rushed and not as empirical as what he revealed earlier, yet his proposals are bold enough to warrant attention. If the reader wholly disagrees with his proposals regarding how to confront and treat our Himalayan-sized global money imbalances, at least the reader has a sober, solid foundation after the first 3/4s of the book for trying to arrive at their own proposal(s).
Great book, generally. The type of text that should be required reading at the *high school* level nowadays (yes, indeed, raise the bar...considering what future generations must contend with, debt-wise).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars informative, Feb. 22 2004
By A Customer
I have zero backgroud on economic. This books helps me to understand the US trade deficit, its cause and consequence. Now I can look at events from a new perspective. This is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbf97b744)

This product

The Dollar Crisis: Causes, Consequences, Cures
The Dollar Crisis: Causes, Consequences, Cures by Richard Duncan (Paperback - June 22 2005)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews