Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed With Knowledge!
In The Art of Deception, Kevin D. Mitnick, a corporate security consultant who was once arrested for computer hacking, has written a fascinating book about how to control security lapses due to the "human element." With writer William L. Simon, he describes how con artists use social engineering to gain information by lying to pass themselves off as insiders. By being...
Published on June 22 2004 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good book but egotistical viewpoint
Book is very informative in regards to how to prevent company or personal resources from getting into the wrong hands. Also gives you an insight on how easy it is to get information. Author is very egotistical about himself and what he use to do. The use of the term Social Engineer is overused and gets to be a little much by the fourth chapter.
Published 18 days ago by CSG


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed With Knowledge!, June 22 2004
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security (Hardcover)
In The Art of Deception, Kevin D. Mitnick, a corporate security consultant who was once arrested for computer hacking, has written a fascinating book about how to control security lapses due to the "human element." With writer William L. Simon, he describes how con artists use social engineering to gain information by lying to pass themselves off as insiders. By being sensitive to human behavior and taking advantage of trust, they learn to bypass your security systems. The book teaches you how to ward off such threats and educate employees. Yet, problematically, this information could also help con artists be more sophisticated. In any case, this highly informative, engaging book includes sample conversations that open the door to information, along with tips about how various cons are used and what to do about them. We recommend this book to corporate officers, information managers, human resource getAbstract. directors and security personnel, but don't tell anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book but egotistical viewpoint, June 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book is very informative in regards to how to prevent company or personal resources from getting into the wrong hands. Also gives you an insight on how easy it is to get information. Author is very egotistical about himself and what he use to do. The use of the term Social Engineer is overused and gets to be a little much by the fourth chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for anyone intrrested ins ecurity or people, Sept. 16 2004
This is a great book, ti is filled with great stories, preventitive mesures, and more. This is a very easy read, and will be well worth the price fro anyone intrested in security, computer security, corprit security, or how people think, and how socity is flawed. If you are not in a buisness, or a company where this is usefull, then you might get boared with the ammount of talk on hwo to implement security into a company, but even still, it is a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good eye-opener for business people, June 7 2004
By 
"steader" (Ridgefield, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security (Hardcover)
I'm a business person turned technical and have mixed opinions about this book. I would recommend it to people who have no awareness of how social engineering can compromise computer security above any physical security countermeasures.
It is repetitive in its warnings and examples, but one's reaction to that repetitiveness (boredom, apathy) only serves to illustrate how one can easily become a target of deception. One must analyze all social interactions within any high-security context to decrease security risk. This book emphasizes that a situation can actually be high-security without the average business person knowing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This book is must for System Administrators and IT Managers., April 19 2004
By 
A. Chopra - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security (Hardcover)
The Art Of Deception is a fairly good book especially if you are holding key position in Information Technology. This book will provide you examples of social engineering that can lead information theft. This book provides the information on all the aspects that needs to be taken care of, if you plan or implement network security. However, people looking for technical details will be disappointed, as it does not provide any technical information or way to protect or safeguard corporate information.
I like this book because it takes your attention to places that are ignored by many people. Remember, installing and configuring Firewalls, IP Sec, and Encryption is useless if you leave your server room accessible. That's exactly what this book tells. Having $ 100,000 technology is not enough to protect your information if you are careless about the information that a social engineer can use to break that technology.
This book is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Tao of Deception, April 18 2004
By 
Richard Peterson (Summerville, SC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security (Hardcover)
Other reviewers write that this book is repetetive, and I agree - I believe that Mitnick is trying to convey a mindset. Each scenario in the book, taken alone, is insignificant. You can skip through the book, reading here and there, without losing much. Don't expect to learn much in this book about technicals of network security. But then again, all the computer and telecommunications savvy in the world does not make a hacker.
The right technical skills and knowledge, plus the mindset presented in this book equals hacking. If you are on the security side of things, reading this book (or a few chapters of it, at least) will help you get into the mindset of a hacker, and thus better detect weaknesses in your organization or system.
By the way, I thought the book was an entertaining read. Others say it was boring. I think they expected the wrong thing out of the book. For those of you that have read Harvey Mackay - this book is a lot like "Swim with the Sharks Without Being Eaten Alive" - he tells parables to get the message across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into social engineering, April 12 2004
This review is from: The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security (Hardcover)
I'm responsible for securing our company's network, which includes writing security policies and guidelines for users to follow. Like many people in the industry, much of my security training has been focused almost exclusively on the technologies used to attach and defend networks. But more and more, I think we are all beginning to realize there is a very important human element involved as well. Mitnick does a great job in this book of giving the security professional insight into the social engineering techniques used to take advantage of either weakness or ignorance in a particular target. I've found this book as useful as any in my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yawn. Lots of repitition., March 13 2004
By 
This review is from: The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security (Hardcover)
I am a Kevin Mitnick fan. However, I had to book this book down halfway though. I felt that it kept repeating itself. This would be a good book for non technical management to understand the kind of things that happen. If your an IT professional or a security professional you will be bored out of your mind reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Art of deception.... by boring your reader, March 10 2004
By 
This review is from: The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security (Hardcover)
Since my first book on hackers (Cuckoo's Egg: Tracking a Spy Through the Maze of Computer Espionage by Clifford Stoll) and reading about Mitnick in the early 90s, I was expecting a fantastic book outlining how he managed to do so much while on the run.
Unortunately, the writing style is quite repetitive and boring. Don't get me wrong - the substance is there, and there is plenty to be learned from Mitnick's 'fictional stories' that illustrate the concept of social engineering. However, as I said, the style leaves a lot to be desired, and after reading the firsy half of the book, I struggled motivating myself to grab the book and finish reading it.
I recommend it only if you do not understand how social engineering works and don't mind putting up with a professional social engineering with amateur writing skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the Social Engineer., Feb. 20 2004
This review is from: The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security (Hardcover)
This book is both educational, and entertaining. Mitnick is the authority on the subject. And even though the techniques in this book used in the scenarios might seem dated, they still still get the point across, that the 'Human Element', is one of the greatest security holes. In this day and age network administrators feel that they have an edge against hackers with firewalls, and proxies, and what not...but when somebody wants to really get in, and they have the skill of somebody like Mitnick, then trouble is at hand. Though when reading the book, most people will probably get the feeling that Kevin Mitnick is just skimming the surface, or giving us the shortened version of each scenario. Even so this is great reading, and a great addition to anybody interested in corporate security, 'dumster diving' type of techniques, or hacker/anti-hacker techniques. Definite must reading for anybody that would train employees about security, and privacy/sensitvity of material and documents. Truly the art of being sneaky is a gift to Mitnick, alongside his hacking skills. One of the greatest lessons learned in this book is the fact that most people are just not paranoid enough, information that you think isn't sensitive, or important, could just be the key to any hacker's plan. If you want to get into Company X, then don't through the front door, go through the sewer lines....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security
The Art of Deception: Controlling the Human Element of Security by William L. Simon (Hardcover - Oct. 11 2002)
CDN$ 47.99 CDN$ 30.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews