Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my "bible" of investing
I have a library of nearly 100 books about the markets. Reminiscences was the third book I ever read and it remains my "bible" more than a decade later. You might wonder how an 80-year old book about the stock market could still be relevant. Well, that is because financial markets are determined by human nature as much as anything else, and human nature acts...
Published on Nov. 27 2001 by Tony Ursillo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I know it's a classic
I know this is a classic but to be honest I found it a boring read with more story line than substance. It's okay.
Published 3 months ago by Brian McPherson


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my "bible" of investing, Nov. 27 2001
By 
Tony Ursillo (Norwood, MA USA) - See all my reviews
I have a library of nearly 100 books about the markets. Reminiscences was the third book I ever read and it remains my "bible" more than a decade later. You might wonder how an 80-year old book about the stock market could still be relevant. Well, that is because financial markets are determined by human nature as much as anything else, and human nature acts today as it did a century ago. Greed, fear, herd thinking, impatience - those are the same influences that drive markets today and haunt traders and investors who are striving to make the right decisions. Many of the lessons that dictate my investment philosophy ("Cut your losses, let your winners run", "if you don't like the odds, don't bet") were taught to me by the protagonist, who is the fictional characterization of the legendary Jesse Livermore. That he tells his stories with such color and suspense makes the book completely entertaining beyond its invaluable trading lessons. BUY THIS BOOK FOR YOURSELF. BUY ANOTHER ONE FOR A FRIEND (I've given 4 copies). You'll not only improve your own investing results, but your gift will impress as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the book is interesting, but has thousands of scanner errors, Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the book is interesting, but has thousands of scanner errors. Amazon should had paid attention on that. but i recommend it anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I know it's a classic, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Reminiscences of a Stock Operator (Paperback)
I know this is a classic but to be honest I found it a boring read with more story line than substance. It's okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the Best, Oct. 7 2008
By 
Radek Dobias - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reminiscences of a Stock Operator (Paperback)
This is a classic book on trading and market speculation, and is still the best introduction to the subject. The author was one of the most successful traders of all time, gaining and losing massive fortunes multiple times in his life. The experience that is passed on in the book is priceless and accelerates one's development as a trader immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This Dog Has Fleas...., Aug. 2 1998
By A Customer
I bought this book a couple of years ago, because of a reference in John Train's 'The Money Masters'. In fact....the book contained the exact quote used in Harry Edwards review above. Nice quote, but thats it.
The book is amusing enough, and I found the discussion about 'bucket shops' and various investment practices in the largely unregulated early 20th century interesting.
But, of course, you are never told how the hell to know whether to 'sit tight' or sell. There is really nothing specific or useful to anyone trying to make money in any market - legally, at least.
Perhaps a little market history - the fact that markets rise and fall, will be useful to some people.
A much better, and more amusing view of investment excesses can be found in the John Rothchild's highly entertaining 'A Fool and His Money'. Note that this book preceeded, and has absolutely no connection with the popular 'Motley Fools'
Addendum - Dec 21, 2002. Original August 2, 1998.
I am amazed at all the positive reviews -- and I am down at the bottom of the review section, so I doubt many people will plow down to see this.
And, is everyone clear that:
1. This is a fiction - not a biography.
2. It was ghostwritten by a newspaperman.
3. Jessie Livermore died broke.
4. A lot of the "techniques" have been illegal for decades (ie Pools).
I guess that I find the incredibly positive reviews to be an interesting fact. Hope the reviewer's are on the other side of my trades.
Rent the DVDs "Boiler Room" or "Wall Street"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, May 25 2004
I bought this book after it was mentioned on the book Market Wizards. After I finished reading it, I found myself going back to it over and over again. This is a must read book for anyone that is really interesting in how the trading markets work in real life. It's brilliant, funny... Great!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read if you are interested in the market, April 16 2004
This book is a definite must-read for anyone who owns anything in the market. I am reading it the second time, and this is just one month after I finished the first. I use it as a reminder of what's really happening out there, instead of being distracted by the noise.
The author writes in a very easy-to-read style which is not common of his time. Through a very direct approach, the reader can easily identify with the emotions of the character.
It truly is a book worth owning, and reading again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Won't Wonder How It's Still a Classic, March 15 2004
By 
Greg Perry (Oklahoma) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What makes a classic a classic? It's that the truths taught so many years ago are still true today.
Jesse Livermore in this book written nearly a century ago (minus just a few years) teaches us truths of the market. And those truths hold today.
How much does news help your trades? How much do friends and tipsters help your trades? How much do YOU help others by telling them about your trades?
Jesse reveals why you should ignore the news (you'll always be the last to hear it, learn that), ignore friends and family (when it comes to stock tips), and stop giving advice too. All three are disasters for you and everybody else.
The market is there to tell its own story. You can study the tape (using Livermore's language) and with practice and some knack for the skill, you can learn to trade successfully. Livermore got rich by sticking to his plans and by making sure the market itself was the only thing he studied.
I don't think this book will teach you what to do as much as it trains you to STOP doing things that detract you and distract you from what the market is trying to tell you all the time. Listen to the market and you'll make some cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very relevant today, March 1 2004
I was recommended this book by a good friend of mine who works in the market. I was told that this is the book to read when you want to begin understanding the goings on in the market. And he was right. The book gets better as it goes on. Very interesting and very relevant to today's market. You will learn some things reading the chapters, its worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mainly Entertainment, Dec 24 2003
By A Customer
I bought this book mainly because of all the rave reviews. Now that i have read it i am puzzled at how it could have recieved so many good reviews? This book is just a newspaperman`s account of a series of interviews he had with jesse livermore, there is nothing in this book to educate you as to when to buy or sell or what criteria of indicators to apply, other than reading how livermore himself would spot a certain trend and then proceed to make a 10,000 share probe buy or sell to test it. Many of the things mentioned in the book are now illegal or outdated. For instance the probe buys livermore would do to determine demand for a commodity or stock would be impractical for the average investor to apply. The book is long for what it has to say, it reads more like an entertaining historical account of a bygone era. The few tidbits i got out of it such as trade with the trend, cut loses, let profits ride etc... have been echoed in dozens of other books. Read this book if you must but be aware it is mainly a book of historical value and entertainment appeal more than anything else. Just my humble opinion....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8c55300)

This product

Reminiscences of a Stock Operator
Reminiscences of a Stock Operator by Edwin Lefèvre (Paperback - Jan. 17 2006)
CDN$ 27.99 CDN$ 17.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews