Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars My dear Holmes
Everybody knows him -- the pipe-smoking detective on Baker Street (with or without the movie-added deerstalker), who is able to deduce all sorts of things just by glancing at a person. "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" shows off Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's first collection of short stories involving Holmes, mingling human psychology with sometimes bizarre mysteries...
Published on May 16 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious World of Sherlock Holmes
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a wonderful book for the open minded. It takes you on a journey through London's city streets, throught the houses of pesents and the safes of bank owners. You travel with Holmes on his many cases and travles. Holmes is yet again assisted by his trusty companion Dr. Watson, who has yet to figure out Holmes' mysterious ways of going...
Published on Dec 13 2000 by Benjamin Boyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars My dear Holmes, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Everybody knows him -- the pipe-smoking detective on Baker Street (with or without the movie-added deerstalker), who is able to deduce all sorts of things just by glancing at a person. "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" shows off Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's first collection of short stories involving Holmes, mingling human psychology with sometimes bizarre mysteries.

Holmes is visited by the masked King of Bohemia, who has a slight problem: he's engaged to a princess, but his former lover Irene Adler has a compromising letter that could jeopardize his future marriage. But Adler has a formidable brain of her own. Then Holmes is hired by a man who was hired by the mysterious Red-Headed League, and given a strange job... which is somehow connected to a criminal undertaking.

Among the other strange cases that Holmes and Watson undertake -- a missing fiance, a strange murder in Boscombe Valley, a dead man who was sent five orange seeds, a woman whose husband has utterly vanished, a blue jewel hidden in a Christmas turkey, a dead woman whose last words were "it was the band, the speckled band!", a young engineer given a dream job, an American heiress who vanishes directly after her wedding, a broken beryl coronet, and a young woman given a surreally weird job.

Sherlock Holmes mysteries come in two types:
1. The case is completely baffling, and Holmes is needed to unravel the knot of obscure clues.
2. The case seems straightforward, but Holmes is needed to connect seemingly unrelated clues to the crime in order to find the REAL perpetrator.

There are plenty of both kinds in "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes," with a dozen cases that require Holmes' unique detecting skills -- it can be something as simple as locating a letter, or something as complex as foiling a robbery or counterfeiting ring. Doyle's stately, dignified prose is heightened by moments of excitement or horror (" It swelled up louder and louder, a hoarse yell of pain and fear and anger all mingled in the one dreadful shriek"), and he wove in a lot of human psychology into Holmes' cases.

Holmes himself... is Holmes. Doyle didn't like his detective much, but Sherlock's knife-edged intellect and fascination with puzzles are strangely hypnotic -- even if you wouldn't like to be roomies with the guy, it would be amazing just to sit and watch him work. Watson is the perfect counterpoint for Holmes: he's not a genius but is definitely intelligent, warm-hearted and capable.

"The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" is a magnificent collection of Holmes' first twelve short cases, filled with murder, intrigue and all sorts of weird crimes. An absolute must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE A MYSTERY, ESPECIALLY THIS ONE!, Jan. 19 2010
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Who doesn't love a good mystery, especially one by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle? His creation Sherlock Holmes is the prototype for countless modern detective writers and continues to entertain us with unparalleled stories sparked by Holmes's brilliance and powers of reasoning. Abetted by his unforgettable sidekick, Dr. Watson, he is called upon to solve not only the most puzzling but the most dastardly cases.

We might say these adventures ably narrated by Ralph Cosham are a synthesis of Doyle's work. There are 12 stories in all from A Scandal in Bohemia to The Adventure of the Copper Beeches. It would be impossible for this listener/reader to pick a favorite but one that stands out in my mind is The Beryl Coronet.

First published in 1892 this story features a banker, Arthur Holder, who makes a sizeable loan to an established citizen. The Beryl Coronet, which is extremely valuable is left as security. Holder determines the Coronet would not be secure in the bank, so he takes it home and puts it in his personal safe. That night he's awakened by strange noises and finds Arthur, his son, with the Coronet in his hand. This scene is witnessed by Holder's niece, Mary, who keels over when she sees the broken Coronet.

Arthur seems most certainly to be guilty of damaging the priceless object yet Holmes remains to be convinced (as he so often is). Several issues muddy the waters - Arthur refuses to say anything; he will not admit guilt or claim innocence. How could he have broken the Coronet when Holmes who is quite strong cannot begin to do so? Fortunately, footprints in the snow outside Holder's house lead Holmes to the real thief.

Narrator Cosham who has been nominated several times for an Audie Award and whose readings have been named "Audio Best of the Year" by Publishers Weekly is the perfect voice for these stories - resonant, clear with timing that adds to the suspense.

Enjoy!

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Mysterious World of Sherlock Holmes, Dec 13 2000
By 
Benjamin Boyd (Thomasville, GA USA) - See all my reviews
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is a wonderful book for the open minded. It takes you on a journey through London's city streets, throught the houses of pesents and the safes of bank owners. You travel with Holmes on his many cases and travles. Holmes is yet again assisted by his trusty companion Dr. Watson, who has yet to figure out Holmes' mysterious ways of going about his duty. In the novel you can witness Sherlock going about his buisness and try to solve the cases before he does (which rarely happens). But if you have trouble following the genious mind of Mr. Holmes he always explains how he could have possibly figured the case out. He will also express how important it is to pay attention to details. Holmes has the best set of eyes in London and uses them to their full potential in stopping thieves and robbers. As you read you see holmes narrowly escape death while he magnificantly singlehandedly outsmarts all of his opponets. His genious art of mystery is called upon by many people that range all the way from Scotland Yard in need of a priceless jewel to pesents in need of a returned goose. He treats every case with exceptional care.
I personly didn't love this book like i love the Harry Potter series but it was still a respectable piece of famous literature. I'll probably continue to read some of Sir Auther Connan Doyal's work, but not anytime soon.
Benjamin Boyd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holmes stuns mystery lovers and sci fi fans alike!, Nov. 19 2000
By A Customer
Are you ready to accompany the greatest detective in history on some of his most memorable adventures? Then this book is for you! Each of these stories are wonderfully put together, each with a more exciting and unexpected outcome. I have read them time and again, and am always newly surprised at Holmes's genius and reasoning abilities.
Are you still hesitant on whether or not to read "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes?" Well, I personally am not much of a mystery fan. In fact, some of my favorite books are "Watership Down," "The Hobbit," "A Wrinkle in Time" series, and "The Lost Years of Merlin" books. I also know that mystery books are either awful, by. But Sherlock Holmes and his cases have set the highest of standards for mysteries, which very few others have even come close to surpassing.
Through this great collection, I have come to greatly admire both Holmes's and Doyle's brilliance over and over again. No matter what genre you enjoy reading, this is a book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If your looking for action and adventure read this book, Feb. 4 1999
By A Customer
Dear peers, My opinion is that the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes is one of the best book I have ever read.Sherlock Holmes is a good book because it challenges your knowledge. The plot are full of mystery and action.As I read the book, I could not put it down because I felt that I was Sherlock solving the case. Sherlock was one of the best in his time peroid. This information can be found at Conan Doyle's website. The author was known for his intelligence and ways of solving mysteries. For an example in the Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes Mr. Waston said "you are the best". He was admired all over Scotland. He always wanted a mystery to challenge his intelligence. before the person even knew what they would say he knew. He never told them, he would just wait and try to catch them in the act. Some people say Sherlock is nosey and rude. For an example he didn't listen to the man when he asked him what his daughter was doing in his office. Another example he went into someone basement because he was sure the criminals were making a tunnel to rob the city bank. Sometimes when he lies, the lies are to help other people from imbarassment.for example in the case of the star spangled banner. He said that the man got bit by his pet snake when he was playing with it. Sherlock figured the girl had been through enough and If he was to tell her it would make her depreesed and imbarass if someone should ask her about the incident. If you are in to mystery and adventure then The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes is the book for you. Your'e not be able to put the book down after you start to read it. You should not judge a book by it's cover: It may look oldfashion but the stories are great even in modern times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, May 25 2003
By A Customer
A mysterious photograph. A disappearing company. A man with two identities. All this and more in the book, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. This book includes puzzling mysteries such as The Case of Identity, in which a husband suddenly disappears, and A Scandal in Bohemia, in which a king tries to steal a photo, but needs Sherlock Holmes' help. This book is suitable for all people ages 10 to adult. It's puzzling and complex, yet adventuresome and amusing, able to catch all readers' eyes. Unfortunately, the book does have some boring parts, but its captivating stories and perplexing mysteries more than make up for this. Dr. Watson and Sherlock Holmes team up together once again and form what may be one of the best detective book yet, The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic Literature, March 28 2000
This is a faithful reprinting of the greatest mystery book(s) ever written. It is well written, powerful, captivating, and puts the Hardy Boys to shame. Holmes solves mysteries in a believable (if difficult) fashion that never fails to grip someone from start to finish. The stories are so well written, in fact, that when Sherlock Holmes "died" fans responded by rioting in the streets of London. The Queen insisted that Conan Doyle bring back his famous character, and so here he is. While we might not be willing to riot in the streets if Holmes died today, we can still feel loyalty towards the famous character, and the legacy that Conan Doyle left behind in these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The reader is a befuddled Watson, who Holmes enlightens, July 24 1997
By A Customer
I remember reading "Adventures of Sherlock
Holmes as a teenager.

Each chapter is an adventure.

The clues are there ready to reveal the mystery.

Will you be Holmes and solve the mystery?

Will you be Watson, waiting for Holmes to decipher the clues for you?

Everyone strives to be Holmes.
Sometimes you are.
I was in the "Hounds of the Baskervilles".
Being Watson is just as entertaining, when the clues unravel to solve the mystery.<BR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nice, unabridged Sherlock, Nov. 16 1997
By A Customer
This book is a nice, complete and unabridged edition of Doyle's most most famous novel, "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes." Although this edition is cheap, the value of the book is great. This is an excellent book and recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading classics.
So I'd say lay off the big, expensive Sherlock Holmeses and get this one for the same, unabridged text, however, to weigh down the scale, this book has even greater value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He observes instead of sees, so he always knows more., May 13 1997
By A Customer
Each chapter is one case, so it is easy to read. The cases are so easy to solve, after sherlock Holmes tells us the clues to the evidences of course! When I was done with this book, I knew so much about Shelock Holmes' personal life and habits through his best friend, Watson's thorough, vivid details. I enjoyed this book a lot because it brings me to a natural state of sleepiness every time I finish reading a case. Read it! :-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Paperback - Oct. 22 2009)
CDN$ 6.00 CDN$ 4.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews