biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night s Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$16.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 2, 2002
It never gets into the details of the matters. It gives just some examples. Not reccommended at all.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2009
I haven't read all the chapters but from the parts that I read, I think this book is really well written and organized. I, as a math student, in general prefer a book that is written for mathematician but I am completely pleased with this book (which is not very abstract). The combination of this book with Evans will be a perfect source.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2010
Pretty much everything to be said about this book has already been said in the other reviews, but want to rate it 5 stars anyway. It is an excellent text, because it is clearly written, easily readable, covers a lot of ground, and explains things very intuitively. An unbelievable buy for the low price it is sold for here!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2003
Unbeatable as far as breadth. Covers a lot of ground, conceptually it's extremely well organized, and the explanations are very easy to follow. This text is ideal for self-study.
The two major shortcomings are (1) slight lack of depth and (2) the exercises, which are far too few and far too simple.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2002
One thing I like about this book is that it gives a complete coverage of solution methods. I'm sick of finding books that give two or three methods for a limited number of problems.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2002
The strength of this book is its organization. It is all you need to understand and use PDEs. Dont waste your money on other books. This is the best intro there is...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2001
A very gentle introduction to partial differential equations with a very nice mix of theory and applications, plus lots of Fourier Analysis.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 1999
Excellent for beginners and engineers. Clear ideas and interpretations. My suggestion is to own one copy earlier. Worthy every penny!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 1997
This book is an excellent introduction to PDEs with an emphasis on how to understand the equation and interpret the solution.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
I returned this book. Many important results are not derived. The notation used is confusing. I found some errors.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse