biss Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Tools ca_ty_gno boutiques-francophones s

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars36
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$4.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on July 16, 2004
This book is absolutely brilliant, and reading it is a tremendous experience. Sun Tzu is the master, and the Art of War, though aimed specifically on military warfare, is a masterpiece on general strategy and tactics that can be used in many sitautions. In fact, I will bet you that many of the most succesful sports coaches, boxers, businessmen, ploiticians, etc use tactics similar to those found in this book.
The Art of War is not a long book, but despite its size, it is totally packed with content. Some themes of the book include
- always ensuring you are prepared
- adapting and responding to circumstances
- knowing yourself, the enemy, and the environment
- being unpredictable, secretive, and deceptive
- making calculations
- exploiting opportunities
- avoiding your enemy's strengths, and attacking his weak spots
- causing disorder among your enemy
- using baits to manipulate others
- ensuring good teamwork through picking the right people to do the right job, good communication, and synergy
- knowing when to fight and when not to fight
The book is an absolute gem. It is invaluable and a must read. Sun Tzu has a beatiful style, and I really love the Lionel Giles translation, which although old, is still hihgly readable and among the best there is. I also recommend Rodney Ohebsion's tranlsation and selection and arrangement of passages, which is an adaptation of the Giles translation, and is in the book A Collection of Wisdom.
In summary, I would just like to say that The Art of War is definitely one of the greatest texts ever written, and is a must for the student of life.
0Comment26 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
13 rules who can be use in any battlefield no matter for what you fighting for. This book is that and believe it it's one the more useful reading I did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
Love this book ! Quick read about the history of warfare in china and how it has influenced modern warfare. Very insightful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2014
Very good book. I watched a You Tube Video a while back and this book followed along with the video. Very Informative.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2004
Written long before MBA programmes and graduate schools of management were formed, this book is often considered THE authority on managing people and competitive situations. Sun Tzu was a remarkably insightful man, who seems to have captured the psychology of combat and running a team. So many of the principles he espouses are applicable in civilian life that it is worth reading by anybody managing people. There are sections in the book that deal very specifically with fighting (especially the discussions on terrain), but many of the other chapters could replace the word 'army' with 'team' and the meaning would be the same. Whilst many of the lessons appear simplistic and obvious, experience tells us that sometimes common sense is not so common. Sometimes concepts need to be presented in a simplified fashion for their full power to be revealed. I think that any person either training to be a leader or is already one (military or civilian) should read this book and ponder it's meaning.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2016
Quick read, than you better buy the book that explains The Art of War
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2015
Not much to say on this title. its a military and business staple.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
The Art of War by Sun Tzu is widely regarded as "The Oldest Military Treatise in the World," this landmark work covers principles of strategy, tactics, maneuvering, communication, and supplies; the use of terrain, fire, and the seasons of the year; the classification and utilization of spies; the treatment of soldiers, including captives, all have a modern ring to them.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2014
I keep it by my bedside and on my work desk
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2014
Excellent book!...What else can I say?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$2.39