Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Effective Started Book...
I got exact questions asked from this book in an interview !!Could not believe myself but aced them nonetheless. Looks like interviewers pick questions from this book as well. It is a good warm up practice book to make you more confident and cover basics. It has some good problems which you should practice. You will be asked similar coding questions to be solved on the...
Published on June 19 2004 by Manish C. Tayal

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars of questionable value
This may be valuable for new grads getting their first job, or people who want to do sanity a check before looking for a new position.
In the bulk of this book, the author covers what he feels are common programming related interview questions. Almost all of the examples are in C, except for a few oddballs (one is done in Perl, which doesn't exactly lend itself to...
Published on May 10 2004 by J. Blattman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very Effective Started Book..., June 19 2004
By 
Manish C. Tayal "Tiger" (SANTA CLARA, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
I got exact questions asked from this book in an interview !!Could not believe myself but aced them nonetheless. Looks like interviewers pick questions from this book as well. It is a good warm up practice book to make you more confident and cover basics. It has some good problems which you should practice. You will be asked similar coding questions to be solved on the board in an interview...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!!, June 3 2004
By 
"vaibhavgoyal" (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
This is a really good book for people preparing for tech interviews. Its also a great read for developers already working as it gives a pretty good explanation of different coding concepts like data structures, etc...One of the good things about the book is that the authors try to give multiple solutions to a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars helpful for experienced programmer long out of school, May 17 2004
By 
jmart "jmart18" (Irvine, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
This book was helpful in preparation for programming interview for professional whose school days are far behind. Recent graduates could probably do well without it. But if it had been quite a few years since you were in a class the book serves as a good practical reminder of generic programming exercises that are rarely encountered in everyday work. One problem from the book was actually presented at the interview. Good investment if you want to refresh your skills and look for new opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars of questionable value, May 10 2004
By 
J. Blattman "Jeff" (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
This may be valuable for new grads getting their first job, or people who want to do sanity a check before looking for a new position.
In the bulk of this book, the author covers what he feels are common programming related interview questions. Almost all of the examples are in C, except for a few oddballs (one is done in Perl, which doesn't exactly lend itself to clarity). I don't understand why the author chose C. He states it is the "language of choice" for interviewers. Most universities are making their grads think OO these days. While they may have a few projects in C, the majority of their experience is going to be in C++ or Java, or C# in the near future. If a new grad is going to interview, and they state that they aren't that great with C but they know C++ or Java really well (which is probably true for most new-grads), I would be very, very surprised if this was an issue. What if it was an issue? As a new grad, would you want to work somewhere where your interviewers could only think in C?
Regardless, the common feature here is OO. The book misses the boat on this point. I have been working in the Java space for quite some time and the non-OO examples were hard for me to follow, and I found myself not wanting to follow them because they seemed inelegant. I would have preferred to see them in (OO) pseudo code.
The rest of this book covers interviewing tactics, a few logic puzzles, and a small section on resume writing. The sections on interviewing tactics and resume writing assumed a very low experience level and seemed more like they were written for high-school grads than for college grads let alone experienced software developers. The puzzle section was fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great review of a number of common topics, Sept. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
Ever try to study for Jeopardy? That's what it's like to prepare for a tech interview these days! I've found this book to be a great collection of common topics that interviewers tend to ask in one volume. The major of the book's examples are written in C - the interviewer's language of choice - and it tends to be platform independent with examples and coverage of topics. A must have for any programmer looking for a job or for a tech manager that's been tasked with staffing a programming team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, June 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
It covers major trade-offs in programming.
Very helpful in cracking 50% of the interview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars byte and bit your interview, April 19 2003
By 
Elijah D "dev1zero" (Bothell, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
Having gone through a number of technical interviews, this book definitely hits home. It includes questions I have encountered in interviews and actually came in handy when I interviewed for my current position.
That said, the most important thing a candidate needs to have is the ability to actually do the job. While studying this book will give you an edge in an interview, the candidate still has to ensure that he has the skills to get the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - it got me my job :), June 11 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
I read this book from cover to cover before going in for a job interview and it was EXTREMELY useful. It is especially good for someone who needs a refresher on certain topics that they have not encountered recently. Besides the sample questions, the book gets into the mind of the interviewer and what they are looking for. It is a must get !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good book for interviews and refreshers, Jan. 28 2002
By 
James O Burke jr (kent, wa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
These questions are the type that Microsoft will ask you in the interview (Interviewed there 5 times). If you can't get these questions right then forget about working for Microsoft. But I noticed that all organizations don't use this technique to determine the qualifications of a potential employee. I moved to washington, dc and companies here are more concerned about a canidates ability to do the job then to solve frivously puzzles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent advice.., Dec 23 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job (Paperback)
There are many types and levels of programming jobs. This book is useful advice for people aiming for system level or hardcore type jobs e.g. embedded systems, networks and operating systems etc. For example, this book would be highly useful for you if you go for a developer's job interview in Cisco systems, IBM, Microsoft, Sun or Lucent etc. This is not too useful for application programming stuff, as one of the reviewers mentioned about Sybase etc. I have been giving programming interviews for many years and believe me, I have come across a surprising number of questions right from this book. The other good books for these type of interviews are "Expert C Programming" by Van der Linden, "Programming Pearls" and " C interfaces and Implementations" by Hansen. The interviews in companies I have mentioned do indeed last full working days, or at least five to six hours, involving lunch. The interviewers include three to four people from the engineering team, one from Human Resources and one senior level person e.g. director or head of the group type person to finish it off. The engineering team asks you to write significant code involving commonly used data structures, linked lists and trees etc. and also code that would require certain tricks of the trade that only veteran or seasoned programmers would know. So in my opinion, this is a timely arrival and gives lots of useful information to build the required confidence and thinking pattern to ace such interviews. The techniques described are all familiar and used frequently by most engineers and computer scientists in the field, but being able to answer promptly in an interview is a different ball game and I have suffered because of the lack of confidence in interviews. So, in my opinion, it deserves at least four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10526ee8)

This product

Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job
Programming Interviews Exposed: Secrets to Landing Your Next Job by Noah Suojanen (Paperback - May 15 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews