Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars291
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$10.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(3 star).Show all reviews
on November 17, 2001
There's a funny thing about self-help books, one always contradicts the other and new revealings always disprove old theories. Such is the case with Think and Grow Rich.
For example, Mr.Hill stresses the importance of using will-power and the right thoughts to conquer our goals. Whereas Maxwell Maltz, author of Psycho-Cybernetics (which has sold a record 33 million copies in 40 years) suggests the use of imagination instead. Maltz, also says that use of will-power causes failure and has scientific proof to back it up.
Also, if this is one of the best selling books of all time, how come there aren't more millionaires around?. But then again how many would we have if we didn't have this book.
In my opinion, this book is more like counselling. You gain insight into your life but your life is no better. It's one of those books bought by business men because it's Joe Coporate's favorite book. And if Joe's reads it then it must be good. It's more likely to end up on the shelf never to be read again. It's not an inspiring read more like a documentary textbook.
But there's still a lot of good info in it and that's why I give it 3 stars. Be sure to get How to win friends and Influence people and Psycho cybernetics for your collection to be complete.
Was this helpful to you?.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2003
Napolean Hill's idea to think thoughts of success is correct. What we focus on has a big impact on our results. Hill uses the old model of positive thinking which has many flaws. Positve thinking is inferior to Optimal Thinking. Why waste time using positive thinking to seek good and great results, when you can use Optimal Thinking to achieve the best results. If you are interested in OPTIMIZING your success, you have to read "Optimal Thinking-How to be your best self" by Rosalene Glickman, Ph.D. She takes you past wishful thinking and shows you how to be your best self in every situation and how to think in harmony with your best interests. Optimal Thinking is simple and you can put it into practice IMMEDIATELY to optimize your success.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
It is not very well done.
The seller printed the text so near the border of the book that is not readable in a nice way..(subjective)
Its more a booklet size

Price good
Nice cover
Shipping is fast to Quebec

The content stay the same as its free off the internet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2001
The principles laid down in this book are presented better in other books (try Peter Drucker's), but this may have been one of the first to lay them down, so perhaps should be given some credit for that. It is badly written, though, like an eighth grader wrote it. And the bit about psychic abilities is total garbage.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
it has an interesting philosophy. It was not quite what I suspected and therefore will listen to it once more if i have time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
A little stylized & time structured, but the message is still valid, if you want to devote your life to the pursuit of riches
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 2, 2004
I first read this book in high school and all I got from it was a huge chip on my shoulder. And by huge, I mean bigger than the average teenage male chip by tons. This book is great motivational material, but little else. It'll get you pumped and psyched and ready to go conquer the world. However, this feeling doesn't last for long after you read the book. Having just re-read the material, I wasn't as impressed with it as I was 15 years ago. The general advice Hill repeats over and over agian, is to be consumed with greed. Be so totally focused on your goal that you choose your spouse (and everything else) in accordance with that goal. This may indeed work, but it leaves alot to be desired in the underlying QUALITY of life. This attitude also has a distinctly unethical feel to it. To those that think "Get Rich Quick" books are a scam however, I have only this arguement: very few people buy these books to get rich. That's right, they buy the dream of a "possiblity" of wealth. Think about it. If the book worked for everyone that bought it and followed it, then the world would be have alot more wealthy people. If the book didn't work for anyone in it's 50+ year history, then why buy it in the first place? This book can help you get rich if you take the shallow viewpoint of life that it teaches you. More importantly, it can motivate you to take some steps that you may not have made without being "pumped up". That's the real value of this book, it changes your behaviour. For a little while anyway. If you buy it for anything else, like PRACTICAL ADVICE, then you're wasting your money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 19, 2004
The principles contained in this book are true, as many people have proved through the years: The origin of anything you do, not only for money, but other desirable things, are your ideas, catalyzed by a burning desire, aided by a master mind and accesing the resources of infinite intelligence. I myself have proved this principles and benefited from them.
The chaper I don't like, is the one about sexual permutation. It explains that the strongest desire in men is sexual expression. It recommends having a woman (the book is a little bit sexist, not considering than maybe women would like to make money too) that excites you sexually so that you can permute that energy into more work. To me, that's like getting your own pimp that is sexually stimulating you to work as a workhorse to give all the fruits of your labor to her... That advice, in my humble opinion is bullsh*t...
However the rest of the book is very useful and except for those themes that should be ignored...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 8, 2003
I read this book after hearing a lot of hype about how great it was. I was disappointed when I finished.
Now, I realize that this was considered a phenomenal work by the standards of its time when it was written. However, it doesn't even compare to books like Brian Tracy's Maximum Achievement, and Tony Robbins Awaken the Giant Within, to name a few. Think and Grow Rich is sub-par for today's standards. Just because it was the first great work of it's kind doesn't mean it's still great. When Ford created the Model-T, it was considered by all the greatest revolution since sliced bread. Do we still drive Model-T's today? No way. They don't even compare to a car like BMW, or your average mid-grade car like a Ford Escort. I hope my point is clear. Things change and improve. So it goes with literary works as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on November 21, 2004
While this book is a good one about the power of positive thinking, it is not really the best guide to personal finance, especially for those of us who do not subscribe to the middle-class ideal of a "nest egg" for retirement. Hill is correct in his view that ideas must first exist in the mind, but does not go much beyond that. There are other books out there to teach beyond the basic concepts that this book teaches.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Think and Grow Rich
Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill (Paperback - Jan. 11 2008)
CDN$ 7.99

How to Win Friends and Influence People
How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie (Paperback - Oct. 1 1998)
CDN$ 13.97