Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes strikes again!
The Hound of the Baskervilles is a true mystery classic by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. It tells of Sherlock Holmes and his trusty comrade, Dr. John Watson. This extraordinary pair has solved dozens of mysteries times before, but now come to their most difficult case. Years ago, Hugo Baskerville was killed by a monstrous hound. This curse of the hound has haunted all the...
Published on March 24 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Worst Sherlock Holmes's Novel Ever.
I read this novel after an almost chronological reading in the Sherlock Holmes's novels and short stories.
I certainly started with "a study in scarlet" which was fine, then went to "the sign of four" which was even finer. These two novels where enough to get me hooked on the world of Doyle's Holmes. Then to make things even better, I read the "adventures of Sherlock...
Published on April 10 2003 by Khalifa Alhazaa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes strikes again!, March 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
The Hound of the Baskervilles is a true mystery classic by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. It tells of Sherlock Holmes and his trusty comrade, Dr. John Watson. This extraordinary pair has solved dozens of mysteries times before, but now come to their most difficult case. Years ago, Hugo Baskerville was killed by a monstrous hound. This curse of the hound has haunted all the Baskervilles who come to live at the Baskerville Hall. Sir Charles goes to live there, but soon is found dead, scared to death. His only relative, Sir Henry Baskerville, goes to live at Baskerville Hall accompanied by Holmes and Watson. All along the way, they are left mysterious clues that eventually help them unlock the killer. I really liked this classic who-dun-it because around every corner was a twist. It kept you guessing until the end and was really upbeat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend or the truth?, March 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
The Hound of the Baskervilles is a true mystery classic by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. It tells of Sherlock Holmes and his trusty comrade, Dr. John Watson. This extraordinary pair has solved dozens of mysteries times before, but now come to their most difficult case. Years ago, Hugo Baskerville was killed by a monstrous hound. This curse of the hound has haunted all the Baskervilles who come to live at the Baskerville Hall. Sir Charles goes to live there, but soon is found dead, scared to death. His only relative, Sir Henry Baskerville, goes to live at Baskerville Hall accompanied by Holmes and Watson. All along the way, they are left mysterious clues that eventually help them unlock the killer. I really liked this classic who-dun-it because around every corner was a twist. It kept you guessing until the end and was really upbeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Sherlock Holmes Novel, Dec 3 2003
By 
Jim Lyons (Gibsonia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
The novel I read is called "The Hound of the Baskervilles" by Arthur Conan Doyle. I liked this book because of the characters, how the story developed, and how it was written.
The main characters in the book are Sherlock Holmes and Watson. Together they solve the mystery of who killed Sir Charles Baskerville. I think they make a good team because Sherlock does more of the thinking about evidence and theories and Watson goes out and does the leg work of asking questions and gathering information. Even though Sherlock knows the answer to the mystery, he wouldn't be able to do it without Watson and he doesn't act like the superior of the two.
I also liked the book because it was a mystery so the more I read, the more exciting it got as the killer's identity was revealed. I did not know who the killer was or what his motive was until the end.
Finally, I liked the way the author wrote. When Sir Henry was being chased by the hound, I almost felt like it was after me. He had the characters say things like "By Jove" and "Good Heavens". Also, instead of writing "he said" all the time, it was sometimes written as "said he". Lastly, words would be repeated which I thought made it funny such as: "The brute, the brute", "His wife, His wife", and "A beard, a beard".
In conclusion, I enjoyed this book and agree with those who say that this is one of the best detective stories ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Worst Sherlock Holmes's Novel Ever., April 10 2003
By 
Khalifa Alhazaa "a_mathematician" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
I read this novel after an almost chronological reading in the Sherlock Holmes's novels and short stories.
I certainly started with "a study in scarlet" which was fine, then went to "the sign of four" which was even finer. These two novels where enough to get me hooked on the world of Doyle's Holmes. Then to make things even better, I read the "adventures of Sherlock Holmes," a collection of short stories, which were excellent, followed by "the memoir of Sherlock Holmes" which was on the same lines as the adventures, but Sherlock Holmes was finally killed by Moriarty in the last short story of the collection. I was not afraid, because the remaining pages of the collection of stories I had was still thick, so I knew something was going to happen. Sure enough, Sherlock Holmes was resurrected in the next collection (not before "the hound of Baskervilles", although it is traditionally given before it in the complete works) which was called "the return of Sherlock Holmes." Up to this point I was a big fan of Holmes, but this story: "the hound of Baskervilles," came to destroy everything.
The first aspect I hated about it, was that it wasn't a mystery. It was a quest behind the villain, who was knowen by the middle of the story ... and no wonder, for Doyle wrote this after the acclaimed death of Holmes. He was not ready yet to bring back his detective, and he was actually going to write this story with different characters, until he was struck by Holmes as an already existing character of his, and that he needn't waste his time creating some new character line.
The story is not totally bad, but the idea of having Holmes in a non mystery novel did not strike me as plausible.
I recommend you to read it. It seems, from the review, that I was the only one not to like it, but I can't control that. What I do not like is what I do not like, and I hope you found something useful in this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great Sherlock Holmes novel, at a great price!, March 16 2003
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
Dover has never let me down for purchasing great products, printed with excellence in mind at a mind-blowing low price! This book will be no exception.
Essentially, Holmes finds himself in a mystery concerning a legend of a supernatural black hound that curses the Baskerville family. Holmes is intrigued, and he sends Watson to watch over the new Baskerville heir.
The story is classic Holmes, and the action is fast paced and moving. A fun read with an eye on a classic local legend of the Isles! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent characters, engrossing mystery., Jan. 15 2003
By 
Benjamin (ATLANTA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
Familiar with his stories for years, I finally decided to buckle down and read one of Arthur Conan Doyle's stories of Sherlock Holmes, and "The Hound of the Baskervilles," the most famous of the novels, was the one I decided to pick up. To my surprise, I tore through it. It was a simple read, yet a complicated and satisfying mystery.
As with all the Holmes stories, his assistant Dr. Watson is charged with telling the tale of the bloody Baskerville curse. Sir Charles Baskerville, who was the charge of the family estate, has recently been gored to death by some sort of animal, and Sir Henry, the new heir to the household and the family fortune, fears that the mythic curse of a hellhound stalking the family grounds is true.
A strange twist occurs in this investigation, though, for it's not Holmes who goes to investigate the house. It's Watson, who studies the suspicious neighbors and staff, keeps close watch over Sir Henry and begins to notice that some very odd things are lurking about the moor.
Is the curse behind this killing, or is it a villain of flesh and blood?
The lead characters are defined well, and, though this is my first Holmes story, I understood the basics and the rhythm almost immediately. The narrative structure that Doyle is famous for is, as expected, charming, and the characters are well-defined. The mystery is properly twisted, and I didn't really guess the middle or the ending.
The best twist, to me, wasn't the reveal of any villain or method. It was the twist involving the shadowy figure on the moor. I didn't see it coming at all, and, when I read it, I realized that this old novel still had the narrative tools to surprise me.
It's a classic for a reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suspence!, Dec 28 2002
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
This book is suspenceful and exciting. Once again Sherlock Holmes is given a interesting case. The Baskerville mansion is located on the moor, where it is said that there is a great hound that kills the anyone in the bloodline. The old Baskerville that owns the mansion is mystiously killed, yet there is not a mark on his body, and it comes the time for a new Baskerville to take on the mansion. Sherlock and Watson come with him and unravel a thrilling secret buried deep within the moor, with interesting twists and close calls, this is an exciting, fast paced must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Men of science investigate the supernatural, Nov. 21 2002
By 
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
"The Hound of the Baskervilles" is among the most famous of the Sherlock Holmes stories overall, and certainly the most famous of the four Holmes novels. Perhaps this is because of its ingenious plot premise. In this story, the famous deductive detective and his friend Dr. Watson are called upon to investigate at Baskerville Hall, a remote country mansion where the new heir to the property fears for his life. Apparently an old family legend has come true, and a horrible hound who haunts the moors is thought responsible for the deaths of the previous landowners. I know of no more chillingly atmospheric and mysterious setups for a mystery than this one. Unfortunately, large portions of the book feature yawning gaps in which Holmes himself does not appear, and we are forced to subsist on less interesting characters. Still, it *is* a Holmes story (fans of Holmes were delighted when this novel first appeared, since it was the first new Holmes story in some years, the author having previously killed off his famous hero in "The Final Problem") and the mystery is a good one, featuring red herrings, suspicious goings-on, and clever sleuthing by the great detective. The climax of the tale, when it finally comes, is as exciting as any Conan Doyle ever wrote. A must for mystery fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sherlock Holmes tale...Can't beat the price!, Nov. 14 2002
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
The classic tale of Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson investigating the strange goings-on at Baskerville Hall...and, what's that howling in the distance? Is it...could it be...THE HOUND? Read, and find out the answer!
Great story, and you can't beat Dover's Thrift Editions price. No frills, but classic selections!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece! Conan Doyles Best!, Aug. 27 2002
This review is from: The Hound of the Baskervilles (Paperback)
This book is great! Holmes is stretched to his limits on a problem that seems to defy all of Holmes principles. Action, suspence, interesting conversations, foreshadowing, and even some good ol' horror keeps you hooked. The mysterious, sparsely populated, looming moorlands offer a great and fitting scene for this dark mystery!
A definite classic! A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8b0c018)

This product

The Hound of the Baskervilles
The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - Oct. 21 1994)
CDN$ 4.75 CDN$ 2.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews