Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wealth Building 101
This is the 1 book that every beginning investor and high school student should read. The author shows the average person the 9 rules he or she needs to follow to build wealth steadily and safely. He shows how he did it through self-discipline, index funds and asset allocation. Start young, pay off your debts and invest, invest, invest. The "Opportunity After Chaos"...
Published on Oct. 27 2011 by James Lor

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good investor, but I don't know if I would like the individual
The first chapters sounded like common sense. They were not realistic considering that many people have children, emotions and recognize that prestige outweighs long term financial investments. I found a summary that would make the need of purchasing the book ( thus saving your money ) unnecessary :

Rule 1 : Spend like you want to grow rich, which means...
Published 17 months ago by Harbinger


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wealth Building 101, Oct. 27 2011
By 
James Lor "James Lor" (Montreal, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
This is the 1 book that every beginning investor and high school student should read. The author shows the average person the 9 rules he or she needs to follow to build wealth steadily and safely. He shows how he did it through self-discipline, index funds and asset allocation. Start young, pay off your debts and invest, invest, invest. The "Opportunity After Chaos" section (page 78) alone is worth the price of the book. I like this book because it was written by a high school English teacher who has "been there and done that", he's a millionaire about 40 years old. This book was not written by a finance / economics professor or a "talking head" in the finance industry or a financial advisor. I couldn't put this book down, and will probably read it again a few more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's AboutTime!, Oct. 11 2011
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
Yes indeed, it is about time someone wrote a finance book for adults so that they can have meaningful investment conversations with their children. For some reason, finance is a taboo subject in most families. And it's a real shame, as Andrew Hallam correctly points out, because the time to begin investing is when you're young. And taking advantage of man's 'greatest invention', compound interest, and investing in low-fee Index Funds, means anyone can become wealthy over their lifetime.

Andrew does an excellent job of making complicated concepts easy to understand. He does this by simplifying and demystifying the investment process in an entertaining and enjoyable way. Buying/Reading "Millionaire Teacher" is an excellent investment to make!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking out for the average investor, Jan. 17 2012
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
I have read your book cover to cover many times and every time I do I seem to learn something new! Just love it! I feel like a student again! You know you have a good book when the spine is creased and cracked and the the corners of the pages are bent from all the bookmarking. Thanks for all of your insight into Canadian Banks! it is amazing to see how our interests are not looked after and how making money for themselves is always on the agenda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable advice for the novice, Sept. 6 2013
By 
Alan W. Scobie (Ottawa, ON CAN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
Good sound advice especially for novice investors. Easy and interesting read. Makes a good gift for your kids just starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book we should all have read when we were 16 years old, Jan. 3 2013
By 
Remi Parent (New-Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
The price of this book is very worth it. I've goten good value from it and it will pay itself numerous time over by following its basic principles. I Wish I had read this book 15 years ago. I'm 33 years old now and still young enough that I Will stil profit greatly enough by following some of principals in this book. I've already made some changes in my portfolios and for the first time I feel I am in control over my investments.
Highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to save money over the long term. The younger you are the better this book will be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Read for the Beginner, Dec 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
This was a good read...for anyone that knows nothing...its not facts, figures, and theories but an easy way to learn the very basics of a more or less safe way to invest. Its entertaining and educational...doesn't scare off the beginner. After reading I've already started my investing and continuing to learn more about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't give away half of your retirement, read this book!, Dec 11 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
Great book, bit complex of a read, especially the later chapters. If you invest in the stock market, you MUST read this. You could be throwing away ~50% of your retirement income if you're investing wrong. Investing should take you an hour a year and you shouldn't lose half your returns to managed mutual funds. Trust me, 2% doesn't sound like much... but if you know anything about the power of compounding, it's a word of difference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good investor, but I don't know if I would like the individual, Nov. 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
The first chapters sounded like common sense. They were not realistic considering that many people have children, emotions and recognize that prestige outweighs long term financial investments. I found a summary that would make the need of purchasing the book ( thus saving your money ) unnecessary :

Rule 1 : Spend like you want to grow rich, which means cultivating
frugality whether buying homes, cars or daily items.

Rule 2 : Take advantage of compound interest by starting investing
as early in life as possible — but only after high-interest debt is
eliminated. (I agree!)

Rule 3 : Pay attention to the negative impact of high fees and thus the case for
indexing: “Small percentages pack big punches.” Here he takes a
skeptical view of the motivations of the financial services industry
generally.

Rule 4 : “Conquer the enemy in the mirror.” It looks at the
problems of stock-picking and market timing, fear, greed and other
emotions that can sabotage investing.

Rule 5 : Build a “responsible portfolio” that includes both stocks
and bonds. Here Hallam introduces what he terms the Couch Potato
Portfolio.

Rule 6 : Look at indexing in the U.S, Canada, Australia and Singapore.

Rule 7 : “Peek inside a pilferer’s playbook.” It looks at
common sales practices of financial advisors and brokers. He starts by
suggesting that those planning to own their own indexed account at a
discount brokerage may want to find a fee-only adviser who can set it
up for you.

Rule 8 : “Avoid Seduction,” and looks at the various distractions
that some term “financial pornography” — investment newsletters and
magazines, junk bonds, gold and hedge funds, which Hallam describes as
“the rich stealing from the rich.”

Rule 9 : Those who love to pick their own stocks if “they can’t
help themselves.” Hallam’s solution is to stay 90% indexed but to
allocate 10% to individual stocks if you find it enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, March 4 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
Very good book. Simple to read, well written. Took it out from the library, but wanted a copy of my own after reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Summary - Invest in index funds!, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
The whole book seems to excessively elaborate on the nature and importance of index fund investing. In other words, Hallam essentially repeats the same investment principle until he ended up with enough pages to write a book! Nonetheless, Hallam seems genuine and honest in his quest to help new investors, and this book explains investment principles in a manner anyone can understand. Especially valuable for people in their 20s - how to invest safely & smartly for retirement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc07b2084)

This product

Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School
CDN$ 22.95 CDN$ 14.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews