Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wealth Building 101
This is the 1 book that every beginning investor and high school student should read. The author shows the average person the 9 rules he or she needs to follow to build wealth steadily and safely. He shows how he did it through self-discipline, index funds and asset allocation. Start young, pay off your debts and invest, invest, invest. The "Opportunity After Chaos"...
Published on Oct. 27 2011 by James Lor

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good investor, but I don't know if I would like the individual
The first chapters sounded like common sense. They were not realistic considering that many people have children, emotions and recognize that prestige outweighs long term financial investments. I found a summary that would make the need of purchasing the book ( thus saving your money ) unnecessary :

Rule 1 : Spend like you want to grow rich, which means...
Published on Nov. 21 2012 by Harbinger


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wealth Building 101, Oct. 27 2011
By 
James Lor "James Lor" (Montreal, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
This is the 1 book that every beginning investor and high school student should read. The author shows the average person the 9 rules he or she needs to follow to build wealth steadily and safely. He shows how he did it through self-discipline, index funds and asset allocation. Start young, pay off your debts and invest, invest, invest. The "Opportunity After Chaos" section (page 78) alone is worth the price of the book. I like this book because it was written by a high school English teacher who has "been there and done that", he's a millionaire about 40 years old. This book was not written by a finance / economics professor or a "talking head" in the finance industry or a financial advisor. I couldn't put this book down, and will probably read it again a few more times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's AboutTime!, Oct. 11 2011
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
Yes indeed, it is about time someone wrote a finance book for adults so that they can have meaningful investment conversations with their children. For some reason, finance is a taboo subject in most families. And it's a real shame, as Andrew Hallam correctly points out, because the time to begin investing is when you're young. And taking advantage of man's 'greatest invention', compound interest, and investing in low-fee Index Funds, means anyone can become wealthy over their lifetime.

Andrew does an excellent job of making complicated concepts easy to understand. He does this by simplifying and demystifying the investment process in an entertaining and enjoyable way. Buying/Reading "Millionaire Teacher" is an excellent investment to make!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "But... what about your pensions?!", Nov. 14 2011
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
When my husband and I first decided to become full-time, overseas teachers, most of our colleagues looked at us like we had two heads apiece and exclaimed, 'But what about your pensions?' Fortunately for us, there is Andrew Hallam and this fantastic book. Having followed Andrew's advice and blog for years now, we know his strategy works. His book clearly makes his case for easy, logical investing; his anecdotes, when you're confronted with financial advisors who want your business, resonate with you; his voice engages, like he's sitting in a chair next to you, genuinely wanting to help your portfolio grow, not his. Now, whenever anyone asks us 'But what about your pensions?' we hand them this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good investor, but I don't know if I would like the individual, Nov. 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
The first chapters sounded like common sense. They were not realistic considering that many people have children, emotions and recognize that prestige outweighs long term financial investments. I found a summary that would make the need of purchasing the book ( thus saving your money ) unnecessary :

Rule 1 : Spend like you want to grow rich, which means cultivating
frugality whether buying homes, cars or daily items.

Rule 2 : Take advantage of compound interest by starting investing
as early in life as possible — but only after high-interest debt is
eliminated. (I agree!)

Rule 3 : Pay attention to the negative impact of high fees and thus the case for
indexing: “Small percentages pack big punches.” Here he takes a
skeptical view of the motivations of the financial services industry
generally.

Rule 4 : “Conquer the enemy in the mirror.” It looks at the
problems of stock-picking and market timing, fear, greed and other
emotions that can sabotage investing.

Rule 5 : Build a “responsible portfolio” that includes both stocks
and bonds. Here Hallam introduces what he terms the Couch Potato
Portfolio.

Rule 6 : Look at indexing in the U.S, Canada, Australia and Singapore.

Rule 7 : “Peek inside a pilferer’s playbook.” It looks at
common sales practices of financial advisors and brokers. He starts by
suggesting that those planning to own their own indexed account at a
discount brokerage may want to find a fee-only adviser who can set it
up for you.

Rule 8 : “Avoid Seduction,” and looks at the various distractions
that some term “financial pornography” — investment newsletters and
magazines, junk bonds, gold and hedge funds, which Hallam describes as
“the rich stealing from the rich.”

Rule 9 : Those who love to pick their own stocks if “they can’t
help themselves.” Hallam’s solution is to stay 90% indexed but to
allocate 10% to individual stocks if you find it enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking out for the average investor, Jan. 17 2012
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
I have read your book cover to cover many times and every time I do I seem to learn something new! Just love it! I feel like a student again! You know you have a good book when the spine is creased and cracked and the the corners of the pages are bent from all the bookmarking. Thanks for all of your insight into Canadian Banks! it is amazing to see how our interests are not looked after and how making money for themselves is always on the agenda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't give away half of your retirement, read this book!, Dec 11 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
Great book, bit complex of a read, especially the later chapters. If you invest in the stock market, you MUST read this. You could be throwing away ~50% of your retirement income if you're investing wrong. Investing should take you an hour a year and you shouldn't lose half your returns to managed mutual funds. Trust me, 2% doesn't sound like much... but if you know anything about the power of compounding, it's a word of difference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best teachers I know!, Nov. 11 2011
By 
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
When I first heard about Millionaire Teacher, I was excited to get my hands on it. Now that I have, I couldn't imagine not owning this gem in my personal finance library!

Millionaire Teacher doesn't preach nor beg you to change your ways. It simply lays out Rules 1 - 9 so you can make that decision yourself, if you want to be wealthy or not.

The theme that runs through Millionaire Teacher is that most adults lack basic "financial literacy". It's not our fault, our educational system and our financial system are inherently flawed and working against us. That doesn't mean you or I should play victim to that environment, rather, take charge, learn and get control over your financial life. Nobody cares more about your money that you do, except maybe Andrew Hallam.

Using Millionaire Teacher as your guide, you can avoid many financial pitfalls and dark caverns, if you want to. High-cost mutual funds, massive credit card debt, sky-high mortgage costs, an underperforming portfolio and chasing story stocks are just some examples.

Millionaire Teacher is your guide to understanding the wealthy. The wealthy don't drive the best cars nor covet material goods. Rather, they follow a basic recipe of living within your means, saving, and investing wisely for tomorrow. I have read few books that distill the path to wealth creation as simple, straight-forward and as witty as Andrew Hallam has.

I encourage everyone to get their copy of Millionaire Teacher like I did, so you can avoid being schooled by the financial industry and others who want your money. My advice, keep that money for yourself, and get Andrew Hallam's book to show you how. What are you waiting for, buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute MUST for your personal finance library, Nov. 9 2011
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
I purchased The Millionaire Teacher a few weeks ago, and I have to say, it's worth every penny and more.

Andrew Hallam has the amazing ability to not only discuss about how he became a millionaire at a young age, but provides a thorough account of his experiences in investing in low-cost index funds and owning individual stocks.

In my view, Hallam offers the investor a fool-proof way (and easy to understand) to beat the markets by investing low-cost index funds and applying a straight-forward rebalancing approach. This is not a novel - Hallam has crunched the numbers to back his findings, and the investor will find this book to be more than just useful. In fact, it may very well change the way you invest.

After reading material from great investment legends like Warren Buffet and being featured in prominent personal finance publications such as MoneySense and Globe Investor, Hallam's book has secured a firm place in my personal finance library. A 5-star rating all the way to the bank!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book before your'e 20!, Nov. 9 2011
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
After several months of waiting, I can't begin to tell you how excited I was to have finally received Andrew's new book. Andrew Hallam is one of my favourite bloggers and finance writers.

First of all, Millionaire Teacher is not your standard thick finance book that is going to take you a week or two to read through. Let's face it, mention to someone at work, they should read a finance book or an investment book, and they will cleverly begin to avoid you in the hallway or lunch room. The reason is simple. Most finance books are pretty boring to read, and aren't written for ordinary people. When Andrew started this book, he set out to write something not only informative and educational, but also entertaining and written in a style readers can relate to- and it shows!

Andrew's provides an extensive review of the mutual fund industry, and why it's a losers game with compounding fees, commissions, and lacklustre performance! This multi-millionaire sold all his stocks to invest in three index ETFs. He makes a small fortune by rebalancing and sticking with a proven index investing strategy, and so can you. And by the way, Millionaire Teacher isn't just about index investing, there be stocks and dividends here! If you are wondering how Andrew analyzes dividend paying stocks, he tells you how. The strategies which Andrew analyzes companies with, is worth the small price the book.

with Andrew's experience and knowledge in finances and investmenting, the book is not going to disappoint. Read this book before your'e 20 (it's never too late!) and learn how to do it right!

Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School

Cheers
The Dividend Ninja
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School, Oct. 11 2011
By 
Frank Olah (Andover, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School (Paperback)
Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School

I have had the pleasure of co-teaching with Andrew for the past three years in his English classes at the Singapore American School and his classroom stories and investment advice are all in his book. The advice is straight forward, reliable and funny. His real life experiences - that lead Andrew to his wealth - are all true. Andrew's personal teaching skill of being able to effectively connect with all of his students is reflected in his book.

The Millionaire Teacher is both educational and a pleasure to read. It is so well done that I have purchased five copies for Christmas presents for my four children who are just starting out down their roads to investing. Knowing Andrew personally and having heard his ideas in class and read his book, I believe that this will become the best investment gift I could give my children. Oh, the fifth book is mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Millionaire Teacher: The Nine Rules of Wealth You Should Have Learned in School
CDN$ 23.91 CDN$ 17.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews