Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars $1.95?? Are you KIDDING me?
Okay, I thought that $1.95 was a misprint, and I bought it just to get a bargain. But omigod, talk about a bargain! At ten times the price, this book would be a bargain. It's not going to teach you to speak Spanish. It's not going to help you conjugate Spanish verbs. It's not going to make you fluent or able to read the newspaper in Zihuatenejo. But know what? It's going...
Published on Oct. 28 2003 by Peggy Vincent

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners
I bought this book when I was starting to learn Spanish. I wanted something small and quick that I could carry with me.
The book does not have English-Spanish; it is organized alphabetically in Spanish. Each word has a brief definition. Most words also have an example sentence. It is also uneven in its coverage; sometimes I cannot find Spanish words that I...
Published on Jan. 8 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, Nov. 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
This is a good book if you already know Spanish and how to pronounce the words.
I was hoping it would have the pronunciation like a dictionary does, but not so.
Once I learn how to correctly speak Spanish, it will be helpful to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Need to get basic conversation book as well., Feb. 28 2004
By 
S. Lee "Kuala Bob" (Dallas, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
Although is a great book for beginners like me, I must have to say, I don't know how to put these words together. It seems like it is meant to be used in conjunction with a conversation book. What's great about this book is that the pronumciations are clearly writen so that is is easy for you to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short and to the point, Nov. 12 2002
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
50 pages long and ...you cannot beat this book. A spanish dictionary with sentences-both spanish and english-and most common used spanish words labled by catogory. Food,family numbers etc... Must have book for anyone learning spanish. Slides right into the back pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful indeed., July 9 2002
By 
Jason W. Miller "Glass Chewing Calvinist" (Jamestown, North Dakota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
Imagine what you could do if you knew 1001 spanish words. Not much you say? Well what if you knew not just any 1001 Spanish words but the 1001 most useful Spanish words! Now you are on your way to conducting the most fascinating conversations of your lifetime. Imagine if you were hanging out in some diner and you saw Shakira walk in...wow! Without this book you wouldn't be able to ask her "Where is the bathroom?" or "How many shoes do you have?" You'd be stuck with your jaw drooping in your eggs wishing you had read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, March 31 2002
By 
SanDiegoDude (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
I am in Antigua, Guatemala, 7 weeks into an immersion spanish program. I have glanced through a number of small dictionaries or books that seek to build vocabulary. The choice of words is always puzzling. For example, you might find the spanish word for "elf" but then be unable to find "fork".
This book on the other hand has a very wise choice of words. It covers most of the verbs and nouns and what not you will need for basic conversations. "to have", "to want", basic foods, basic prepositions. So far, it has the wisest choice of words I have seen. Furthermore, each word comes with a sentence, which helps with grammar and usage. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short, Sweet & to the Point, Sept. 16 2001
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
1001 Most Userful Spanish Words is the Dover Thrift version of a Spanish Dictionary.
At barely over 50 pages it packs alot in for the price. The bulk of the book is Spanish -English dictionsary. It includes nouns, verbs and adjectives, whether its masculine or feminine, the word used in a sentence in Spanish, then translated into English.
The last few pages are devoted to groupings of words including numbers, colors, seasons, months, days of the week, food, family, professions, animals and stores.
It concludes with one page on vocab tips.
Also recommended: Spanish for Gringos:Level 2 (ISBN 0764170120), (Breaking Out of Beginner's Spanish(ISBN 029274322X) and Rapanese : the Musical Method of Learning Spanish: Series (1,2 &3) (ISBN 1886447160).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Spanish Rosetta Stone ..., Feb. 14 2001
By 
J. Michael Schultz (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
I love this little book first of all because it's easy to carry around so I usually have it with me. It's perfect for a beginning spanish student since each word is used in a sentence. Not only do you learn the meaning of the word but you learn enough grammar to use it. The example sentences are in different tenses so can you learn some of that as well. Overall a great linguistic bang for the buck, its no nonsense format is pure Spanish extract for the novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really great bargain!, Nov. 19 2000
By 
Dot James (Ione, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
I don't remember when $1.35 has bought so much. For quick review of common Spanish words, this little book is great to carry with you in pocket (when folded in half) or purse for those annoying moments of 5, 10, more minutes of standing in line or otherwise waiting for something to happen. At $1.35 you don't mind folding it or even losing it since it's cheap to replace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spanish - Light & Easy!, Aug. 6 2000
By 
Luis Hernandez (New York, New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
A light (and I really mean light - the book weighs about 2 ounces) and helpful book for anyone trying to build their Spanish vocabulary. Printed by the good people at Dover Publications, the book lacks the fancy designs, illustrations, and other graphics that books are generally well known for, however it is a very resourceful book to have around.
Author Seymour Resnick does a great job in compiling the 1,001 most used words in the Spanish language, however there is one negative thing about this book. There is not a pronunciation guide throughout the whole book. Although it's not a dictionary, it is always helpful to have this reference mentioned in a foreign-language book. Besides this fault, this book will make excellent reading material for anyone trying to brush up on their Spanish before a trip, meeting, or just to chat with a friend or relative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value!, May 28 2000
This review is from: 1001 Most Useful Spanish Words (Paperback)
This is a great book to increase your everyday vocubulary. As a resident of Mexico, I used this book with great success and you certainly can't beat the price! The words used really are among the most common in everday speech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb42d6060)

This product

1001 Most Useful Spanish Words
1001 Most Useful Spanish Words by Seymour Resnick (Paperback - June 7 1996)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews