Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be called the Canadian Encyclopedia of Real Estate Investing
This book is NOT a page turner! It's also not a step by step how to invest in real estate book. I'm sure some people sit down and read it cover to cover, but I didn't. Over the last year, I've read the entire book, but never from start to finish. I refer to sections in the book depending on what I am working on or depending on what I am curious about.

But it's...
Published on Nov. 26 2008 by JulzB

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs updating
Filled with legal jargon and explanations thereof. Not entirely useful to the budding or practicing investor. Never referred to it again after opening it once. It is also no longer applicable for the post-2009 crisis investor because many rules have changed.
Published on Oct. 12 2010 by xmilodon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should be called the Canadian Encyclopedia of Real Estate Investing, Nov. 26 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Making Money in Real Estate: The Canadian Guide to Profitable Investment in Residential Property, Revised Edition (Hardcover)
This book is NOT a page turner! It's also not a step by step how to invest in real estate book. I'm sure some people sit down and read it cover to cover, but I didn't. Over the last year, I've read the entire book, but never from start to finish. I refer to sections in the book depending on what I am working on or depending on what I am curious about.

But it's incredible detail and the sheer quantity and quality information contained in this book make it a must have resource for any Canadian residential real estate investor or even prospective home owner!

Critical definitions, different property types (and advantages and disadvantages of each), evaluating investment properties, strategies for investment, financing, legal terms surrounding purchase and sale agreements and mortgage documents, tax write offs, and tax benefits, and some fantastic worksheets are all covered in this book. He even talks about getting out of signed contracts...explaining the legalese involved in that process.

If you are about to buy a home or your first or second investment property in Canada - buy this book!!! Then, go to the table of contents, and find the section that applies to you, and read it! You will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, Feb. 26 2010
By 
B. Brown "Bibliophile" (Eastern Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Money in Real Estate: The Canadian Guide to Profitable Investment in Residential Property, Revised Edition (Hardcover)
As a reference volume for the up-and-coming as well as the seasoned real estate investor, Douglas Gray's Making Money in Real Estate is easily among the best real estate books I've ever read. From cover to cover this book is chock-full of information: from how to assess the different forms of property available, specifically what to look out for and what to avoid to specific names and websites of organizations one should contact when considering acquiring property. I read this book after having read more than a couple of other accomplished authors (only they spoke from the American perspective) and found myself more and more astounded by the depth of this author's knowledge.
The format of the book makes it an easy read; at times I felt as though I was in class under the instruction of an accomplished professor. Mr Gray obviously has a wealth of knowledge coupled with years of experience in the field - a fact made strikingly evident, not only within the pages of this volume but also because he has written several other acclaimed books on the subject.
This book is a must-have for the private collection of anyone wishing to make headway in Canadian Real Estate. I assure you, after reading this you'll be up and running, asking the right questions and looking for the right things in short order; frequent reference will have to be made to it so no borrowing this from the library. There is even a whole chapter dedicated to the all-important area of negotiation - a skill all aspiring real estate investors must master early since it comes into play from the time one chooses one's real estate broker through the time a lease agreement is being crafted and well beyond. Making Money in Real Estate covers all the bases and does a very respectable job at it in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs updating, Oct. 12 2010
By 
This review is from: Making Money in Real Estate: The Canadian Guide to Profitable Investment in Residential Property, Revised Edition (Hardcover)
Filled with legal jargon and explanations thereof. Not entirely useful to the budding or practicing investor. Never referred to it again after opening it once. It is also no longer applicable for the post-2009 crisis investor because many rules have changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly common sense, June 21 2010
By 
Jean-Philippe Richard "JPRich" (Ottawa, ON CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Money in Real Estate: The Canadian Guide to Profitable Investment in Residential Property, Revised Edition (Hardcover)
This is a good beginner's book, it is a lot of common sense. I was hoping for more industry specific topics and tips, other than being surrounded by a team of professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good resource, Sept. 15 2010
This review is from: Making Money in Real Estate: The Canadian Guide to Profitable Investment in Residential Property, Revised Edition (Hardcover)
This book was a great resource. what i liked was the back of the book where there are helpful templates and worksheets. This made this book more useful than just a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of information, Oct. 30 2011
By 
Just passin trough (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Making Money in Real Estate: The Canadian Guide to Profitable Investment in Residential Property, Revised Edition (Hardcover)
A lot of information in here. It may not go in details for all of them but it definitely lists most if not all of the real estate related subjects. It starts as a read but then it is a reference book. I would think, very useful to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great canadian real estate book, Sept. 7 2007
By 
This review is from: Making Money in Real Estate: The Canadian Guide to Profitable Investment in Residential Property, Revised Edition (Hardcover)
It has very precise & plain explanation regarding canadian real estate and all related information so that you can make a better decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews