Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a textbook, to be sure ...
This is an excellent book if you want a very thorough explanatory treatment of the subject of 3D computer graphics and animation ... very in-depth, very appropriate for use as a college textbook ... so that by the time you are finished with it (many months from now) you'll really understand how things "fit." Take your time and read slowly and carefully. The...
Published on June 26 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed...
Normally, I wouldn't comment on books that I have purchased, but this book fell way short of my expections. If you a beginner to the 3d arena then this book will give you a lot of general information regarding how the 3d world evolved and is still growing. For intermediate and advance users SAVE YOUR MONEY.
The first few charpters are devoted to the history of...
Published on Sept. 5 2003 by Harold Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars It's a textbook, to be sure ..., June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
This is an excellent book if you want a very thorough explanatory treatment of the subject of 3D computer graphics and animation ... very in-depth, very appropriate for use as a college textbook ... so that by the time you are finished with it (many months from now) you'll really understand how things "fit." Take your time and read slowly and carefully. The book's editorial design is conducive to that.
I find that "getting the big picture" in any technical subject is the most difficult task. Existing practitioners usually know it so well they can't explain it. This author can. As you can see on his bio ([...] he's got the credits. I selected the book primarily for this purpose, and certainly got what I was expecting.
The book assembly style gets a little TEDIOUS with loads of BOLD-FACE type on many pages (every KEY PHRASE is BOLD, which kinda gets in the way) but that's an editorial quibble.
I hope that the next edition will include Ambient Occlusion, and also a greater mention of the existence of (free!) open-source products like Blender, ([...]) which do implement even the advanced concepts discussed in the book and are quite readily available to the general public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, June 18 2004
By 
Renato Bonfanti (barueri, Sao Paulo Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
Just in Now!! I Receive my book order of amazon and is great. Full of tips, sketches, a lot of images from art movies in good print. Easy to read and enjoy to see. A Valuable acquisition for CG Making.Thanks for amazon to delivery. And specially gratefull for Isaac Viktor Kerlow , your quality work had surprised me. I lament the pages disposed in site not show the colorfull of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference for 3D artists and animators..., Feb. 23 2004
By 
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
I've read a number of books about 3d aniamtion and design and this is the best one I have found so far. Goes over all the terminology and technology from the beginnings for 3d to present day. A great reference book for anyone in the field. Make sure you buy the recent edition though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 12 2004
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
it is a great book though you might need some knowledge of computers first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Jan. 12 2004
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
THis is a great book but you first need to know about computer animation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
I believe that this book is a great book. The only problem is that you have to know a little bit about computers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
I believe that this book is a great book. The only problem is that you have to know a little bit about computers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excelent CG Bible., Sept. 27 2003
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
I think that this book gives an excellent and in depth review of the CG Animation World. Yes, two chapters are about the history of CG: they will tell you where you come from and make you understand better where you are now.
I don't know who this hwilliamsx comes from, and what he is doing in VA, I'm an Animation Supervisor working at Imageworks for the past seven years and I am a Faculty Member at Calarts for three, my personal opinion is that this book is a must have.
Third Edition speak by itself. Good work Isaac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent CG Bible ..., Sept. 27 2003
By 
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
I think that this book gives an excellent and in depth review of the CG Animation World. Yes, two chapters are about the history of CG: they will tell you where you come from and make you understand better where you are now.
I don't know who this hwilliamsx comes from, and what he is doing in VA, I'm an Animation Supervisor working at Imageworks for the past seven years and I am a Faculty Member at Calarts for three, my personal opinion is that this book is a must have.
Third Edition speak by itself. Good work Isaac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended!, Sept. 10 2003
By 
This review is from: The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects (Paperback)
I have had the privilege of watching Issac speak and teach on his subject and I highly recommend this classic book. It is a soup to nuts, up-to-the-minute overview of 3D and Effects by one of the industry's most knowledgeable pros. He has updated the chapter on digital production with multiple production pipelines and has some really excellent advice about preparing demo reels. Issac is a fine teacher as well as a compelling writer. Highly recommended.
Ed Hooks
Acting for Animators
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb21c4270)

This product

The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects
The Art of 3D: Computer Animation and Effects by Isaac V. Kerlow (Paperback - July 29 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews