Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the Next Step up in Culinary Excellence, Jan. 4 2008
By 
Rocky Mountain Entrepreneur "Rocky Mountain E... (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
This book is the same used by our professional cooking students at a local college and my staff (we serve up to several thousand meals a day) so I bought a copy for myself, as I am not a baker by trade. I found it very enlightening and filled in many of the gaps that I lack in the baking field. Since I normally work in cups and spoons, using the weights was different for me (buy a scale if you plan to use this book). I would have liked to see a little more info on blown and manipulated sugar (but then I suppose that is what the next book is for) and a few more recipes for phyllo pastry usage, pies, and petit fours. The author is clearly a high level professional and his instructions are clear. He explains much of the science behind the way the food is produced, which aids greatly in production. I don't recommend this book for the casual home baker as many of the quantities are huge and have to be paired down as well as some recipes talk about using equipment that you would find in a commercial kitchen (i.e. steam injectors for ovens when cooking bagettes). However, having prepared several recipes from this book I am very satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new pastry bible!, March 20 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
Chef Bo Friberg really out did himself with this latest edition, I highly recommend it. This new book is the updated version of a one-stop shop approach to baking and pastry. As a non-professional "home" cook, I really appreciate his step by step instruction. He caters to more than just professionals in his writing style and instructional approach. I found that with each recipe there was useful discussion, history and composition, and a good outline on how to begin each culinary project. It is VERY well written and fun to read, and loaded with good hints on baking in general not just specific to pastries. I have not yet found a recipe that I am disappointed with. The photographs are great and inspire me to recreate some pretty terrific and beautiful culinary feats. Of all the cookbooks I own this is by far the most tastefully and artistically done--and my new favorite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked book, Feb. 13 2003
By 
"flossy316" (Huntsville, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
One of the most complete books on baking and pastry that I have read. Each recipe and technique is detailed to help even the most amateur. I found alot of unanswered questions on various techniques. From breads through mise en place. A must have for any one in the pastry field. I am eagerly awaiting the next edition of advanced techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Continuing Reference in the Kitchen, Feb. 2 2004
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
If you're looking for clarity and completeness, you've found your book. I've always felt that a "professional" approach can only help to raise our standards even if we don't make a living in the kitchen. Friberg delivers. The book is very well written, the recipes and technique advice well organized and conceived.
Despite the title, most of the 650 recipes Friberg uses to illustrate his technique sections are of household, rather than industrial, proportions. You dog lovers will appreciate the "Special Reward Dog Biscuit" recipe with which Friberg begins the book as a tribute to his Akitas, who will not touch the store bought variety. Friberg's recipe for Sachertorte, among dozens of other delectables, has long resided in my culinary kennel. You'll find all the basics, of course, but if you want to go further, you won't need another book.
Food writer Elliot Essman's other reviews and food articles are available at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All you could want to know, and understand too!, May 23 2004
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
Excellent item. Well arranged, clear instructions. It is designed for the working professional, yet is easily adapted to the home baker. There is a heavy European accent, yet it is not just French or Austrian but includes all that one should know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No other book is needed!, Dec 31 2003
By 
John R Esberg (Saratoga Springs, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
This book is the end all of pastry work and baking for almost any project a person wishes to edure. The book has been written in layman's terms so you can start at the very most simple level on a very difficult dish and accomplish it the first time you make it. I have never seen any culinary book put the instructions together with such precision for both the advanced and beginner alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic advance baking book for professionals, July 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
I am a culinary student studying at the Art Institute in Los Angeles. This book I find a little difficult to follow, but very good and quite heavy to carry around. The Study Guide for Baking: Key Review Questions and Answers with Explanations is an excellent guide that helped me get through these baking courses. I am not a quick learner and not the best at baking. The Study Guide for Advance Baking was also a great help. These books guide you through the basics and explains it very well. I got an A in baking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic baking book, June 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
Everything you ever need to know about baking is in this book. The pictures are very detailed and it shows many variations on several of the popular desserts. It even tells you about presentation and that's very important when you are working in a fine restaurant. I also purchased the Study Guide for the National Servsafe Exam: Key Reviews Questions and Answers with Explanations on amazon and this book helped me understand how important sanitation is in every part of the kitchen, including outside the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Cook Book, April 9 2003
By 
Emily G. Lamar "just me" (NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
What a great book! I am a pastry chef and I use this book daily! I have found so many great ideas and learned so much from this book. Even for beginning bakers this book is easy to understand. I have used about 15 recipes from this book and I have about every other recipe marked to use one day.
If you are looking for a book for making some serious dessert then this is a great book. I highly recomend it! It also has information on most of the desserts which I really like. It has where they come from, tips to help you with the dessert, and tells you about each ingrediant that you use and how it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, Jan. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
I am really really love this book. This book is the best bible for the baking lover. The instruction very thoroughly details, very informative for beginner baker and I can not wait to buy his next book. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry
CDN$ 89.95 CDN$ 56.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews