Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!
I'm not normally the type of person to read (and enjoy) a book that is based on so much fantasy or fiction. And when I say fiction I mean that in the most extreme sense. But, I just want to say that I loved this book. I found it completely hilarious. The old women are great and the cat...who wouldn't want a cat you don't have to clean up after! Of course it is extreme,...
Published on June 17 2004 by Carrie Sossamon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your Time and Money
Im sorry but I just could not get into this book! It was just too silly for words.
Published on June 30 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, June 17 2004
By 
Carrie Sossamon (Johnson City, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm not normally the type of person to read (and enjoy) a book that is based on so much fantasy or fiction. And when I say fiction I mean that in the most extreme sense. But, I just want to say that I loved this book. I found it completely hilarious. The old women are great and the cat...who wouldn't want a cat you don't have to clean up after! Of course it is extreme, but it makes you question if maybe the FBI or the secret service might actually have something equal to what the B.L.I.S.S. agents use!
I read From Boardwalk With Love from the B.L.I.S.S. series first and loved it so much that I read the others as well. And I must say that I didn't enjoy the other 2 as much. Actually I didn't enjoy Dr. Yes at all. I mean you WANT to believe these stories but when they go completely overboard you just can't do it. But I would recommend The Loving Daylights. If not just for the first few chapters! If you've already read it then you know what I'm talking about... but if not then get read to crack up!!
I just wish that there were more books in this series, there could have been a whole line done about the women of B.L.I.S.S.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your Time and Money, June 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
Im sorry but I just could not get into this book! It was just too silly for words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish, June 6 2003
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
I didn't think it would be possible to be even more fatuous than Austin Powers, but this author succeeds.
I almost cheered when I found a full English sentence. The books read at about the level of "See Spot Run."
As for amusing, if you like slapstick comedy, fine, if not, forget it.
As for sexy, there are 2 love scenes in the whole of the book you have to wait until page 300 for.
A romance is supposed to be a guy and girl falling in love, not continually tearing around all over the place with absurd gadgets and even more absurd dialogue, and eventually deciding they might as well go to bed together to see how it works out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Agent 36DD gets her man!, April 10 2003
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
I love spy spoofs and this was one of the best. This is not a typical romance novel with some spy window dressing. No, the author seems to really understand what makes a good spy tale, and then she spoofs it beautifully.
Agent 36DD is our hero. She has been asigned a very important task for her first field assignment, basically save civilization as we know it. The newbie agent is backed up by a trio of partners (3 agents drawn back into active duty), a special car, and a weapon of ultimate destruction.
Or hero must then travel to an island designed to be a giant Monopoly board so that she can save the owner's life (Owen Sitall).
As the plots are revealed in tantalizing ways, the reader is drawn to the two great questions:
When will she finally hook up with him? and
Who is the bad guy?
This book delivers. The action, plotting and spoofing are handled deftly and delivered in a tantalizing package. A very fun book that makes you wish the other B.L.I.S.S. books were also written by Nina Bangs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Move over James Bond! Very highly recommended, Feb. 2 2003
By 
C. Penn "WordWeaving" (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
Selected for her unusual gift, Camryn O'Brien looks forward to her first assignment with B.L.I.S.S., an international crime fighting organization. Her propensity for singing childhood songs while under stress does not negate her ability to incapacitate men in unprecedented numbers. Indeed, unwanted help, or blatant interference, can land a man in the hospital in record time. Camryn's first assignment, to protect the world's wealthiest man, thrusts her into a world of subterfuge and danger, not to mention a lot of cool toys.
Accompanied by three geriatric retirees, Camryn finds herself on life-size Monopoly board where players risk fortunes. Bad boy Jace Sentori, a man of secrets and a tattooed self-proclamation of Game Master, adds a romantic element that gives danger a whole new meaning. With hot spots implanted under her skin to control F.I.D.O., romantic interludes pose dangerous consequences. But Camryn cannot imagine all the games Jace has ever played, and he never looses.
The first of a series, FROM BOARDWALK WITH LOVE is a playful romantic romp that will while away a lazy afternoon with delighted giggles, not to mention outright guffaws. With her MaryKay pink Cadillac and robotic cat F.I.D.O, Camryn embarks upon a wonderfully comedic journey, determined to prove her independence and self-reliance. Unfortunately, every time she reaches the point of combustion with sexy Jace, circumstances blow them apart again. With lots of teasing, word play, and spoofing, author Nina Bangs creates an eccentric delight readers will adore. FROM BOARDWALK WITH LOVE comes very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super kick off to the B.L.I.S.S SERIES, Feb. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
Dorchester Publishing has a new monthly series of books - each a different tale about the female agents of B.L.I.S.S. a take off, obviously, of the James Bond books. The covers even has the same flavour of the 60's Ian Fleming novels that went on to be movies. First up is Nina Bangs with From Boardwalk With Love, in February you get charming Lisa Cach with Dr. Yes, and Queen of the Hysterics Lynsay Sands' The Loving Daylight (have already read this one and it's Lynsay at her side splitting-best!). Each book is done by one of Dorchester's brightest stars and if they keep up, we are in for some wonderful treats. I am especially hoping to see more out of Lynsay's characters - they are ripe for further adventures!!
From Boardwalk with Love is a good kick off for the series, from the talented Nina, giving you the first of this tongue-firmly-through-check spy romps. Camryn O'Brien is agent 36DD, on her first assignment. If is not enough to shake a gal's confidence, super-spy, double agent Jace Sentori is on her trail. He may or may not be the enemy, but he is determined to kill Camryn. As with Lynsay's book, Camyrn get some help (?) from retired B.L.I.S.S. agents, armed a secret weapon that needs to be kept secret for it more dangerous to her than the enemy - thus ready, Camryn sallies forth on her charger...hum, pink Cadillac to save the world and buckleswashes with L.O.V.E.R. - League of Violent Economic Revolutionaries - eh, tree-huggers gone radical?? She ends up on teeny weeny isle off South America, that has been set up to be a reflection of the game Monopoly, where Camryn must battle evil doers to keep the richest man in the world alive (Bill Gates? :-o). Trying to prevent her - other than Jace out to kill her - is Zed (no, not an escapee from MIB!). This Zed is L.O.V.E.R.S most deadly agent and he is out to take the board or go home with the toys. Camryn would like to trust Jace also known as the Game Master, but let's face it, when a man wants to kill you, it puts a damper on the romance. But Camryn will just have to learn no man is perfect!!
A delightful romp, that will leave you eager for Cach's and Sand's books!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars smart Bond in Oz romance, Jan. 18 2003
By 
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
B.L.I.S.S. learns that L.O.V.E.R. plans to kill the world's richest person Owen Sitall, owner of much of the free world and a good chunk of the semi-free crowd too. The earth's deadliest assassin Zed of the League of Violent Economic Revolutionaries will take action before Owen attends the World Economic Summit in Paris in thirteen days. Knowing the repercussions on the global economy, B.L.I.S.S. assigns new recruit Camryn O'Brien better known as Agent 36-DD to protect Owen. Agent 36-DD was chosen because she knows Monopoly is as American as apple pie; that particular game Owen, a perpetual loser with board games outside of the boardroom, has installed island-wide at his home base.
Almost as soon as Camryn and her B.L.I.S.S. teammates reach Owen's island to play Monopoly, she sees Jace Sentori. He is mysterious and SEXY, which stands for hunk. Camryn is not sure whether she should ignore her over-beating heart because he may be Zed in disguise as Jace obviously has a secret and an agenda for visiting Owen's Boardwalk.
Take Get Smart and place the show in the twenty-first century, but have Agent 99 as the star and the reader has the basic concept of FROM BOARDWALK WITH LOVE, the first B.L.I.S.S. tale. Camryn is a delightfully smart "Jane Bond" while the audience will have to read the novel to learn if Jace goes to jail or passes go and obtains a Monopoly on Camryn's heart. This Bond in Oz tale never takes itself seriously as Nina Bangs skewers the macho espionage hunk leaving no prisoners (except for a renegade agent or two).
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A ... on Fun!, Jan. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
No one knows what BLISS stands for, but a secret agency of female crime fighters works for me. Look out James Bond. Nina Bangs uses her wicked imagination and produces a kicky twist on the secret agent genre. From a robotic cat to her body parts that you touch at your own risk, Camryn is equipped to save the world. Then sexy Jace Sentori gets in the way. The fun begins and, aided by three geriatric agents who still have what it takes, Camryn and Jace discover that nothing is better than Going to Jail. An eccentric [game] fanatic and wacky characters also help make From Boardwalk with Love laugh out funny and sizzling sexy. Don't miss this newest effort from Nina Bangs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOL funny!, Jan. 8 2003
By 
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
Look out James Bond, here comes B.L.I.S.S.! Camryn has looks, intellect, and everything a woman could want, except a man. She has the unfortunate psychic talent of causing terrble diseaster to befall any man who tries to protect her or manage her life. Fortunately, super secret spy agency, B.L.I.S.S. finds that talent an assett, and recruits her into their organization.
Camryn's first case is, shall we say, a doozy. She is sent to an exotic island to protect the world's richest man from the evil machinations of enemy agents of L.O.V.E.R., who has sent its most deadly killer, ZED to take out the Monopoly (as in boardgame) obsessed zillionaire. To assist her, Camryn has three retired agents, a pink Caddy, a killer (literally) warddrobe, and an ultimate weapon disguised as a cat named F.I.D.O, aka Meathead. Making life even more difficult is the fact that her prime suspect is Jace, the Gamemaster of the island. Jace definitely has his own agenda, but is it a sinister one?
***** Laugh out loud fun awaits the reader in this novel that stretches the imagination and is one of the most innovative books of the past few months. You will never know what to expect next when you open the pages of FROM THE BOARDWALK .... Of course, from the ever fun Ms. Bangs, how could you not have a merry time? *****
Reviewed by Amanda Killgore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Landing on Boardwalk, Jan. 7 2003
This review is from: From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
I know that it's difficult to believe that anything written by an author with the last name of Bangs could be worthy of the nearly 400 pages that it is printed on, but belive it, Nina knows her stuff. With her fourth full-length novel, she is leaning towards less of the shocking smuttiness of her earlier works, but if you like a steamy fantasy, this will fill the bill. Even with wholly unbelievable plots, magical cats, and the perfect man always at the unsuspecting female's fingertips, Nina has a way of drawing you into the world she has created. I have to admit, after not reading romance novels since I was 14, Nina sucked me back in. She has imagination and an excellent style. If you like the other ones, read this one too. If you laugh at those of us that you see reading books like this, pick one up, you'll be surprised what treasures you can find when you lease expect it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Boardwalk with Love
From Boardwalk with Love (Mass Market Paperback)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews