Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American classic that must be read by all (and never banned)
If there's any book out there that needs no introduction (or review, to be honest), it's Mark Twain's The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Yet here I am reviewing it, anyway. I must admit (not without a fair share of embarrassment) that I just now got around to reading this American classic for the first time. I never had to read it in school, and to some degree I felt...
Published on May 5 2007 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Adventurous Tale
The Adventures of Hucleberry Finn, by Mark Twain, is a wonderful story about the adventures a young boy could have in the 1850's. The story takes place in the states along the Mississippi River during America's early years. Huckleberry, also known as Huck, is a young boy who grew up with an abusive and drunk father. When Huck's father disappears, he is taken in by a widow...
Published on Feb. 24 2004 by Brittanie Hillman


‹ Previous | 110 11 1220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars "The Greatest Book Ever!", March 8 2004
By A Customer
This book was great. It had so much action. It was about a boy whose father was always off drinking. When the father hears Huckleberry, also referred to as Huck, is rich the father comes back. The father beats him and gets drunk. So Huck runs off. He goes to a deserted island. While on the island he discovers that Huck's friend, a slave named Jim, also ran away and was on the same island. When Huck hears that Jim's owner is going to sell Jim they going rafting on the Mississippi to find Jim freedom. It is a great piece of literature and I strongly reccomend reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated Junior Library Edition Hardcover, March 2 2002
By A Customer
Huckleberry Finn is a great book, but if you also want a beautiful copy, thought I'd mention I found this one really nice. This is a faithful reproduction of a 1948 edition and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the paper, cover, and especially the illustrations. Beautiful color paintings on the cover and some throughout the text as well, with black and white pen and ink drawings at intervals. The illustrations in no way interfere with the reading; this isn't a watered down children's version, rather the presentation is suitable for adults as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love the slang, Feb. 18 1999
By A Customer
Reading the slang in this novel sure beats reading the formal English of snobby, dull authors. The vernacular is fun. I don't give a damn about the so-called proper English. If you don't enjoy the language in this text, then go read any 18th or 17th century English text, and tell me which is more entertaining to read. I enjoy watching Twain break the grammar rules we all learned in English class. It is not that he does not know the rules, he just wants to be creative. Breaking the rules for grammar allowed him more space for creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Abridged, May 18 2001
By 
Keith Burgoyne (Westminster, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This particular edition does not claim to be abridged, but in relation to the audiobook version available on Audible.Com, there is at least one "adventure" (story) missing from this edition of which I'm aware. Specifically, Huck's visit to the very long raft where he over-hears the ghost barrel story does not seem to be present. Chapter XVI opens with a mention of the long raft, but then the story continues on to the next adventure without Huck visiting it. I'll be ordering a different print edition for cross-checking purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Twain's Masterpiece, Feb. 27 1997
By A Customer
Without reserve, this is the best of all Mark Twain's not inconsiderable body of work. If you read *Huck Finn* as a child, you owe it to yourself to reread it; it is the kind of story that appeals on many levels and is still as fresh and delightful as ever. Mark Twain succeeds in keeping a serious thread at its core through a string of frankly hilarious adventures, passing judgement on slavery, religion, and politics. Far more than a period piece, it indures with its wit and savvy to become one of the most vibrant of America's classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, May 23 2002
By 
T. Wortham (Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I never thought I'd be around long enough to experience a performance of Adventures of Huckleberry Finn as successful as this by Patrick Fraley. I've lived with this text for over 40 years and thought I knew it well. But listening to Fraley has made me discover new dimensions, increasing greatly my already enormous appreciation of Clemens' masterful work. Listening to Fraley read "Mark Twain" is almost as much a pleasure as listening to Miriam Margolyes read Charles Dickens. "It don't get no better than that."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hmmm.., Nov. 22 2003
Mark twain did an amazing job at making the characters come alive. Although the book is over 100 years old i was still able to laugh at the jokes and some of the situations are still relavent today (for example the whole predicament with Pap). Though the dialects used in the book were essential to the characters and the story I sometimes found them to be either annoying or downright confusing. Nevertheless, this book still deserves 4 stars and will surely stand the test of time(well...it already has but will continue to do so)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest teen classic ever!!, Oct. 9 1998
By A Customer
Reading this book makes you feel like your floating all the days by, down the Mississippi. Twain is amazing as he paints such a great picture of the time and life of Huck Finn. Even when Huck was one of the richest kids in town it didn't matter. Money wasn't an issue. Freedom was. It was everything. He hated having to have manners and having to comb his hair in the morning. His new found life bored him. So he took off on a great adventure that will leave you wishing you were on the raft with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Huck Finn, Oct. 21 2003
By A Customer
This was a good book it had its dull parts like when Jim and Huck were going down the river. But overall it was a good book and I would recommend this to anyone who likes to read about a kid who has weird and abnormal adventures. I personally think Mark Twain did a better job on this than he did on Tom Sawyer. It got very ineresting in the middle of the book. I just have to say it had very poor grammer. I know it is supposed to be that way, but it took awhile to get through it because I had to sort it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Adventure :By Matthew Moriarty, Feb. 9 2004
By A Customer
I think the book "The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn" is a very exciting and adventurous story that should be shared with all ages. The story is about a boy named Huck Finn who is kidnapped by his cruel and drunken dad. He escapes his father and then he travels down the Mississippi River and finds his friend, Jim. He comes across two imposters and the story just continues to keep your attention. This book is a real all American story. It is definately a story that you wouldn't want to miss reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 1220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (Paperback - May 26 1994)
CDN$ 6.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews