Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Puzzling...a complete classic
Most children these days are exposed to the magical adventures of Alice in Wonderland through cartoon movies, such as Disney's version, but very few are exposed to the exact literature, the book that made the cartoons, movies, and every other piece of merchandise on the market today happen. "Alice in Wonderland" is a complete children's classic. Unlike many...
Published on March 7 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but overrated
It is somewhat hard to relate to the characters as they are from vintage turn-of-the-century English society and I am not. There are many things in the book that don't seem to make sense unless you look at the characters and situations from that perspective. The best aspects of this book are the creative characters and settings; make sure if you buy a copy of this book...
Published on May 31 2001 by Michael Legg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Puzzling...a complete classic, March 7 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Paperback)
Most children these days are exposed to the magical adventures of Alice in Wonderland through cartoon movies, such as Disney's version, but very few are exposed to the exact literature, the book that made the cartoons, movies, and every other piece of merchandise on the market today happen. "Alice in Wonderland" is a complete children's classic. Unlike many children books of then and now, it makes you think, something we all, especially children, should do often if not done at least once a day. Not only is this book, which follows Alice through a magical world where the verdict comes after the sentence, tea parties are insane, and Mock Turtles sob continueously, a good fantasy story to keep young (and old) minds occupied, its also a good riddle and puzzle book. With constant interruption and riddles being said throughout the book by the 'mad' charactors, its a good book to read if you want something difficult to figure out or to wonder about. The author Lewis Carroll I've learned enjoyed complicated puzzles and intentionally included many in this piece of literature. "Alice in Wonderland" is definately a classic that must be read if not already read. It's a good book to settle down with and enjoy, for the young, and young at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alice's Adventures in Wonderland can enrich young and old., April 13 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Paperback)
It is almost certain, that many of you reading this
will take a glance, and conclude that I am some
poor, lost soul, making sad attempts to hold on
to my youth through this book. That is an admission
I will freely make, with the exception that this story
paints a picture so colorfully fantastic, I can be
drawn to a time that may have held different joys
without any threat to my own sense of self or
dignity, because it is at the same time oddly dark
and fraught with harsh reality, in ever more curious
forms throughout. If anyone questions this Philosophy,
I highly recommend that you take the time to read
Alice's first adventure, because I believe you'll
be tumbling through the looking glass of your own
accord in no time at all as a result of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, April 6 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Paperback)
Alice's Adventure's in Wonderland is book that is like no other that i have read. At first it may seem simple and non moralistic but after you read it over more than once you can see what Carrol was trying to say and how it reflects his life. I think I enjoyed it because it is something that would never happen. Well the odds of me falling down a well chasing a talking rabbit with a pocketwatch is slim to none. Because it's unsual, quirky and comical it's fun to read and hard to put down. I'd recommend it to people of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but overrated, May 31 2001
By 
Michael Legg (Rolling Meadows, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Paperback)
It is somewhat hard to relate to the characters as they are from vintage turn-of-the-century English society and I am not. There are many things in the book that don't seem to make sense unless you look at the characters and situations from that perspective. The best aspects of this book are the creative characters and settings; make sure if you buy a copy of this book you get one with the original illustrations. I recommend this book to pretty much everyone; although it is somewhat dated and strange, you should enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful classic!, May 19 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Paperback)
Alice in Wonderland is a beautifully written fairytale like novel which tells of the unusual adventures of a young girl who happens to fall into a rabbit hole...and into an often funny fantasy of strange happenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Begin At The Beginning...", July 13 2009
By 
Dave_42 "Dave_42" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Paperback)
"... and go on till you come to the end: then stop." Good advice for reading this book, from the Red King himself.

To say that "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" is a classic would be to state the obvious. Published originally in 1865, it was taken from stories which the Reverend Charles Lutwidge Dodgson (a.k.a. Lewis Carroll) told to three girls, the daughters of Henry George Liddell, including Alice Liddell who is the basis for the heroine of the stories. The stories inside are wonderful and superb nonsense which appeal to readers of all ages, as long as you don't try to read too much into it. The stories are filled with all sorts of absurdities based on language, logic, math, and parody. If you obtain a copy which has notes that discuss what is being parodied, it will add to the fun, certainly, but it isn't necessary because even without the parody it is still great fun. Also, you can certainly find references online to help find the sources which are being parodied.

Other than to say that the book is about Alice's adventures it would be difficult to say that there are any great lessons here, other than perhaps to not take things too seriously. At the same time there are certainly some running themes throughout the stories. Size is a key element at some times Alice is very tiny, and at other times incredibly large, and food and drink are the main triggers for these changes. Sense and nonsense is another running theme as there are those who try to make sense out of the nonsense, and others who just enjoy the ride.

The book opens with Alice following the white rabbit down the hole, and plummeting deep into the Earth. She meets many characters in her adventures, like the White Rabbit, a mouse, a lizard named Bill, a Caterpiller smoking a hookah, the Duchess, the Mad Hatter, the March Hare the Cheshire Cat, the Mock Turtle, the Red Queen, and many others. The adventures include her descent into Wonderland, her loss of identity with her changes in size, her babysitting a baby which turns into a pig, the endless tea-party, a very unusual croquet game, listening to the Mock Turtle's story, and of course the trial at the end.

The stories clearly have long lasting influence as well. In books, movies, music, and art, there are countless examples of works based on the Alice Adventures as well as references to them. One thing those works have done is led to some confusion with regards to the Alice stories. Characters like Tweedledum, Tweedledee, Humpty Dumpty, and the Red Queen are not in this book, but rather in the sequel "Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, Sept. 11 2009
By 
N. Gorman (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Paperback)
This version of Alice in Wonderland isn't for collectors. It's for reading to your child or using as a textbook in the classroom if, like me, you are a teacher. For under $3 you get the original text and the original John Tenniel illustrations, which you don't necessarily find in much more expensive editions. The mouse's tale/tail is also in its original format.
I like the fact that this version is a mere 86 pages, and also that it is not together with its Through the Looking Glass counterpart.
One day I'll get a pretty colour version for my daughter, but for now this is perfect for my English Lit students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, Oct. 20 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Paperback)
I ordered this and received it quickly. More importantly, when I finished reading it, I still thought it was 100% worth buying. I don't recall having this book read to me as a child, but I will tell you one thing's for sure - I am going to read this to my children cause it was awesome! haha.. the only part I didn't like was the caterpillar that was smoking in one chapter. I might not read that part to my child because (although some say the whole book is about drug references) the caterpillar was outrightly examplifying the use of substances. However, overall, the book was great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (Paperback - May 20 1993)
CDN$ 4.00 CDN$ 2.58
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews