Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A rare gem
Partial differential equations can be obscure, and are often not dealt with at all at the undergraduate level. Assuming only a reasonable familiarity with calculus and ordinary differential equations, this book is extraordinarily clear and even enjoyable. Divided into neat, digestible segments suitable for self-study, I found it a very useful introduction to PDE's,...
Published on May 25 2000 by Atul Sharma

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Supeficial
It never gets into the details of the matters. It gives just some examples. Not reccommended at all.
Published on May 2 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
One thing I like about this book is that it gives a complete coverage of solution methods. I'm sick of finding books that give two or three methods for a limited number of problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best PDE book out there!, June 24 2002
By 
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
The strength of this book is its organization. It is all you need to understand and use PDEs. Dont waste your money on other books. This is the best intro there is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Gentle Introduction to PDE's, June 20 2001
By 
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
A very gentle introduction to partial differential equations with a very nice mix of theory and applications, plus lots of Fourier Analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best PDE book for engineering guys, Nov. 5 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
Excellent for beginners and engineers. Clear ideas and interpretations. My suggestion is to own one copy earlier. Worthy every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding intuitive introduction to PDEs, Oct. 29 1997
By 
kenb@golden.net (Waterloo, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to PDEs with an emphasis on how to understand the equation and interpret the solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice reference for non-purist, April 13 2011
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
This book is divided in classes instead of chapters. It's probably more practical or pedagogical, but is not scientific elegant. If you need a quick reference on PDE, and you don't care the elegance or the logical continuity of the contents, this is a good option, specially for the price.
If you need something more advanced, try "Advanced Calculus for Applications" by Francis B. Hildebrand, which is a sort of "Handbook of Calculus": a lot of "How-to's", with references to the "why's". However, it is more expensive than this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, Aug. 21 2010
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
Pretty much everything to be said about this book has already been said in the other reviews, but want to rate it 5 stars anyway. It is an excellent text, because it is clearly written, easily readable, covers a lot of ground, and explains things very intuitively. An unbelievable buy for the low price it is sold for here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, April 14 2009
By 
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
I haven't read all the chapters but from the parts that I read, I think this book is really well written and organized. I, as a math student, in general prefer a book that is written for mathematician but I am completely pleased with this book (which is not very abstract). The combination of this book with Evans will be a perfect source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine enough, March 18 2003
By 
Jeff (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers (Paperback)
I think this book is pretty good, and amazing for the price. I haven't read other books, but I'm sure something more thorough might be better if your lecturer wasn't thorough or effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers
Partial Differential Equations for Scientists and Engineers by Stanley J. Farlow (Paperback - Sept. 1 1993)
CDN$ 24.25 CDN$ 17.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews