Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Advice for New Coaches
This is a practical, helpful guide for a new coach. Provides real proven process to follow. It is detailed for not too much. Top notch!
Published 20 months ago by thekayway

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Personal or Business Coaching- Not about Executives
If you are interested in possibly starting a coaching business but are not a professional executive coach, this book may be helpful for you. Most of the emphasis is on what you want verses what your clients may need from you. Although the title is about personal and "Executive Coaching", everything inside the book is about "Business Coaching" and is...
Published on March 18 2004 by Lewis R. Stern, Ph.D.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Personal or Business Coaching- Not about Executives, March 18 2004
By 
Lewis R. Stern, Ph.D. (Wellesley, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
If you are interested in possibly starting a coaching business but are not a professional executive coach, this book may be helpful for you. Most of the emphasis is on what you want verses what your clients may need from you. Although the title is about personal and "Executive Coaching", everything inside the book is about "Business Coaching" and is referred to as such. When it comes to executive coaching, you can't start such a practice just because it interests you and you have some basic skills dealing with people and know something about business. Executive coaching requires significant background in organizational management and leadership, organization development, psychology, and high-level skills in coaching and consulting at the executive level.
For more information about professional standards for executive coaching I recommend downloading the free Handbook of Executive Coaching at the website: [...]
You will also find all free information and tools for the executive coach, executive, and HR professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Advice for New Coaches, Aug. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
This is a practical, helpful guide for a new coach. Provides real proven process to follow. It is detailed for not too much. Top notch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, Dec 20 2005
By 
Caroline Williams (SparkTaC, Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
This book really covers all of the things that you need to address when you are starting a coaching practice. In particular, I like the section dealing with marketing strategies and networking. If you are unsure of how you can market yourself and about marketing techniques you should get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate How to in Starting to Coach, Feb. 29 2004
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
Fairley and Stout have gone through the nuts and bolts of starting a coaching business down to how to do and not do your business cards. They tell you what to buy on a small, medium or large start-up budgets.
They also tell you how to get clients and give many ideas and examples. You can very much see Chris Stout's MBA/business experience in this book.
There may come a time when someone writes a better "how to" manual, but when they do they will really have to step up and compare themselves to this book to see if their book rates consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate guidebook for those interested in coaching, Jan. 15 2004
By 
Harold McFarland (Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
So you want to start a new business enterprise as a personal or executive coach? Reading a copy of "Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching" is the place you will want to start. This is not just another book on the joys of coaching, but has real life information that you should know before making the commitment. The authors have provided some cold, hard facts about executive coaching including how long it typically takes to get started, how much the average person earns after one year in the business, typical problems getting clients and referrals and what to do about it. The book is a business analysis of the industry from beginning to end. It includes such important information as what you need to know to get started, what you need to know to succeed, how to market, how to segment your market, how to target that segment, financing your business, Internet marketing, using E-zines, and using web sites. Fairly and Stout even include seven secrets of highly successful coaches. This is a complete road map of what to realistically expect, how to get to your goal, and all the steps along the way. If you are interested in becoming a personal or executive coach it is a highly recommended book and the best I've come across to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Personal or business coach? This book will help, Jan. 13 2004
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
The authors have captured my attention in this book. They take you step by step to help you decide "your place" in the coaching field. From there they lead you through target markets, marketing and so forth. This is a must read for anyone intereseted in starting a coaching career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starting out coaching? This is a must read, Jan. 8 2004
By 
Melissa Fristrom (Watertown, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
This is one of the best primers on coaching. Anyone who is just starting out as a coach or thinking about becoming a coach should read this book. Stephen brings the much needed tactical world of business to coaching. Reading this book first will help you succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Insiders Guide on Creating a Successful Coaching Practice, Jan. 2 2004
By 
Ginger (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
I saw this book at the recent ICF conference in Denver but waited to buy it. I should have bought it then because I haven't been able to put it down since I recieved it! I am so impressed with the authors grasp of the field of coaching and their ability to clearly articulate how to create a successful coaching practice.
Unlike a lot of the other books I've bought, this one really distinguishes itself by basing its marketing recommendations on actual research. The authors conducted a national survey of 300 coaches to find out what financially successful coaches do that financially unsuccessful coaches don't do--the findings are AMAZING!
I've been coaching professionally for almost 3 years now. I really wish this book was around when I started because it would have kept me from making a lot of the costly mistakes I did. I also wish my coach training program had included this book in its curriculum because they were quite weak in the area of practice building.
However, that's not to say that the book is only for new coaches because I was able to immediately identify over 2 dozen marketing strategies I could start using in my practice. They are now part of my 2004 business plan (which is one of the things this book showed me how to create).
The other thing I found to be really helpful were the interviews with the top coaches in the field: Sandy Vilas of CoachU, Mike Jay of B/Coach, Pat Williams of Institute of Life Coach Training, Wendy Johnson of the Worldwide Assoc of Business Coaches, and many others.
I give this book my highest recommendation! If you're struggling with how to create a successful coaching practice there is simply no better book available anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching, Dec 18 2003
By 
Mary Sue Reining (Lisle, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
This is an excellent comprehensive resource that covers the A-Z's of establishing a coaching practice/business. The information is straight forward, instructional and thorough. A much awaited "how to" book and a must read for coaches at all levels and stages of their practice development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must-read' book, Dec 16 2003
By 
Paul Lam, PhD (Life Coach International) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice (Paperback)
This is an excellent book packed with hundreds of proven strategies and practical technques how to build a thriving coaching practice. Stephen and Chris take all the vital elements of getting started in personal and executive coaching and bring them together into one valuable resource. This book is essential for not only new coaches but also for all coaches who want to build successful coaching practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb046ea80)

This product

Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching: How to Create a Thriving Coaching Practice
CDN$ 52.99 CDN$ 42.39
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews