Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book brings an interesting reality to the world of real estate investing
I have studied and read a few books on real estate investing over the past couple of years, in addition to acquiring a few properties, and have found a common denominator with most books on the subject providing numerous motivational tools and tactics to take action but lacking with real life stories and challenges that everyone obviously runs into. I often wondered to...
Published on April 20 2008 by D. Marcoux

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 'REIN' ADVERTISEMENT
As a novice real estate investor, I purhased this book hoping for some insite and education. To my surprise, what I received is promotional material for Don Campbell's organization called "REIN".
Every story tells of a "turning point" when the subject attends a "REIN" meeting.
Most of the success stories come from western Canada during a time that the region was...
Published on Feb. 7 2008 by B. Norris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 'REIN' ADVERTISEMENT, Feb. 7 2008
By 
B. Norris (Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 51 Success Stories from Canadian Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
As a novice real estate investor, I purhased this book hoping for some insite and education. To my surprise, what I received is promotional material for Don Campbell's organization called "REIN".
Every story tells of a "turning point" when the subject attends a "REIN" meeting.
Most of the success stories come from western Canada during a time that the region was experiencing a spectaculer increase in real estate values. There is nothing to learn here about investing in regions with a stable economy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book brings an interesting reality to the world of real estate investing, April 20 2008
By 
D. Marcoux "DM" (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 51 Success Stories from Canadian Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
I have studied and read a few books on real estate investing over the past couple of years, in addition to acquiring a few properties, and have found a common denominator with most books on the subject providing numerous motivational tools and tactics to take action but lacking with real life stories and challenges that everyone obviously runs into. I often wondered to myself while I was buying and running into challenges, why the heck those books never addressed what really goes on in the real estate investing world and then my question was answered with this book which actually contains good stories with real life challenges and solutions which this saturated genre of books desperately needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any real estate investor, Feb. 27 2008
By 
J. Leonard (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 51 Success Stories from Canadian Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
I have to say it's refreshing to read a success story book that doesn't skip over the realities. There are roadblocks when investing in real estate and this book covers most of them... and more importantly, how to get around them. The best part is that that the book focuses on real people, with their real strengths and weaknesses. I can honestly say I learned a ton from this book and I've been in the real estate business for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Daniel Barton and Greg Gillespie are proven CRIMINALS. (Chapter 50) Do NOT trust this author's recommendations., April 5 2014
This review is from: 51 Success Stories from Canadian Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
Chapter 50 is a success story in criminal activity!
Would have been a good book except the author endorses as a success story Dan Barton and Greg Gillespie (Chapter 50) - these guys are two crooks who stole money from a number of innocent people.
They were charged and sentenced in March 2014.
The book should be updated...but at this point I would not trust the author's recommendations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, Feb. 18 2008
By 
Lou (Edmonton, AB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 51 Success Stories from Canadian Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
The book is a plug for REIN. The book provides minimal advice. It provides no concrete numbers, no 'system' detalis, no tangible or useful advice. You are left feeling that the only way to get the 'secret infomation' is to fork cash over to REIN. This is an organization Don campbell has created. In order to join you need to pay $200/month for a minimum of 6 months. Fishy!
Also, it is advertized that 100% of the proceeds of the book go to habitat for humanity. I understand why, I beleive that the real money for the author lies in you and thousands of others joining REIN. At least its recurring revenue, right REIN?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If You Want Tips Buy A How-to-book!, March 5 2008
By 
Glenn Simon Inc "Writer of Edmonton Real Esta... (Edmonton, Alberta / Tochigi, Japan) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 51 Success Stories from Canadian Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
This book is to show that investing is hard and that without a working system people hit road blocks. These types of road blocks are what make novice investors quit and say "Yeah I knew investing was dangerous!" thereby jeopardizing their financial futures.

What is dangerous is not having a system or a support group of mentors to help you through the rough patches. It doesn't matter if you join REIN or not just make sure you have a good support circle and a system that works.

There are two other books that Don R. Campbell put out, if you go through the titles you will notice one outlines the system that the author uses to invest successfully (a system which you can duplicate) and the other is investing tips (a lot of those tips you can apply to save/increase money).

THIS book is about success stories.

I'm not just saying this because I am in the book!

Danielle Millar, Glenn Simon Inc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's motivational!, June 11 2008
By 
Jennifer (Grande Prairie, Alberta) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 51 Success Stories from Canadian Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
This book was motivational. I already have real estate investments and I have been looking for a way to bring it to the next level. I'm excited that there are like minded people out there that already have an established system.

Like others have said this book does not give you any advise; read the title it's not supposed to. I'm currently half way through Don Campbell's 'Real Estate Investing in Canada: Creating Wealth with the ACRE system' book and if you want a how-to this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

51 Success Stories from Canadian Real Estate Investors
51 Success Stories from Canadian Real Estate Investors by Don R. Campbell (Paperback - Dec 6 2007)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 16.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews