Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Book
As an overview and introduction to the history and conceptual development of mathematics, this is a very interesting book. As a primer for anyone seeking to learn or brush up on these principles, it falls a bit short.
I enjoy the history and Mr. Kline's development of this subject but I was looking more for an instructional book that would teach me these basics as...
Published on April 3 2004

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eighteen to read
I cannot imagine why someone of Morris Kline's stature would allow a publisher to print his work in print so small that nobody but an 18-year old can see to read it. (I'm 62). It was published by Dover Books and they should know better!! Nevertheless, Dr. Kline let them get away with it and there's no chance of me selling my copy back, not with 24 copies available used...
Published on March 5 2002 by William


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Book, April 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
As an overview and introduction to the history and conceptual development of mathematics, this is a very interesting book. As a primer for anyone seeking to learn or brush up on these principles, it falls a bit short.
I enjoy the history and Mr. Kline's development of this subject but I was looking more for an instructional book that would teach me these basics as it developed the ideas and history.
While it's an interesting book, it falls short as a teaching device because:
1. Answers are not provided for all exercises and I had trouble confirming my understanding.
2. Important theorems and axioms that should be memorized are hidden in the text and should be marked in bold or marked out by a similar method so the reader can recognize and review them more quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A big book about math, Aug. 29 2003
By 
Steve Stowers (Springfield, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
This book was originally written as a textbook (for a math-for-the-non-mathematician type course). It can be used as one (though as a textbook it's a bit dated), read cover-to-cover for edification and pleasure (the style is a bit more instructional than the average popular math book), or dipped into here and there for the topics the reader personally finds interesting. With well over 500 pages of fairly small print, there's a lot here, covering a wide variety of topics, with (it seems to me) particular emphasis on history, geometry (of various kinds), and applications of math to physics. If you leaf through the book, you'll find some pages of nothing but text, some pages full of geometrical diagrams, some of equations and formulas, and even a few Renaissance paintings (in the discussion on mathematical perspective). With so much here, readers will probably find some parts more interesting than others--though which parts are the interesting ones may be a matter of personal opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only math book that can be enjoyed w/your favorite latte, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Marcus Abundus (Los Altos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
This book is truly an achievement. While not intended for true practitioners, the book is entertaining while though provoking at the same time. I take it with me to my favorite coffee shop sometimes just to open it randomly and read a few pages at a time. Not only does the author weave great historical moments with the progression of mathematical thought, he covers areas such as physics, art, music, and astronomy. He has also renewed my interest in taking the subject up again after many years. I have enrolled in a course in the Calculus based on this as well as other great math books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous book, Aug. 25 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
Morris Kline is an excellent author, and he does a wonderful job of explaining how mathematics works and how to use it. The book is an easy read, and at the end you'll be all fired up to go back to college and take calculus all over again!
I wish I had had the opportunity to study under Mr. Kline, because if you read his other books, you can see that he was a very thoughtful and insightful man, who simply wanted to share his love of mathematics with other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for an easy read in mathematics, April 9 2000
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
I think the author not only knows mathematics, but also knows a lot about other fields, like physics, music, and painting. He is an expert in the history of mathematics and explains well how each important mathematics concept was developed over time. However, I would like to stress that Kline knows how to teach. The structure and the helpful hits in the books are valuble resources for any instructor who wishes to teach a course using this book as the main textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reference for a beginning student in math, Aug. 27 2001
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
A must have for the mathmatically curious. The subject seaquence is laid out in a logical order. Beginning with the premises of inductive vs. deductive reasoning, basic algebra, geometry, and the Calculus. This is not a good book for becoming proficient in sepcific areas of mathematics, but offered for me at least, a logical reference point for approaching the core sujects. I highly recommend this book for self-study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, March 8 2003
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
Kline, a noted historian and educator of mathematics, wrote a book that stands the test of time. This isn't of much use to anyone with high-school math who doesn't care to know why math is the way it is. For everyone else, this is a good book. Solutions to problems at the end of the book are very handy. I recommend this book along with Timothy Gowers's "Mathematics: A Very Short Introduction".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A look at the enigmatic realm of math for the right brained, Sept. 24 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
A Fantastic piece of literature. It is a guide to an amazing
new world for those of us, who will never become the next
Fermat or Gauss. Kline writes in such a way that you are
drawn into the whole mathematic principle, from history to
thought processes all of the time keeping the reader aware
of the implication of this new concept on our reality.
Brillant!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but more difficult then it sounds., July 11 2003
By 
Eric P. Medlock (Charlotte, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
This book is great but it does get pretty technical at some points. Don't let that discourage you though, just skip the parts that are too technical, they won't distract you from getting the major points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eighteen to read, March 5 2002
By 
William (Grifton, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mathematics for the Nonmathematician (Paperback)
I cannot imagine why someone of Morris Kline's stature would allow a publisher to print his work in print so small that nobody but an 18-year old can see to read it. (I'm 62). It was published by Dover Books and they should know better!! Nevertheless, Dr. Kline let them get away with it and there's no chance of me selling my copy back, not with 24 copies available used. Wonder if that's because nobody can see the print? -Dr. William E. Chauncey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mathematics for the Nonmathematician
Mathematics for the Nonmathematician by Morris Kline (Paperback - Feb. 1 1985)
CDN$ 23.00 CDN$ 12.96
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews