Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Among the Most Read and Performed English Comedies
Few English plays dating from the eighteenth century appeal to modern audiences. For much of that period comedies were characterized by sentimentality, humanitarianism, and moralizing. Independently, the playwrights Oliver Goldsmith and Richard Brinsley Sheridan rejected this moralizing mode and returned to a humorous, mildly satirical form of comedy.
In a short...
Published on Dec 30 2003 by Michael Wischmeyer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this supposed to be funny?
I have to read She Stoops to Conquer for school and it is absolutly terrible. For a play that is supposed to be funny and one of the most comical plays of its time, I find it completly boring. I am not discriminating against the "classics", as I have read many which I have highly enjoyed, but reading this play is a waste of time.
Published on Jan. 13 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Among the Most Read and Performed English Comedies, Dec 30 2003
By 
Michael Wischmeyer (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: She Stoops to Conquer (Paperback)
Few English plays dating from the eighteenth century appeal to modern audiences. For much of that period comedies were characterized by sentimentality, humanitarianism, and moralizing. Independently, the playwrights Oliver Goldsmith and Richard Brinsley Sheridan rejected this moralizing mode and returned to a humorous, mildly satirical form of comedy.
In a short period they created three plays that are still enjoyed today - She Stoops to Conquer (Goldsmith, 1773), The School for Scandal (Sheridan, 1775) and The Rivals (Sheridan, 1777).
In recent months I have read all three play. All are quite good, but I especially liked She Stoops to Conquer and The School for Scandal. While The School for Scandal is widely admired for its witty dialogue, She Stoops to Conquer offers the most hilarious situations. It is great fun to read.
The basic theme is familiar. The guardians, her father Mr. Hardcastle and her aunt Mrs. Hardcastle, have arranged a suitable marriage for young Miss Hardcastle. She, of course, has other plans. Oliver Goldsmith transformed this overly used situation into delightful comedy. The plot is complicated by a shy suitor, friends with their own plans of elopement, and an unruly prankster, all leading to utter confusion in the rustic Hardcastle household. I quickly became engaged with the ridiculous happenings and I read She Stoops to Conquer in a single sitting.
The inexpensive Dover edition has only a few footnotes, but footnotes are not really required. I give this entertaining play five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the comic jewels of English theatre., Aug. 22 2001
Ce commentaire est de: She Stoops to Conquer (Paperback)
Oliver Goldsmith may not have had the linguistic virtuosity or satiric audacity of his great contemporary, Richard Brinsley Sheridan, but 'She Stoops to Conquer' is one of the few highpoints in English drama between the Restoration and Oscar Wilde. Ironically, in view of its satirising the slavish devotion to French fashions, the play is influenced by early 18th century French comedy: the plot is very similar to Marivaux's 'The Game of love and chance': two fathers arrange a marriage for their children; this paternal decree is severely shaken by disguises, misrecognitions and counter-plots. The difference being, English comedy is always the funniest, and we get lots of marvellous words like 'obstropalous'.
In effect, this drama consists of characters staging dramas to get their way, which are spoiled by other dramas, e.g. Mr. Hardcastle decides his daughter will marry a man she never met, and arranges their meeting; Tony tells this prospective husband, Marlow, and his friend Hastings, that the gentleman's house they seek is a tavern; Kate disguises herself as a barmaid to woo the diffident Marlow. The effect of all these conflicting dramas is to take a supposedly solid, class-based system, based on paternal and aristocratic power, and reveal it as a fragile one based on illusion, a series of masks and attitudes adopted to suit the required social context, where wrong directions can as easily derail as resolve the social order. The best comedy here comes from characters mistaking the social context, as when Marlow treats his host and future father-in-law as a pesky inn-keeper. Significantly, in this over-cultured milieu, most of the spanners in the works are thrown by the illiterate Tony.
In Goldsmith's world, there is no such thing as a 'natural', whole identity - character is divided by public and private roles, fragmented by clothing and ornaments, with passions dictated by fashions. Goldsmith's benevolently cynical view of his century encompasses all its familiar tropes - the carousing squire rake; the social mobility; the marketplace of marriage; the refined bawdiness; the hints at the incipient decline of the aristocracy (where an old estate has degenerated into a plausible inn); the wars turned into legend from a safe distance. Its teeming culture is catalogued too - sentimental novels, the love of theatre, the rise of Gothic fiction (marvellously parodied to the point where the mistress of the house is terrified of her own garden), Hogarth, caricature prints etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A play ahead of its time, Jan. 12 1999
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: She Stoops to Conquer (Paperback)
One of the particularly interesting things about this play is that it can be seen as a kind of proto-feminist work of art. There is a lot of flirtateous game-playing going on here, but it is entered into by strong, intelligent women who are using the resources they have at hand in their culture to get what they want. Reading this play, or seeing it performed, it is hard to believe that it was written in the 18th Century. Goldsmith has created a humorous story with intriguing plot twists that manages to show women as thinking individuals who take control of their own destinies....even if getting the right man is the way to do that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happily, the Play Conquered Me, Aug. 7 2012
By 
ahef1963 (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: She Stoops to Conquer (Paperback)
Oliver Goldsmith's late-18th century play is a lovely play. I've been reading experimental dramas and I found the comfort of very traditional dramatic elements such a pleasure.

The plot revolves around a country gentleman, his wife, and two children, who are to be visited by a young man considered as a suitable match for the young lady of the family. It eventuates that the young gentleman can speak easily to men and to women who are married or of a different social strata, but to young Kate Hardcastle he can speak barely a word, and those few words are stammering.

In the glorious manner of Shakespeare's comedies, disguises ensue, as do various deceits, conversations behind screens where others can overhear and comment, and numerous asides and slapstick moments fill the pages. It is a lovely play and warmed the cockles of my heart.

She Stoops to Conquer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Dec 17 2002
By 
Thomas L. Cromwell (Monterey, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: She Stoops to Conquer (Paperback)
This play is a rollicking satire on the British caste system of that era, seen through the mischief, mayhem, and mistaken identities of this work. Almost a must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this supposed to be funny?, Jan. 13 2002
By A Customer
I have to read She Stoops to Conquer for school and it is absolutly terrible. For a play that is supposed to be funny and one of the most comical plays of its time, I find it completly boring. I am not discriminating against the "classics", as I have read many which I have highly enjoyed, but reading this play is a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this supposed to be funny?, Jan. 13 2002
By A Customer
I have to read She Stoops to Conquer for school and it is absolutly terrible. For a play that is supposed to be funny and one of the most comical plays of its time, I find it completly boring. I am not discriminating against the "classics", as I have read many which I have highly enjoyed, but reading this play is a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

She Stoops to Conquer
She Stoops to Conquer by Oliver Goldsmith (Paperback - June 1 1991)
CDN$ 3.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews