Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It covers everything. Works like magic.
If you've ever been amazed by a magic trick and had a "Oh, it was just that!" response when you saw how the trick was performed, you might have a similar feeling after reading this book. But in a good way.

For me, starting a business involved a lot of unknowns, a lot of "black magic" (laws, accounting, budgets, hiring people, finding suppliers...). This book...
Published on July 31 2008 by Richard Poulin

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too basic
"You will need a table on which you can write down your work"
Seriously, did I need this book to point it out for me?

This book offers very little information or pointers as to where to find further explanations on the subjects provided.
I recommend "Se lancer en entreprise", if you are French, from Editions de l'Homme (or is it...
Published 19 months ago by André T.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It covers everything. Works like magic., July 31 2008
By 
Richard Poulin (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
If you've ever been amazed by a magic trick and had a "Oh, it was just that!" response when you saw how the trick was performed, you might have a similar feeling after reading this book. But in a good way.

For me, starting a business involved a lot of unknowns, a lot of "black magic" (laws, accounting, budgets, hiring people, finding suppliers...). This book brought me backstage. And I feel a lot safer now, since I know that it's just a lot of work (hurray!). This book has shown me how to wear the many hats I'll have as a small business owner. Out goes the magic, in comes the method, the discipline, the long hours...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book to read for starting a business, Feb. 2 2012
By 
M. Marquis "Wine Geek" (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canadian Small Business Kit For Dummies (Paperback)
Very well structured, very well written, comprehensive and detailed information. I've read many books on the subject - this is THE book to read for starting a business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian Small Business Kit, Nov. 25 2011
This review is from: Canadian Small Business Kit For Dummies (Paperback)
This product is very effective, everything you need to know about starting a small is in here. It also includes a DVD with more info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too basic, April 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canadian Small Business Kit For Dummies (Paperback)
"You will need a table on which you can write down your work"
Seriously, did I need this book to point it out for me?

This book offers very little information or pointers as to where to find further explanations on the subjects provided.
I recommend "Se lancer en entreprise", if you are French, from Editions de l'Homme (or is it Trois-Carré? I forgot).

A good book should have thorough information on market study, market segmentation, branding, estimating operating costs and core concepts like cashflow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Contents, Jan. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I haven't had a chance to read the whole book just yet but so far I'm finding that there are some very good tips in here for somebody (ME) who doesn't have a clue!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, June 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Canadian Small Business Kit For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a great 'getting started' book for anyone thinking about opening your own business. The fact that it is geared to Canadians makes it even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle version is really badly presented, July 19 2013
By 
Richard A (Newport, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I guess the kindle version was so cheap compared to the printed version that it was hard to pass up a bargain. Setting out is poor, no index and content was micky mouse.

too mixed up with yanky text. completely irrelevant. Unless you are a teenager, that has no business experience I would not waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canadian Small Business Kit For Dummies
Used & New from: CDN$ 10.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews