Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Pro Tools
This book was a good read. Its not the smoothest read if its your first book on investing, but its worth slugging it through. The book covers strategy and the mental/emotional aspect of trading. This book covers a lot of bases. You get a short economic and monetary lesson, which is key to know if your trading in season. Read this book with a pen and underline all the...
Published 2 months ago by james

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special
I'm sure people will not find this review "helpful" , which is typical of the masses. They hear what they want to hear, then blank out everything else because it is threatening information. Shrug.
I am well aware of all the solid reviews on this book, so I keep thinking I've missed something in my reading. I gave the book 2 stars for content, 3 because it was...
Published on April 15 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Pro Tools, May 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
This book was a good read. Its not the smoothest read if its your first book on investing, but its worth slugging it through. The book covers strategy and the mental/emotional aspect of trading. This book covers a lot of bases. You get a short economic and monetary lesson, which is key to know if your trading in season. Read this book with a pen and underline all the insightful ideas. My copy is full of notes and underlines. Not a get rich quick book, its a get better at trading book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the top five trading books of all times., June 11 2002
By 
nycbookreader (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
This sums it all up. Vic presents a thoughtful methodology for capital preservation. Violate his rules at your own risk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, April 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
I'm sure people will not find this review "helpful" , which is typical of the masses. They hear what they want to hear, then blank out everything else because it is threatening information. Shrug.
I am well aware of all the solid reviews on this book, so I keep thinking I've missed something in my reading. I gave the book 2 stars for content, 3 because it was [cost effective]. It is definitely well written by someone who has quite a track record in trading. The one chapter on Dow Theory, 2B, trendlines and trend reversals was the only one worth mentioning. The rest of the book is lengthy filler material. Some good, some bad, mostly "average".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay...., July 16 2002
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
...gives you a "street" perspective on trading. There's some useful information in this book, but also a lot of useless information such as Sperandeo's economic theories (which are just plain nuts). If you plan on trading it's a good book to read just for the value of seeing how Sperandeo approaches it.
I've read most books on trading and this one is neither exceptional nor terrible. Take from it what you will and apply it to your own knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very practical about trading, Sept. 3 2001
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
Some years ago an experienced trader introduced
me to this book. I read it and I learned many
things from it. The main topics in this book
include: Preservation of capital, consistent
profitability, technical analysis and trading
rules, etc. Trader Vic also talked about
macroeconomics and how it affects the stock
market.
One doesn't have to agree on everything trader
Vic said in his book. And I personally believe
that the writing style could be better. The
outstanding points in this book are Mr.
Sperandeo's great insights about trading and
his very practical real-world trading strategies.
This is a book every trader should read.
Rating: 4  Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Consistency is the key, Nov. 26 2003
By 
david campbell (Kellevie, Tasmania Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
Victor Sperandeo says that if there were a Hall of Fame for trading he wouldn't be in it but he sees himself as a career pro who consistently performs at an elite level year after year. In fact consistent performance is his central theme, which he says requires not only a successful approach to trading but to life itself. He delves into this in the second part of the book that is dedicated to the psychological approach. Sperandeo says that he trained a group of traders but only a few were successful, and in searching for why he discovered the most important cause was false pride associated with the 'idealised self'. I found this interesting in that paying a ton of money to be taught by any of the world's so called greatest traders isn't any guarantee of success!
His reasons for writing the book it seems is frustration with the image the world has of traders in which the unsung career pro goes unnoticed. Whatever his reasons are it is a privilege to gain an insight into the mind and methodology of a New Market Wizard.
His methods are a mixture of fundamental and technical analysis. He uses economics as a forecasting tool and says that cycle analysis actually just gets in the way. If you can understand the fundamentals of economics you can interpret government intervention in the market and profit from it.University taught economics is useless for this. All booms and busts are a result of credit expansion in an effort to lower interest rates, whereas Keynesian economics attempts to use interventionalist policy to smooth out the peaks and troughs but in fact is the predominant cause. Surplus production, savings and innovation create wealth as much for the individual as the economy on the whole. Wealth is actually consumed by government created prosperity via deficit spending. You can't get something for nothing. By understanding these cycles, you can speculate profitably.
Technical tools can then be used for timing entry. He demonstrates how trendlines can be drawn objectively to determine a change in trend using his 123 and 2B rules. A unique approach in this book is an approach to measuring risk by calculating market life expectancy profiles which he says has been instrumental to his success along with his business philosophy of protecting capital, consistent profitability and the pursuit of superior gains.
This book is as much a confession of the soul as a guide on trading methods, which I've found most of the best trading books are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, Feb. 27 2003
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
Over the last two years I have read over 20 books focusing upon trading. This ranks only second to lefevre's Reminiscences of a stock Operator.
In this book Vic details the critical factors / techniques necessary for successful trading. He focuses upon key areas which I believe summarise the key tenets underlying successful trading. It was almost as if this book was tailor made for me given the emphasis upon psychology and the necessary mindset to win. His comments so often ring true. He clarified a number of issues in my own mind and extended my thinking in critical areas.
Not to be missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Relevant, Practical Ideas -- a Must Read, Nov. 2 2002
By 
Gregg Killpack (Salt Lake City, UT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
I am an equities trader and I have read over 20,000 pages about investing in the stock market, fundamental and technical analysis, and many related topics. The ideas presented in Trader Vic's book are extremely practical and relevant and I've not seen many of the ideas expressed in it anywhere else. His ideas about weighing the odds of the future course of the markets based on historical, statistical measurements of time and how far the markets have moved are truly useful. The background he gives about economics made sense and are useful as well. I'd rate it in the top 5 books I've ever read about the markets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, July 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
I like this book because Trader Vic really lets you into his head. He gives you a bird's eye view of the trading world, some of his strategies, trials and tribulations, and market commentary based on his years of experience. This guy is of the same caliber as the guys, for instance, on TradingMarkets.com. Trader Vic really knows his stuff; this is a must-have book in any trader's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Half Is Very Good, Feb. 23 2002
By 
Randy Given (Manchester, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master (Paperback)
I was torn between 4 or 5 stars. Half the material rated 5 stars, but the other half was 4 stars or even 3 stars. The first 30% was part of what I was expecting -- psychology of the market and predictions. The last 20% was the other part of what I was expecting -- psychology of the trader. The rest is filler, but good filler, mostly geared towards beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master
Trader Vic--Methods of a Wall Street Master by Victor Sperandeo (Paperback - Aug. 26 1993)
CDN$ 41.99 CDN$ 26.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews