Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(5 star).Show all reviews
on August 1, 2012
This is a practical, helpful guide for a new coach. Provides real proven process to follow. It is detailed for not too much. Top notch!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2005
This book really covers all of the things that you need to address when you are starting a coaching practice. In particular, I like the section dealing with marketing strategies and networking. If you are unsure of how you can market yourself and about marketing techniques you should get this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2004
Fairley and Stout have gone through the nuts and bolts of starting a coaching business down to how to do and not do your business cards. They tell you what to buy on a small, medium or large start-up budgets.
They also tell you how to get clients and give many ideas and examples. You can very much see Chris Stout's MBA/business experience in this book.
There may come a time when someone writes a better "how to" manual, but when they do they will really have to step up and compare themselves to this book to see if their book rates consideration.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 14, 2004
So you want to start a new business enterprise as a personal or executive coach? Reading a copy of "Getting Started in Personal and Executive Coaching" is the place you will want to start. This is not just another book on the joys of coaching, but has real life information that you should know before making the commitment. The authors have provided some cold, hard facts about executive coaching including how long it typically takes to get started, how much the average person earns after one year in the business, typical problems getting clients and referrals and what to do about it. The book is a business analysis of the industry from beginning to end. It includes such important information as what you need to know to get started, what you need to know to succeed, how to market, how to segment your market, how to target that segment, financing your business, Internet marketing, using E-zines, and using web sites. Fairly and Stout even include seven secrets of highly successful coaches. This is a complete road map of what to realistically expect, how to get to your goal, and all the steps along the way. If you are interested in becoming a personal or executive coach it is a highly recommended book and the best I've come across to date.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2004
The authors have captured my attention in this book. They take you step by step to help you decide "your place" in the coaching field. From there they lead you through target markets, marketing and so forth. This is a must read for anyone intereseted in starting a coaching career.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2004
This is one of the best primers on coaching. Anyone who is just starting out as a coach or thinking about becoming a coach should read this book. Stephen brings the much needed tactical world of business to coaching. Reading this book first will help you succeed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2004
I saw this book at the recent ICF conference in Denver but waited to buy it. I should have bought it then because I haven't been able to put it down since I recieved it! I am so impressed with the authors grasp of the field of coaching and their ability to clearly articulate how to create a successful coaching practice.
Unlike a lot of the other books I've bought, this one really distinguishes itself by basing its marketing recommendations on actual research. The authors conducted a national survey of 300 coaches to find out what financially successful coaches do that financially unsuccessful coaches don't do--the findings are AMAZING!
I've been coaching professionally for almost 3 years now. I really wish this book was around when I started because it would have kept me from making a lot of the costly mistakes I did. I also wish my coach training program had included this book in its curriculum because they were quite weak in the area of practice building.
However, that's not to say that the book is only for new coaches because I was able to immediately identify over 2 dozen marketing strategies I could start using in my practice. They are now part of my 2004 business plan (which is one of the things this book showed me how to create).
The other thing I found to be really helpful were the interviews with the top coaches in the field: Sandy Vilas of CoachU, Mike Jay of B/Coach, Pat Williams of Institute of Life Coach Training, Wendy Johnson of the Worldwide Assoc of Business Coaches, and many others.
I give this book my highest recommendation! If you're struggling with how to create a successful coaching practice there is simply no better book available anywhere.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2003
This is an excellent comprehensive resource that covers the A-Z's of establishing a coaching practice/business. The information is straight forward, instructional and thorough. A much awaited "how to" book and a must read for coaches at all levels and stages of their practice development.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2003
This is an excellent book packed with hundreds of proven strategies and practical technques how to build a thriving coaching practice. Stephen and Chris take all the vital elements of getting started in personal and executive coaching and bring them together into one valuable resource. This book is essential for not only new coaches but also for all coaches who want to build successful coaching practice.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2003
Stephen Fairley and Chris Stout collaborated to create the coach's "must have" guide to getting started. Even for established coaches it's more than simply a refresher - it provides a benchmark to go "from good to great" for a coaching business. There's no doubt that coaching is serious business: Stephen and Chris show coaches how to treat their business with respect. Their approach isn't based on theory: they surveyed 300 successful coaches, then distilled the results into an easy to read (and follow) book. As one of the coaches interviewed by Stephen, I waited in anticipation to read their book. One word suffices to describe it - Outstanding!
Wondering about the different types of coaching, including the challenges each client group faces and how to market to them? This information is here. Strategies, tips, powerful questions, checklists, tools: there're all here just waiting for you to implement. In a step-by-step fashion they discuss how to sidestep the pitfalls and mistakes that most beginners face. They also outline the best practices for building a successful practice including establishing a target niche, fee setting, set-up costs, revenue forecasting, and marketing. The last chapter, "Seven Secrets of Highly Successful Coaches" provides the insider's peek at the strategies used in the most successful coaching practices. I found lots of new ideas that I'm going to implement in my own business. Coaches who are serious about the success of their coaching practice will read this book more than once and keep it as a ready reference. As Stephen says in closing, "Here's to your never ending success.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse