Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge amount of material, complete study reference
I just got my copy of the CISSP Prep Guide 2nd Edition this week and have several other CISSP books. This book is huge, and is the most comprehensive collection of study material of any of them. It's the most up-to-date, and is very accessibly written. Clearly the best value and most complete CISSP study text available.
Published on April 30 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview - Poor and Wrong details
The book presents a short and compact overview of the ten domains for the CISSP exam.
What really stroke me is Chapter 3 which talks about "Telecommunications and Network Security". It has quite some unprecise and at some points even wrong statements which confuse the reader unnecessarily. There is better material out there which covers these things much...
Published on July 17 2002 by Raffael Marty


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge amount of material, complete study reference, April 30 2004
By A Customer
I just got my copy of the CISSP Prep Guide 2nd Edition this week and have several other CISSP books. This book is huge, and is the most comprehensive collection of study material of any of them. It's the most up-to-date, and is very accessibly written. Clearly the best value and most complete CISSP study text available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Prep Guide for Passing the Test, June 22 2004
By 
This review is from: The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security (Hardcover)
I liked this prep guide because it's not one of those huge books that's impossible to fit in your carry-on or laptop bag if you're traveling. It has enough information to pass the test, which is good enough for me because that's all I needed to pass the test this month. But, if you're one of those people who has a need to get every single question right, this is not the book for you. The book doesn't cover every single thing you need to know for the exam, just enough to pass it. The only draw back to this book is that it doesn't come with a CD with a comprehensive set of sample test questions. I had to go to one of those huge books that I bought a couple of years ago for that, but I didn't read the huge book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars False Assertion, Aug. 14 2003
By 
John C. Howard (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security (Hardcover)
This book purports to be the only one you'll need for CISSP, and that's just plain wrong. I read it completely, yet saw questions on the test from material that was simply not covered in this book. It's not badly written, just not adequate. My suggestion is to try the All-In-One Guide, or SOME OTHER BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not the latest so it's not the greatest, June 6 2003
By 
JR Black (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security (Hardcover)
This is a great book if you need to jump in a time machine and take the CISSP exam two years ago. If you need to study current material buy the Gold Edition instead because it's more current. The Q&A edition is very valuable as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not a one stop read, Feb. 12 2003
By 
Mike "Mike" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security (Hardcover)
This book will not prepare you fully for the CISSP exam in and of itself as claimed. If you are looking for a single source to pass the CISSP exam, study the CISSP Examination Textbooks, vol. 1 & 2, 2nd edition from SRV Professional Publications. The first volume covers the material, while the second contains 1500 sample questions.
People criticize the CISSP Examination Textbooks as unwieldy and at times confusing, and they are, but all the important material is covered, and the sample exam questions are helpful in preparing for the test. So even though they read a bit like a VCR manual, they are very helpful. Knowing the information they cover should allow you to pass the test when combined with your three years of experience.
If you can read a second book, and I recommend that you do, read The Information Security Management Handbook, vol. 1, 4th edition compiled by Harold Tipton (often called "The Tipton Book"). It is a bit dated in its material, but puts you in the right mindset to think the way the test does.
All in all this book is a good introduction, and covers good information, but it doesn't dig deep enough into each of the domains to fulfill its goal as a one stop CISSP exam guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best technical resource, Jan. 30 2003
By 
"zciworalag" (Centennial, Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security (Hardcover)
According to the three CISSPs I've asked, this book is the key to the kingdom. Written for technical folks by technical folks, it clearly describes the 10 domains. I made this book the center of my study platform.
If you are a sociology major, try another title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Read Complete Review, Oct. 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security (Hardcover)
This book is a great review book. It's easy-to-read. Hits the important points. If you've been working in the industry for a while, this book will do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the Sahara and pass the exam!, Sept. 25 2002
By 
This review is from: The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security (Hardcover)
This book has been said to be as dry as the Sahara, well it is perhaps drier but it has the information you need to master the exam. Use the book and a good CD or on line review source and you can master the material. I have rarely seen technical security and audit books that are not dry-the subject is dry. It's all about the answers! Buy the book it's worth it (bring water too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, Sept. 23 2002
This review is from: The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security (Hardcover)
If you are looking for your CISSP, this is one of the top two books you should own. It is a very coherent presentation of the ten domains. Very complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very concise and covers almost everything for the CISSP., Aug. 26 2002
By 
R. Sriram (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security (Hardcover)
This is overall a very decent book, but it's dry as the Sahara desert. However, it does present the material in a concise, informative way. Unfortunately, the sample questions are too easy, so don't let this fool you into thinking that the exam is a cake-walk.
There are quite a few errors in the book as others have pointed out, which indicates that there was inadequate proof reading or that the book was published in a hurry.
Update : Krutz has released the Advanced CISSP prep guide which is a large question bank. The questions in this later book are of a fairly high standard, something like what you would expect in the real exam. The advanced prep guide helped me immensely and I would recommend it to anyone studying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8c55300)

This product

The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security
The CISSP Prep Guide: Mastering the Ten Domains of Computer Security by Russell Dean Vines (Hardcover - Sept. 10 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 5.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews