Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A rare gem
Partial differential equations can be obscure, and are often not dealt with at all at the undergraduate level. Assuming only a reasonable familiarity with calculus and ordinary differential equations, this book is extraordinarily clear and even enjoyable. Divided into neat, digestible segments suitable for self-study, I found it a very useful introduction to PDE's,...
Published on May 25 2000 by Atul Sharma

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Supeficial
It never gets into the details of the matters. It gives just some examples. Not reccommended at all.
Published on May 2 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A rare gem, May 25 2000
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
Partial differential equations can be obscure, and are often not dealt with at all at the undergraduate level. Assuming only a reasonable familiarity with calculus and ordinary differential equations, this book is extraordinarily clear and even enjoyable. Divided into neat, digestible segments suitable for self-study, I found it a very useful introduction to PDE's, covering a very broad range of topics and examples. My only suggestion for improvement would be a more up-to-date review of numeric methods using a computer algebra system. Nonetheless, even this section (examples intended to be worked by hand) is very clear and makes alternate texts much easier to absorb. I would recommend it to anyone wishing to be more comfortable with PDEs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all those who hate PDE's, May 6 1998
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
We all had to go through the drudgery of PDE's in undergraduate courses and except if you're a math major your knowledge of the methods of solution will probably stop at separation of variables, Laplace transform and D'Alembert. This book is an excellent review of a host of methods for solution but what is more important is the physical interpretation of the PDE's the author insists on. Most of the physical examples are drawn from the fields of heat and mechanics but they can be easily applied to electromagnetic and semiconductor charge transport problems. Every aspiring senior in an engineering discipline should study this book for his own good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bare essentials about PDEs, Oct. 30 2001
By 
Leopoldo Farias (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
This is a excellent reference for those interested only in solving PDEs without getting lost with their intimacies. I widely recommended it, for me has been quite useful. This an example of a simple treatment of a very complex subject.
Excelente libro para aquellos que requieran resolver ecuaciones diferenciales parciales sin que por ello estén dispuestos a leer capítulos enteros de fórmulas y procedimientos intrincados. Este es el libro más concreto y completo de ecuaciones diferenciales parciales que yo he leido alguna vez. Altamente Recomendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best INTRODUCTORY text on the subject, Sept. 22 2002
By 
Sot P. Filopoulos (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
As the title implies, this book is not intended to mathematicians, although it could finely serve as additional text for them, too. On the other hand it is excellent as an itroductory overview of the types of PDE's met and the methods used for their solution. There are references to more advanced texts for the interested, excercises in each chapter and, most importantly, nice, qualitative remarks on the properties of mathematical tools (like Fourier and Laplace transform) which help the reader to comprehend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is better than CAPTAIN CRUNCH, Sept. 5 2000
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
Before you read this book: Read up to page 200 or so of "fourier series" by Georgi P. Tolstov. Learn a basic to moderate amount of Ordinary differential equations and a large helping of single varible calculus and a little multivariate calculus. (A small amount of physics may help too).After that this books becomes the most clear and overall well written book on the introduction of partial differential equations EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, Feb. 28 2001
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
the subject of PDE's looks vague and scary for most students, even for those with math background.This book is probably the best education, self-study material available for the subject.It covers all the important aspects with very clear explanations .I bought it as a secondary book for my PDE course based on the amazon's reviews and it was really a very nice experience. Worth more than... and highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Opens vistas to the non-initated pde enthusiast.., Nov. 25 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
Briefly, I found Farlow very acessible and at times amazingly clear in his exposition of the fundamentals of pde. His analysis of the 1-D heat equation with natural bcs; second derivative in space with clamped conditions leading to periodic functions and first order derivative of temp w.r.t to time leading to an exponentially decaying solution. Super job!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Supeficial, May 2 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
It never gets into the details of the matters. It gives just some examples. Not reccommended at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, April 14 2009
By 
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
I haven't read all the chapters but from the parts that I read, I think this book is really well written and organized. I, as a math student, in general prefer a book that is written for mathematician but I am completely pleased with this book (which is not very abstract). The combination of this book with Evans will be a perfect source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, Aug. 21 2010
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
Pretty much everything to be said about this book has already been said in the other reviews, but want to rate it 5 stars anyway. It is an excellent text, because it is clearly written, easily readable, covers a lot of ground, and explains things very intuitively. An unbelievable buy for the low price it is sold for here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers
Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers by Stanley J. Farlow (Paperback - Sept. 1 1993)
CDN$ 24.25 CDN$ 13.68
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews