Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best
This book is absolutely brilliant, and reading it is a tremendous experience. Sun Tzu is the master, and the Art of War, though aimed specifically on military warfare, is a masterpiece on general strategy and tactics that can be used in many sitautions. In fact, I will bet you that many of the most succesful sports coaches, boxers, businessmen, ploiticians, etc use...
Published on July 16 2004 by Rodney Ohebsion

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not What I Expected
I've been looking for books on war to oddly enough, calm my nerves. I was looking to understand the inner workings of generals, commanders, kings, and the men under their command. I don't think this is the full version, but a filtered down for quick reading type construction that is a very hard read for it's smaller size. Not enough time is spent on the main focus of a...
Published 6 days ago by Mack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Best, July 16 2004
By 
Rodney Ohebsion (CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
This book is absolutely brilliant, and reading it is a tremendous experience. Sun Tzu is the master, and the Art of War, though aimed specifically on military warfare, is a masterpiece on general strategy and tactics that can be used in many sitautions. In fact, I will bet you that many of the most succesful sports coaches, boxers, businessmen, ploiticians, etc use tactics similar to those found in this book.
The Art of War is not a long book, but despite its size, it is totally packed with content. Some themes of the book include
- always ensuring you are prepared
- adapting and responding to circumstances
- knowing yourself, the enemy, and the environment
- being unpredictable, secretive, and deceptive
- making calculations
- exploiting opportunities
- avoiding your enemy's strengths, and attacking his weak spots
- causing disorder among your enemy
- using baits to manipulate others
- ensuring good teamwork through picking the right people to do the right job, good communication, and synergy
- knowing when to fight and when not to fight
The book is an absolute gem. It is invaluable and a must read. Sun Tzu has a beatiful style, and I really love the Lionel Giles translation, which although old, is still hihgly readable and among the best there is. I also recommend Rodney Ohebsion's tranlsation and selection and arrangement of passages, which is an adaptation of the Giles translation, and is in the book A Collection of Wisdom.
In summary, I would just like to say that The Art of War is definitely one of the greatest texts ever written, and is a must for the student of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2500 Years. Still Necessary., Nov. 17 2003
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
The Art of War was originally intended for reading by ancient China's ruling military elite, and not lowly commoners such as us. It is one of the few great books people seem to be universally familiar with, and for good reason.
The struture is blindingly simple - Sun Tzu writes short chapters about different areas of battle which consist of simple dictums. Utterly straightforward, and generalisable to any form of conflict.
Surface-reading this book will take you minutes, not hours - however, time must be spent with even the barest of his principles. The purchase of this book has become alarmingly trendy over recent years, but with no noticeable effect on the global intelligence of its middle manager market. Books like this do not read themselves.
A more accurate edition would have gained 5 stars without a second thought. The fact that much better versions are available (and freesource!) holds this version back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of War, May 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
The Art of War by Sun Tzu is widely regarded as "The Oldest Military Treatise in the World," this landmark work covers principles of strategy, tactics, maneuvering, communication, and supplies; the use of terrain, fire, and the seasons of the year; the classification and utilization of spies; the treatment of soldiers, including captives, all have a modern ring to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not What I Expected, April 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
I've been looking for books on war to oddly enough, calm my nerves. I was looking to understand the inner workings of generals, commanders, kings, and the men under their command. I don't think this is the full version, but a filtered down for quick reading type construction that is a very hard read for it's smaller size. Not enough time is spent on the main focus of a book on war and it jumps around... a lot.

Unless you want to be feel like a Nuklear Physicist at a Justin Beiber concert, I suggest you shoot for a thicker and more expensive account of thousands of years of warfare. This don't cut it.

My apologies to the author/publishers, but at just 100 pages, the customer should be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of War, April 10 2014
By 
Robert J. Lyczewski (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
Very good book. I watched a You Tube Video a while back and this book followed along with the video. Very Informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars art of war, Jan. 10 2013
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
The book came quickly and was in great condition. I have not had a chance to read it yet so I am not informed of the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Art of War in Modern Times, June 17 2004
By 
Meredith Gallagher (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
Though this book is rather old, it tells of strategies for team leadership that can be employed in todays society. It is a book detailing great planning and strategy of wartime. It discusses the role of leaders and how they should handle their troops. This information is useful when applied to managing one's own team. When managing a group of workers in a workplace, one must view them as an "army" so to speak who will work together for the greater good of accomplishing a goal. Sunzi's work gives very explicit directions on how to do this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astoundingly insightful, even after 2000+ years, Jan. 31 2004
By 
adam872 (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
Written long before MBA programmes and graduate schools of management were formed, this book is often considered THE authority on managing people and competitive situations. Sun Tzu was a remarkably insightful man, who seems to have captured the psychology of combat and running a team. So many of the principles he espouses are applicable in civilian life that it is worth reading by anybody managing people. There are sections in the book that deal very specifically with fighting (especially the discussions on terrain), but many of the other chapters could replace the word 'army' with 'team' and the meaning would be the same. Whilst many of the lessons appear simplistic and obvious, experience tells us that sometimes common sense is not so common. Sometimes concepts need to be presented in a simplified fashion for their full power to be revealed. I think that any person either training to be a leader or is already one (military or civilian) should read this book and ponder it's meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this before they die, Sept. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
This has to be one of the best books I have read in a long, long time. This is first off Sun Tzu is a complete genius when it comes to military warfare and had everything figured out, second this book is more then a how to on engaging in campaigns, it's a manual for life, if you read between the lines it teaches you how to become a great leader and someone to look up to and how to deal with your underlings in the finest manner. Once again I can't boast on how good this book is. I hope you read this and helps with your decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Re-Read this book as much as you can, Dec 26 2012
This review is from: The Art of War (Paperback)
Whoever says this book cannot be applied for today, is a complete idiot.

Human Nature never changes, therefore War strategies never change.

They do not understand the book, never have been in the military, or never held an officer position in the military. It is a very difficult book because it goes to the core of human nature.

They said Sun Tzu could not be applied in Vietnam, but it was, and in Afghanistan against the Americans and the Russians. Afghanistans were only conquered by the Sikhs of India, whereby they gained the support of the population and the emperor(only one), tolerated all faiths like Sulueman in Turkey and the beginning of the Ottoman Empire.

It is a very difficult book, that is for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7b80e1c)

This product

The Art of War
The Art of War by Sun Tzu (Paperback - Nov. 13 2002)
CDN$ 6.75 CDN$ 5.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews