Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars37
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(5 star).Show all reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on October 28, 2003
Okay, I thought that $1.95 was a misprint, and I bought it just to get a bargain. But omigod, talk about a bargain! At ten times the price, this book would be a bargain. It's not going to teach you to speak Spanish. It's not going to help you conjugate Spanish verbs. It's not going to make you fluent or able to read the newspaper in Zihuatenejo. But know what? It's going to make your next foray into a Spanish-speaking country a whole lot easier.
Overall, it's a dictionary, but there are subsections like food, colors, travel, clothing, and within those sections things are arranged alphabetically. Each word is used in a whole sentence (many of which are very handy sentences to have at your disposable) with translation, of course.
Anyway, stop reading this review and buy this book. Hell, at this price, buy 10 and give them to everyone in your family the next time you go south of the border.
Highest recommendation, and an utter steal at this price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 2, 2003
1001 Most Useful Spanish Words is great for what it's intended for - beginners, i.e. me. If you're advanced, you'll probably laugh at this book. That being said, I found it very useful with its 1001 useful words listed in alphabetical order in Spanish with an example sentence and its English translation next to each one. Also helpful are the sections at the conclusion of the book delineating family members, numbers, days of the week, lots of food, colors, stores, animals, etc. Overall, a great tool for beginners that won't cut into your pocketbook.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 3, 2001
I love Dover's various works of classic literature available at a fraction of what you would expect to pay. Here, in this short volume, is another category offering a great value ... foreign language study. This is certainly anoher unbelievable value. Dollar for dollar, you can't go wrong with this book. The words are listed with an English definition followed by the use of the word in a sentence in Spanish. You need, perhaps, only a very rudimentary knowledge of Spanish to find this book useful. I am using this book to build my vocabulary and the use of each word in a sentence helps me to put the definition in it's proper context. I highly recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2004
I found this book to be an awesome help in learning Spanish words. Through using this book, I have been able to correspond with my Latini American friends and actually make sense!!! I have used this book so much I am buying another one as my first one is starting to fall apart!!! I would definitely give this book 5 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 1999
With only 55 pages, it packs a ton of vocabulary! It's so thin I can put it almost anywhere, even inside another book! Wonderful for building vocabulary on the go. It has the Spanish word, it's definition, then it has A SENTENCE IN SPANISH to show context, AND the English translation!!! If that wasn't enough, the last few pages it has groupings of words under various subjects. AND some vocabulary tips!!! I can't say enough about this little book. And did everybody see the price??! Unheard of!! Every new student of Spanish should own one.
P.S. I think the person who gave this book a poor rating was being extremely unkind. This book never says it's anything other than it is. A book to build vocabulary. It's not a dictionary. Dictionaries cost a lot more, and are heavy. (This book weighs 2 oz.!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2001
1001 Most Userful Spanish Words is the Dover Thrift version of a Spanish Dictionary.
At barely over 50 pages it packs alot in for the price. The bulk of the book is Spanish -English dictionsary. It includes nouns, verbs and adjectives, whether its masculine or feminine, the word used in a sentence in Spanish, then translated into English.
The last few pages are devoted to groupings of words including numbers, colors, seasons, months, days of the week, food, family, professions, animals and stores.
It concludes with one page on vocab tips.
Also recommended: Spanish for Gringos:Level 2 (ISBN 0764170120), (Breaking Out of Beginner's Spanish(ISBN 029274322X) and Rapanese : the Musical Method of Learning Spanish: Series (1,2 &3) (ISBN 1886447160).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 22, 2003
I bought an assortment of 5 spanish books, but this one is the most useful. I carry it in everywhere and find myself reading it often. If you are a beginner or just relearning spanish, this book is an absolute must for your spanish resources.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 1999
I found this book really useful. If you already know how to put together basic sentences in Spanish (I've only taken first semester Spanish)then studying from this book gives you a really good basis for conversation. When I was travelling in Mexico last year I remember trying to look up a lot of these important words and phrases in the dictionary but being unable to find them. If you plan on trying to use your Spanish you should study from this list of essential words, many of which are often left out of beginning Spanish books for some reason. The book also gives clear examples of how the word should be used in a sentence, which is helpful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2002
I am in Antigua, Guatemala, 7 weeks into an immersion spanish program. I have glanced through a number of small dictionaries or books that seek to build vocabulary. The choice of words is always puzzling. For example, you might find the spanish word for "elf" but then be unable to find "fork".
This book on the other hand has a very wise choice of words. It covers most of the verbs and nouns and what not you will need for basic conversations. "to have", "to want", basic foods, basic prepositions. So far, it has the wisest choice of words I have seen. Furthermore, each word comes with a sentence, which helps with grammar and usage. ...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2002
Imagine what you could do if you knew 1001 spanish words. Not much you say? Well what if you knew not just any 1001 Spanish words but the 1001 most useful Spanish words! Now you are on your way to conducting the most fascinating conversations of your lifetime. Imagine if you were hanging out in some diner and you saw Shakira walk! Without this book you wouldn't be able to ask her "Where is the bathroom?" or "How many shoes do you have?" You'd be stuck with your jaw drooping in your eggs wishing you had read this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse