Customer Reviews


331 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (102)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American classic that must be read by all (and never banned)
If there's any book out there that needs no introduction (or review, to be honest), it's Mark Twain's The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Yet here I am reviewing it, anyway. I must admit (not without a fair share of embarrassment) that I just now got around to reading this American classic for the first time. I never had to read it in school, and to some degree I felt...
Published on May 5 2007 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Adventurous Tale
The Adventures of Hucleberry Finn, by Mark Twain, is a wonderful story about the adventures a young boy could have in the 1850's. The story takes place in the states along the Mississippi River during America's early years. Huckleberry, also known as Huck, is a young boy who grew up with an abusive and drunk father. When Huck's father disappears, he is taken in by a widow...
Published on Feb. 24 2004 by Brittanie Hillman


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American classic that must be read by all (and never banned), May 5 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Paperback)
If there's any book out there that needs no introduction (or review, to be honest), it's Mark Twain's The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Yet here I am reviewing it, anyway. I must admit (not without a fair share of embarrassment) that I just now got around to reading this American classic for the first time. I never had to read it in school, and to some degree I felt pretty familiar with the novel even without having read it -- that's just how popular and important Huckleberry Finn is to the social fabric of America.

Nowadays, with all the politically correct liberals having escaped their Berkeley zoo and run amuck all over the nation, many of our young people are told not to read this novel. In fact, legions of voices cry out for poor little Huck Finn, that beloved rascal of literature, to be banned from schools and libraries -- for the crime of using the n-word, a word commonly used by both blacks and whites up and down the Mississippi during Huck's time (not to mention numerous hip-hop artists of today). Turning a blind eye to the fact that Twain made the slave Jim a noble, human, easy-going fellow with his heart always in the right place (unlike Huck's other companions), the literary fascists contend that this novel is poison to the minds of youngsters. One can only imagine the reaction Mark Twain would have to the hysteria his book incites in liberals today (although he would certainly not be surprised, as he had to fight censorship of this book from the date of its publication).

One of the great ironies of the "Ban Huck Finn" brouhaha is the fact that young people will surely find this novel much more entertaining than the vast majority of other literary classics they are asked to read. This is a very funny book, especially once "the duke and the dauphin" arrive on the scene and, later, when Tom Sawyer meticulously plans out Jim's rescue from captivity (no thanks to the captors, who didn't even try to make it as difficult as Tom says it should be). Young readers will also relate to and understand this book, a fact which should give rise to spirited discussion of it in class. Don't we want our kids to be excited about books and reading?

The more outrageous the hissy fits thrown by liberal critics over the "dangers" of Huck Finn, the more important it is for everyone, young and old alike, to go out and read Twain's novel. Whenever someone tells you not to read something, it's important that you go out there and read it -- and discover whatever it is the book banning loonies don't want you to know. Prove to them that you are intelligent enough to know the difference between the social values of the past and present, fiction and reality, right and wrong, etc. Think for yourself. Read The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, June 20 2004
By A Customer
Always hesitant of the word "classic," I picked up this book with trepidation. It wasn't required reading at any point, and some libraries still have problems with it today because of certain words and scenes. That said, I plunged right in and haven't been sorry since. This is a charming tale that will definitely take you someplace you've not been before. And isn't that what we all want?--to go where we haven't been or can't go? Though not as funny as some other of Twain's books (think "Life on the Mississippi"), "Huck Finn" is an easy read, told by a child narrator. Like other child narrated books--Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird" and McCrae's "Bark of the Dogwood," Twain's "Huck Finn" uses this technique to great effect. This, coupled with a very distinctive style, not really like any other Twain work except one, makes this a highly unusual book. One must also take into consideration "when" this book was written and how new it must have seemed then with its incorrect grammar and style. Suffice it to say that "Huck Finn" will stay on my (and other's) bookshelf for a while.
Also recommended: To Kill a Mockingbird, Bark of the Dogwood, Catch 22
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lisa's review on Huckleberry finn! <3, June 15 2004
By A Customer
THE ADVENTURES OF HUCKLEBERRY FINN REVIEW.
The adventures of Huckleberry Finn is a heartfilled story. It shows one teens journey through the Mississippi River, running away from his father and helping a runaway slave named Jim, who he soon befriends, to the north. This story shows how different some people can be, though they do have hard times, but are still true friends.
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, is an exciting book that will keep you guessing. The writter Samuel Clemens, pen name of Mark Twain, really brings the story alive for you. He makes his story feel so real. It wasn't like I was just reading the story, It really felt like I was there, watching Huck and Jim floating down the Mississippi River on their log raft. Mark twain makes the journey so funfilled and full of enjoyment that you can't put the book down. I had to read this book for 6th grade during summer vacation. I thought it would be a drag, but as soon as I read the first chapter I couldn't put it down...not for a second. I couldn't wait to see what was comming next because with every chapter this book gets more and more exciting until the very last page.
The Adventures od Huckleberry Finn is fun, suspensful, and comical at some times. I would recommend this book to anyone, of any age who wants to get swept away in an amazing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great coming-of-age story, June 4 2004
By 
Those who would accuse Huck Finn of the atrocity of racism have probably never read this book. Yes, I am white, but the story is set up in such a way as to make Jim, the slave who is repeatedly referred to by that most forbidden of words, the most honorable and reasonable character in the book.
The story follows Huck Finn, a rebellious eleven-year-old boy without a mother and with a drunken crook for a father, as he decides to run away when his drunken father returns to town after a long absence and takes Huck back home with him. As Huck runs away, he meets up with Jim, a slave owned by his best friend Tom's aunt, who has also chosen to run away, heading north and seeking a better life. As they make their way down the Mississippi River, they meet a great deal of colorful characters and, most importantly, Huck grows as a person. He and Jim develop a deep, meaningful friendship, and Huck comes to realize that Jim is a man, no matter what the color of his skin is.
The book is hilarious and wildly entertaining, but is also tender and sweet. Mark Twain was truly a master author, and it is easy to see why this has been called The Great American Novel. The book never drags or fails to hold your attention. I would suggest that any child younger than thirteen or so would be talked to about the "N-word" before reading it, but I certainly do not feel that it should be yanked from their hands and forbidden. The book has far too much value to sit on a bookshelf and not be read. A simple explanation that this word was a part of the vernacular at the time the book was written but is now no longer acceptable and that only hateful people use it seems like it would suffice.
Don't let this book drown in the controversy that it attracts. It is far too valuable a piece of literature to get lost in the shuffle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Huck Finn?!, April 19 2004
By 
R. Nguyen "the rich" (CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I had to read this book, my first thoughts were, Southern life in the 1800s? Why would I care? Some people are just living in the past.
How wrong I was.
This book is so great and can be enjoyed by all people, with the exception of close(d)-minded inviduals. The story is about Huckleberry Finn, son of a drunk, regarded as uncivilized and morally lacking. The book is written in the 1st person point of view from Huck's eyes. \
To put it briefly, the whole book is about Huck trying to help Jim, a runaway slave, get free. Throughout, there are many episodes on the Mississippi River, where many adventures take place. We get to see Huck grow and mature as a person, having to make decisions and occasionally lie or dress up, yielding humorous moments often. The characterization of Jim is done very well by Twain, and we realize in the end that Jim is the most humane, caring person in the story.
The ending was extremely disappointing, from the standpoint of the rest of the book. I will only say this: Tom Sawyer is a jackass. But don't take my word for it, read it yourself and judge for yourself; many regard the ending as great and an appropriate way for things to end. What's done is done, though, and the book still remains a great tale of friendship and adventure.
What the book is not, is racist. The N-word is used, but that is for the effect of realism and credibility. If anything, the book is anti-racist, as can be seen in the relationship between Huck and Jim. The book, being written by Mark Twain and all, contains a lot of satire and humor, which is extremely enjoyable.
May this book live on, it definitely still matters and teaches us many a great deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Audra's Review of Huckleberry Finn, March 28 2004
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is an exciting novel. It begins with the narrator (Huckleberry Finn) explaining that he and some friends (along with Tom Sawyer) are in a "Robber's Gang." Huck wishes to remain a part of this new gang but Tom Sawyer, who is a life long friend forces him to be respectable and stay in school in order to stay in the gang.
The Novel is set in St. Petersburg, Missouri. All is well, Huck Finn has money saved in the bank from treasures he and his friend Tom found. Unfortunately, Huck's father, who is a money hungry drunk, comes back to town and demands Huck's money. Huck was adopted by a lady named Widow Douglas. Huck's dad tries to fight for custody once he comes back to town but fails in his attempts. He then hangs around town and harrasses his son. Finally he kidnaps Huckand takes him to his cabin. In this part of the story the reader feels for Huck. His father locks him in their cabin when he leaves and when he returns home drunk, he beats him. The reader wants to see Huck stand up to his father and do something. Then, the reader gets what they want. Huck escapes from his father by faking his own death. He then sneaks off to an island in the Mississippi while the townspeople search the river for his body.
While he's living on the island he encounters another boy. His name is Jim. Huck and Jim become friends and live on the island together. Unfortunately, some townspeople saw smoke coming from the island so the boys are forced to leave. The novel goes on to follow Huckleberry Finn in his wild journey's across the Mississippi.
I thought that the book was a wonderful exciting tale of companionship and adventure. I would not hesitate to read this book again. Although the time period and the setting set me off from reading this novel before, when I finally read it I was pleasently suprised. I really liked how Huck Finn tells the story and the humor that is put into it. Mark Twain does a great job of making you feel like you are a part of the story as well. However, Mark Twain sometimes used racism that could be offensive to some. In my opinion, this book wouldn't have a clear setting of time period if he had left it out.
My favorite thing about this novel is that it is a story about a young boy and what he overcomes in life. I loved the friend ships and the childhood fasination of the outdoors. I would recommend this book to anyone who read the novel preceding it, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and also to anyone who enjoys a good adventure themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MUST READ BOOK, March 11 2004
By A Customer
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is an adventure book written by Mark Twain. Huck Finn sails down the Mississippi River on a raft. Huckleberry Finn shows his bravery by trying to escape from his father. In order to live Huck Finn has to try to run away or escape from his abusive father. To find out if he escapes from his father be sure to read this book.
This is a must read! The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn will make reader feel like your Huck Finn. The reader will realize how hard it actually is for Huck Finn to live with his father and how hard it is to escape. This book is a book the reader just can't put down. The book takes a long time to get into so don't put this book down until you finish.
Mark twain is famous to most children my age. Twain was born in 1835 and died in1910 so he was 75 when he died. Mark Twain has written many books such as The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Samuel Clemens is considered one of the greatest American writers. When the reader reads this book they will feel Huckleberry Finn's pain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the classic novels about chilhood and slavery, March 8 2004
By A Customer
At the start of this novel it starts out like the end of Tom Sawyer. The story states Huck's struggles like living with the widow, problems with all of his money and being civilized. He runs away from his home from the widow and then rethinks his situation. Huck soon reconsiders his first choice of running away and soon returns to the widows where he is home again. Soon Huck finds out that his "pap" is back in town and Huck gives all his money to Judge Thatcher and tells him to keep it, for Huck is afraid that his pap will find out about his money and want to have it. Huck's dad finally shows up and he lectures Huck about how he is trying to be better than he is and how he thinks he is better than his dad. Huck soon is captured by his dad and kidnapped to a small cabin in the forest. Huck is a prisoner of the cabin; the only time he is let out is when pap is home. When pap is out at night getting drunk Huck is locked up in the cabin and cannot escape. Huck finally devises a plan that will free him to travel down the Mississippi River to the south.
One night when Huck's dad was out getting drunk in town Huck snuck out of the cave and sets up a fake death of himself so that pap will believe that he was murdered. Huck takes a raft that he had found down the river to the abandoned Jackson's Island. He soon encounters Jim, one of Miss Watson's slaves. Jim soon tells Huck of how he had escaped from Miss Watson because he had overheard her talking about selling him down in the south. Huck and Jim unite and they both take the stolen raft down the river where they are trying to gain their freedom. They travel up the river and encounter a bunch of robbers that are holding a man hostage. Huck sneaks on to the wreck and listens in on what the robbers are saying. They are threatening a man and are about to kill him. Huck and Jim almost got caught up in the mess but slyly escaped. Huck and Jim are determined to save the fellow and they get help from a local fisherman who has a boat. Huck and Jim continue to travel south on the river. Huck and Jim miss the entrance to the Ohio River and are forced to continue their journey down the river. The next night a steamboat bashes into their raft and Huck and Jim are separated. Huck ends up at the home of the Grangerfords and is kindly accepted in to stay with them. Then Huck gets caught in the middle of the feud between the Grangerfords and the Shepherdsons, who have been enemies for a long time! Huck's friend Buck who is one of the Grangerford children is killed along with many other family members in a gun battle between families. Huck is almost sick from all this killing and he reunites with Jim, who shows up with the repaired raft. They continue to travel down the river.
Huck and Jim meet up with two men who identify themselves as "The Duke" and "The King". They go on many troublesome adventures together and Huck starts to believe that they are con-artists and only use people for their money. On one scheme that the cons are trying to pull Huck finally gets sick of their nonsense and rats on them and their scheme. They slyly escape and while Huck and Jim are departing from them they catch up and reunite. The cons finally pull their worst scheme of all when they sell Jim as a slave to a bunch of white folks. Huck finds out where Jim is located and goes to try to free him. Huck suddenly finds out that Jim is the slave of Tom Sawyer's aunt and uncle, Silas and Sally Phelps. The Phelps think that Huck is Tom and Huck plays along to try to free Jim. The real Tom Sawyer shows up at his aunts and Huck and Tom devise a plan to free Jim.
Tom fixes a crazy plan that they all hope will free Jim. Even though Huck is a little doubtful about the plan he sticks along and carries it out. They successfully free Jim and in the process Tom is shot buy someone following them. Jim sacrifices his freedom to help Tom and get him a doctor. They all are returned to the Phelp's home and Jim is put back in chains yet again.
When Tom is awaken the next morning he tells everyone that Jim has been a free man all along because Miss Watson in her will before she died left Jim his freedom. Tom had just planned all this as a game. Jim is freed and he tells Huck about his father's death. Huck is somewhat relieved since he had though hid father would show up and take him again. Aunt Sally offers to adopt Huck but he refuses because he wants to travel out west!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Audio CD of Classic, March 8 2004
By 
fra7299 "fra7299" (California, United States) - See all my reviews
Finally, a reading of a classic that is worth the money.
This story's narration covers a total of 9 Cds, and each disc has about 97 tracks (each track is only about 30 to 45 seconds). The good aspect of this is that it is quite easy to find your spot and, then pick up where you left off, if you happen to stop reading in the middle of a chapter. The negative aspect of short tracks is that it is difficult to skip around to particular chapters without "guessing" where a chapter might end (because there is no insert to tell which chapters are contained in each disc).
Overall, Dick Hill does a superb job of reading in this unabridged version of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Hill's voice personifies Huck's narrative, and he keeps the Southern flavor of Twain's novel intact. What makes this reading particularly great is that Hill has a great ability to not only take on Huck, but other characters as well. Hill changes his voice for other characters such as Tom Sawyer, Jim, the Duke and the king, Pap and others. For this reason, this CD is a great tool for the reluctant readers in classes, and serves as a great supplement for the study of this novel.
I have found that buying audios to classic to be a gamble because you never really know what you are getting, but this is one of the best I've gotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't hesitate on this, March 1 2004
By A Customer
Always hesitant of the word "classic," I picked up this book with trepidation. It wasn't required reading at any point, and some libraries still have problems with it today because of certain words and scenes. That said, I plunged right in and haven't been sorry since. This is a charming tale that will definitely take you someplace you've not been before. And isn't that what we all want?--to go where we haven't been or can't go? Though not as funny as some other of Twain's books (think "Life on the Mississippi"), "Huck Finn" is an easy read, told by a child narrator. Like other child narrated books--Lee's "To Kill a Mockingbird" and McCrae's "Bark of the Dogwood," Twain's "Huck Finn" uses this technique to great effect. This, coupled with a very distinctive style, not really like any other Twain work except one, makes this a highly unusual book. One must also take into consideration "when" this book was written and how new it must have seemed then with its incorrect grammar and style. Suffice it to say that "Huck Finn" will stay on my (and other's) bookshelf for a while.
Also recommended: To Kill a Mockingbird, Bark of the Dogwood, Catch 22
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (Paperback - May 26 1994)
CDN$ 6.00 CDN$ 4.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews