Customer Reviews


270 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book...
This is a good book and i advise anyone who has is a sysadmin to read this. The chapters concerning communication protocols is very deep and it's is a lot better read then the OSI-book. This book is also nice since it shows you a lot of screenshots from hackingtools which are actually in use, this will stimulate one again to educate the users of a network not to run any...
Published on Sept. 21 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars You'll like the book if you think these quotes are correct
Many praise this book but may not recognize its shortcomings. Here is a sampling of specific excerpts of technically incorrect material. Any odd grammar is a result of directly quoting the book.
p. 28: "When a connection is established between two nodes during a TCP session, a three-way handshake is used. The process starts with a one-node TCP request by a...
Published on Aug. 14 2001 by Richard Bejtlich


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good book..., Sept. 21 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
This is a good book and i advise anyone who has is a sysadmin to read this. The chapters concerning communication protocols is very deep and it's is a lot better read then the OSI-book. This book is also nice since it shows you a lot of screenshots from hackingtools which are actually in use, this will stimulate one again to educate the users of a network not to run any emailed attachments. The list of public portnumbers and their programs is handy since some of the portnumbers are run by programs with a different name. The tutorials concerning C are a bit light if you are a serious programmer, if you are not a programmer then this is helpfull since it gives you some background one you scan the source code (which is plenty). The cd-rom is also nice because of the hacker toolkit. I've read some other 'hacker-handbooks' but this one is the best so far. My complaint with the other books is that they frequently referenced the internet. This book packs a lot of usefull and sometimes entertaining information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best single overview of the real-world security issues, Sept. 19 2001
By 
w. wajert (united states of america) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
Blessed with an extensive index, excellent organization, and a successful visual design throughout, this book is a solid guide for learning via a banquet of multiple scenarios. It will discipline users to develop first-class strategies toward the ultimate goals of basic and enhanced network security hacking.
In short, a lot of this book may be hurried, but tolerably accurate. The truth is, if you are attempting to explain some of these topics to an individual of limited formal exposure and pressing professional need, there is no rational way to approach the task. So, if Chirillo seems to babble on occasion, it's because he has to satisfy readers' curiosities. There's a lot to cover and there's simply not enough paper handy.
Furthermore if you can think of the problem, this book probably has the solution--at least when it comes to PC and network security problems. This 1000-page tome is absolutely phenomenal in scope. Though you may not find in-depth scholarly discussions of security woes, you will find pragmatic tips that can help you through an immediate crisis. And the configuration graphics, tables, and diagrams are both essential and useful additions to the text.
This is perhaps the best single overview of the real-world security issues that you'll find. And what makes the book particularly interesting is that Chirillo puts the various types computer cracking and hacking into the broader context of topics. In fact, it is hard to imagine how he was able to gather all of the incidents described and present them in a coherent manner that keeps you reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Preferance for this reference........, Sept. 19 2001
By 
A. D. Taylor "Jesus_Rocks!" (outerspace) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
I have recently purchased this book hoping to learn more about network security.......... i was not disappointed.
Before i purchased this book i bought the book 'Hacking exposed' but was disappointed to find that its content was aimed more at the intermediate to advanced security analyst. When i began reading 'Hack attacks...' i was pleased to notice that the book begins with an explanation of networks and network technologies written in such a clear and concise way that a total novice would have no problems understanding every step.
The book then continues to explain how these technnologies are used by hackers everyday and even provides all the tools necessary to experiance hands on the lessons that are to be learned from this book.
i would recommend this book to anyone who is atall interested in network security or is even curious as to how the internet works. I have shown this book to the administrator of my college network who was surprised at how much he didnt know.
I also recommend this book to budding hackers, for this book will take you on a journey from ignorant web surfer to powerful educated hacker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating and unique view of security topics, Sept. 19 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
Hack Attacks Revealed presents highly complex information in a relaxed, informal manner to allow for ease of understanding and application. Sample configurations and illustrations are integrated throughout the book with the intent to show what security can be managed, explain hacking specifics, and instruct on alternative methods. A comprehensive analysis of protocols, communication pathways, and all the technologies in-between, the book's primary focus always circles back to the understanding and deployment of these-a unique approach of this subject today. In-between almost every part there's interesting intermissions as views from a hacker's past, present, and future. The entertainment and humor kept me yearning for more-yes I'm guilty, I did flip through and read them all before the actual subject matter. The CD in the back of the book is literally packed with coding, scripts, links to almost every known Internet security resource, tools, exploits, and a very neat hacking toolbox named Tigersuite. The companion website is an equally excellent resource for news, support, and a new project-Tiger Town for testing your hacking abilities and security implementations for FREE. I have heard some comments from people saying that the book is much too complex for the average person. This is not the case at all, the sections are explained in a very straightforward manner and information that is presented earlier in the book is used later in the book to explain new concepts. I found that I was able to quite easily keep in mind the previous examples when new ones were introduced-the book is so well written and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get a fighting chance., Sept. 19 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
As a vocational educator (in a totally different field) and as a new system's administrator I would give Mr. Chirillo an "A" for educational style and content. Initially the book provides insight into various concepts of network technologies. This includes physical layers, networking layers, communication protocols, subnets, and computer ports needed to understand how the hacker functions. After reviewing the technologies of networking, the author progresses to methods used by hackers to uncover system vulnerabilities and methods of network disruption. Throughout the book are notes providing the author's insights and recommendations for further research. The book also contains a large appendix of reference materials including IP tables, ports and services, common virus, and codes. I really liked the way the author gradually imparts to the reader pertinent information by building on previous chapters. The system administrator with little or no hacking experience now has tools to discover and correct security problems. Mr. Chirillo gives the reader an understanding of the mindset as well as the how's and why's of hacking. This provides a powerful tool in securing the network from intrusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Posted at school for Hack Attacks Revealed & Denied, Sept. 19 2001
By 
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
"Security breaches can and do come from anywhere. Competitors, spies, rogue employees, bored teens and even hackers are invading computers everywhere to make trouble, steal information and even sabotage careers. And with the growth of the Internet and World Wide Web, such actions become even easier. Server crashes, email loss, data loss, virus invasions, and other problems often go unexplained and network downtime eats up precious resources of time and money. How can these breaches be prevented? By knowing what to look for. The best way to beat a cyber criminal is to think like them to know what types of attacks they make, and how you can guard against them. Major Fortune 1000 corporations hire security expert John Chirillo to break into their networks and explore their vulnerabilities. Now, in his new books, he shares his security secrets and shows everyone from corporate network managers to concerned PC owners how to stop hackers in their tracks. His first book, Hack Attacks Revealed uses the philosophy that the best defense is a good offense to describe in detail the techniques and tools used by network hackers to exploit security loopholes and explains how they work. In this technogothic journey, you'll go inside the world of the hacker, allowing you to understand the hacker, think like the hacker, and ultimately, become the hacker. Chirillo illustrates the all techniques used by hackers, crackers, phreaks, and cyberpunks including discovery and scanning tools for hacking into known and unknown ports and services. The most unique feature of Hack Attacks Revealed is the powerful Tiger Box system, used by hackers to penetrate vulnerable networks and teaches how to customize the Tiger Box to use the same tool to your advantage. You'll find Tiger Tools 2000 and the TigerSuite on the bonus CD, along with links to over 15,000 security resources, viral kits, password crackers, and stealth scanners.
If Hack Attacks Revealed is the diagnosis, then Hack Attacks Denied is the prescription. In this book, Chirillo gives the step-by-step guidance on how to keep the hacks out of your network by using the same powerful Tiger Box® tools that hackers use to detect and penetrate network vulnerabilities. He covers all the necessary security steps from system to daemon and helps you tie the information together to create a highly effective security policy. The book doesn't simply reveal secrets of hacking but allows the reader to recognize the patterns of hacking and always be one step ahead of the hacker. The bonus CD included with this book provides detailed examples of making gateways and firewalls fortified against security breaches. You won't find a better treatment of the dangers posed by hackers and how to secure your organizations systems from harmful attacks. Whether you are a systems administrator, network engineer, security manager, consultant, or even just a hacking enthusiast, you can't afford to be without the need-to-know information in these books."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS BOOK ROCKED!, Sept. 19 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
I've never written a book review before, but here goes. If you were to walk into my room, you'd find a ton of books related on computer programming, engineering, graphic arts, networking, security, and the like. Out of all of my books, I must say that this book is one of the best. Although much of what the book talked about, I was already knowledgeable about, the information found in this book can be very helpful. If you're a beginner or intermediate in network and internet security or "hacking", this book is a very good book to start learning from. Even if you are more advanced, this book still has important information and can be used as a great reference material. The CD that accompanies the book has useful tools on it as well. Not only that, but the CD also has a HUGE list of websites for specialized tools, software, and information that's worth its weight in gold. Also, many of you people will probably be as suprised as I was, that if you have any questions or comments, if you go to the book's website and email them, you get a reply in at least a couple of days, and the service I recieved when asking my question was excellent. Overall, if you've been looking for a book in this field and want a smart choice, whether you're a novice or already consider yourself a computer hacker/cracker/phreak/admin, this book is a great buy. I hope the author plans on writing more books, because I'm definately prepared to buy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive, good format., Sept. 16 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
I'm a comp sci major and as such I encounter a variety of people with various levels of computing experience daily. I deal with those people who agree that "the hardest class we will ever take in undergraduate school" (as the TA said about second semester programming with c++) is cake (ohh no, not multiple inheritance & polymorphism, anything but that!). But then there are those people who can't write a friend function, yet read Just Enough Unix & visited the happyhacker (happyhacker.org) website and now think they're Uberhackers....mostly cause they saw the movie (Hackers, not War Games). Anyway, after reading this book I recommended it to a group of people consisting of both types. The first several chapters put the Uberhackers to sleep (but at least they were able to skip ahead & download some great trojans from the websites listed in the repository on the CD), while the rest of us ate em up. Personally I learned more about the protocols that keep the internet running from the first 100 pages of this book than I did from several other sources including the text book of a "comprehensive" undergrad networking class. The downside is now I know enough not to look forward to wasting credit hours on that class (gotta take it though).
My favorite chapter was the chapter on C programming. Its a great primer written in a no-nonsense, yet not as dry as an RFC style. Personally I think the problem with most books today is the three pages of padding for every page of useful information (highly evident in books such as Mastering Red Hat Linux 6. The book made me switch to Debian). This book doesn't have that problem, yet it provides the effect that the padding and wouldbe humor try to via an ongoing biographical sketch of the author's early experiences in computers & hacking. The story is contained in special chapters throughout the book at intervals perfect for giving my mind a rest; yet they are easy to skip if you're one of those super genious types who can input an infinite amount of stuff wihtout a headache.
Truly the only downside of the book is the Tiger Tools toolkit. The scanners are really fast, but (in the windows version at least)individual software modules crash, won't close, won't stop scanning or start a new scan after completing a previous one without restarting the TT suite, etc. In short they are highly unstable and can be a real pain in the but...but they are fast. And to the author's credit, he is realeasing a new version of the suite soon, though I'm not sure if these issues have been addressed. BTW the rest of the CD is great as far as content is concerned. It'll keep you reading forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Getting my eyes opened, Sept. 9 2001
By 
Noel Leinster (Romford United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
I am a fairly new person to the IT world and as I am in charge of a small network in my office. Thats what happens when you say yeah I know about computers and help out with a few things round the office but to cut a long story short i am now in charge of the exchange server and am getting virus and some strange mail comeng through on a regular baseis. Yeah being spoofed and getting loads of the sircran virus comeing through one though right what is the score with this virus crack and was recommended to John chirillo Hack Attacks revealed well me being a little slow in the world of virus and such like I really got my eyes opened to just what virus and trojons and worms were all about. Don't get me wrong we got anti virus software in place but now we got up to date anti virus soft ware and regular down loads of the dat files. Plus a decent fire wall in place so no more getting spoofed well not as bad as we were and no more virus.
I was so impressed I have got the update to the 2.0 tigerbox and got hack attacks denied.
If you want to know whats going on get this book and get your eyes opened to some well nasty things that a simple attachment could do to your office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Security Management Online Reviews Hack Attacks, Sept. 7 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit (Paperback)
Consider the warnings at the beginning of this book: "This book is sold for information purposes only" and "without written consent from the target companies, most of the procedures contained in the book are illegal in the United States and many other countries." This opening seizes the reader's attention on a work that shares the hands-on experiences of author John Chirillo, a self-described "renowned superhacker."
As the threat to information systems grows and information technology evolves faster than information security technology, it is imperative for security professionals to understand the hacker community and the tools used to pry into, compromise, and damage information systems. Chirillo emphasizes such awareness in this book, which is written from the hacker perspective.
Hack Attacks Revealed is not only aimed at managers and policy makers, but it also targets specialists including network administrators and engineers. The book will give readers a better understanding of how their network vulnerabilities can be exploited. But Chirillo also supplies effective information security technologies and provides the steps for designing and implementing a security policy.
Accompanying this massive book is a CD-ROM that provides links to more than 15,000 security resources, a toolbox of security products, viral kits, password crackers, and stealth scanners. From these, the user can craft his or her own toolkit.
A good bibliography, a user-friendly glossary, and a well-organized index round out this excellent work. With its current and detailed information and a disk that enables hands-on experience, Hack Attacks Revealed would serve well as a reference or as a resource for teaching Internet security at the college and university level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hack Attacks Revealed: A Complete Reference with Custom Security Hacking Toolkit
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews