Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Earth dweller meets Vash in wilful clash, Oct. 8 2003
By 
K. Newman "krazykmcd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Star Princess (Mass Market Paperback)
Sequentially a direct sequel to Star Prince, this book tells the story of Ian Hamilton's headstrong sister Ilana. The events of Star Prince are several months behind them, but Ilana cannot forget Prince Ché Vedla. For his part, Ché has found himself equally fixated on his Crown Prince's sister, despite having an empire of his own to look to. As one of the original Eight Houses, the Vedla's are proudest of all at being able to trace their unbroken line of kings back to the origins of the current Federation. Ché is expected to marry a Princess of the highest credentials, Vash through and through. And as eldest son and heir, it is an expectation he himself holds.
As Ian Hamilton married his intended, to save face Ché's advisors have suggested that Ché marry first. Seeing the wisdom (in Vash terms) of this advice, Ché agrees. But while they are seeking his bride, Ché plans a vacation - to Earth. There he plans to seek out Illana and purge her from his system.
And so a tradition-filled alien Vash Prince comes to Earth to meet destiny in the form of a tempestuous, adventurous, fun filled, unpredictable and definitely NOT true Vash Princess Ilanna Hamilton.
Ilanna is not the only one to like happy endings. This book continues a series that I can see might carry on in the future, but could tie up the ends of the stories of the current generation. I was very pleased that Grant had written Illana's story, as I liked her a lot when I read 'Star Prince'. Although largely predictable in terms of plot, Grant has written an enjoyable story of two opposites attracting, and has taken the effort of considering how two such people might be able to join their very different cultures together to the benefit of both. I had trouble accepting Illana's acceptance of Ché's suggestion that they marry which seemed a little rushed to me, but I accept that in terms of the pace of the book it was necessary.
I feel that readers should try 'Star Prince' first to get the most out of this book. Having done so myself, I enjoyed Ché and Ilanna's tumble into love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Always, Consistently Talented!, Aug. 17 2003
By 
Katherine L. Schlem "Mother of boys, bookworm... (Olathe, Kansas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Star Princess (Mass Market Paperback)
Spurned by his betrothed, Che Vedla nevertheless feels a sense of duty to his people, his planet, his future subjects. Redeeming the family image in the eyes of the Federation, he agrees to have another bride chosen while he goes on holiday. However, the destination is one of great interest amongst his inner circle - Earth. The planet of the new "Barbarian" Crown Prince, Ian Hamilton B'kah, the man who stole both his bride and his title. His choice of tour guides, even more contentious than his destination - Princess Ilana Hamilton B'kah, Ian's flight-phobic sister.
Ilana has no idea what she is in for, however. She believes Che is simply there to tour one last time, before his forced arranged marriage. But things turn out much differently. Though she initially sees Che as a cold traditionalist, immune to the possibilities of freedom, of choice, she is intrigued by the possibilities of "corrupting" this paragon of Vash Nadah virtue. Goaded on by a bet with her brother, she has every intention of showing Che what he would be missing if he chooses to marry someone his advisors have chosen. What she doesn't realize, though, is that she is every bit as capable of falling for this straight-laced Vedla as the next available woman.
A series of failed "blind-dates" and various other sundry amusements follow, some of which make it back to Eireya, the Vedla home world. Klark Vedla, under house arrest for attempting to assassinate Ian B'kah as he besmirched the Vedla name by stealing Tee'ah Dar from Che, seeks a way to escape and kidnap Ilana. He thinks if he were able to abduct Ilana, that it would be the only way to redeem the family in the Federation.
As the relationship between Che and Ilana grows, the unknown threat of Klark is hovering ever nearer. Is he drifting into Insanity by his audacious plan of abduction, or is there something much less sinister about his motives? Is there another threat to the happiness, which Che and Ilana seem to have found? Only time will tell in this, one of the most amazing sequels ever to be written in a book series. This book stands alone at the top of the pile, surpassing everything Susan Grant has written to date. A highly worthy addition to any true romance reader's "keeper shelf", this book is a testament to a talent, which just gets better and better with each new title she produces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exotic and Sexy!, Aug. 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Star Princess (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first Susan Grant book, and I have to say that I loved it, and I hope her other books are as good!! I have never really read science fiction romance novels, but this by far exceeded my expectations. The book has just the right amounts of action, adventure, and sexiness to make it a fast paced novel that you just can not put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now this is ROMANCE !, Aug. 6 2003
By 
"mellee40" (Northern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Star Princess (Mass Market Paperback)
The Star Princess is Susan Grant's 3rd fantastic book in the Star anthology. Hopefully to become a series and far, far from over! Che and Ilana are wonderfully matched and so much fun and playful. Che's ultra sexy and <sigh> so romantic. He puts the hunk in hunky... the honor in honorable. He can be my *bodyguard* any day. Ilana's fun, feisty, energetic and we all need a best friend just like her. The Star Princess has very well-written love scenes that are steamy, romantic and, shall we say, hot. Whew, very hot! There's a bit of intrigue, bets on the side (Ian-the big sweetheart-is back to rile his twin), a wonderfully sweet and unexpected secondary romance. Oh, and Tock! Lots and lots of Tock. Yum. (What's Tock? Read it and find out.) I also want to thank Ms. Grant for giving all us flying-phobes something to laugh about when we are forced to consider boarding a plane. Not that Sue "Ms.-I-can-fly-anything" would ever understand, but Ilana does. LOL! I so enjoyed reading this book. I whole-heartedly recommend The Star Princess. You will NOT be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tremendous addition to the series., Aug. 5 2003
By 
Katherine L. Schlem "Mother of boys, bookworm... (Olathe, Kansas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Star Princess (Mass Market Paperback)
Spurned by his betrothed, Che Vedla nevertheless feels a sense of duty to his people, his planet, his future subjects. Redeeming the family image in the eyes of the Federation, he agrees to have another bride chosen while he goes on holiday. However, the destination is one of great interest amongst his inner circle - Earth. The planet of the new "Barbarian" Crown Prince, Ian Hamilton B'kah, the man who stole both his bride and his title. His choice of tour guides, even more contentious than his destination - Princess Ilana Hamilton B'kah, Ian's flight-phobic sister.
Ilana has no idea what she is in for, however. She believes Che is simply there to tour one last time, before his forced arranged marriage. But things turn out much differently. Though she initially sees Che as a cold traditionalist, immune to the possibilities of freedom, of choice, she is intrigued by the possibilities of "corrupting" this paragon of Vash Nadah virtue. Goaded on by a bet with her brother, she has every intention of showing Che what he would be missing if he chooses to marry someone his advisors have chosen. What she doesn't realize, though, is that she is every bit as capable of falling for this straight-laced Vedla as the next available woman.
A series of failed "blind-dates" and various other sundry amusements follow, some of which make it back to Eireya, the Vedla home world. Klark Vedla, under house arrest for attempting to assassinate Ian B'kah as he besmirched the Vedla name by stealing Tee'ah Dar from Che, seeks a way to escape and kidnap Ilana. He thinks if he were able to abduct Ilana, that it would be the only way to redeem the family in the Federation.
As the relationship between Che and Ilana grows, the unknown threat of Klark is hovering ever nearer. Is he drifting into Insanity by his audacious plan of abduction, or is there something much less sinister about his motives? Is there another threat to the happiness, which Che and Ilana seem to have found? Only time will tell in this, one of the most amazing sequels ever to be written in a book series. This book stands alone at the top of the pile, surpassing everything Susan Grant has written to date. A highly worthy addition to any true romance reader's "keeper shelf", this book is a testament to a talent, which just gets better and better with each new title she produces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars strong science fiction romance, Aug. 5 2003
By 
Harriet Klausner - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Star Princess (Mass Market Paperback)
Vash Nadah Prince Che Vedla seems adjusted to the fact that his former betrothed Princess Tee'ah broke her vows to him and pledged to wed earthling Ian Hamilton. Che's adaptation is quite remarkable because he lost more than a bride; he lost his place as heir to the crown to the newcomer. Che's advisors believe he must restore pride in the monarchy by marrying a suitable princess though much of the recent scandal was caused by others including his house arrested brother Klark for trying to assassinate Ian.
Knowing he has six months left as a bachelor, Che decides to use it wisely by chasing skirts on earth. He visits Ian's film making sister Ilana, but finds he is very attracted to her and she fells the same although she is in denial. However, with scandals rocking the royals and some people feeling their time has passed, can Che risk causing another mess by wooing the woman he loves, the totally unsuitable Ilana; who detests the concept of being in front of the camera as a royal always is.
THE STAR PRINCESS is a strong science fiction romance that focuses on the complex conflict between the obligation to one's country vs. duty to one's self and loved ones. The star-crossed lead couple with a strong support cast makes Susan Grant's galaxy seem real and the dilemma that Che faces plausible. Though the previous two tales (THE STAR KING and THE STAR PRINCE) were powerful entries, THE STAR PRINCESS is the best of the series due to the hero's attitude and quandary.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun! 4 and 9/10 stars!, July 31 2003
This review is from: The Star Princess (Mass Market Paperback)
Heroine: curvaceous
Pampered playboy Prince Ché Vedla of the planet Eiryea is caught in the middle of conflicting royal intrigues. His family is in danger of losing face in the Federation because his betrothed has thrown him over for another man, whom Ché's brother Klark is under house arrest for trying to murder. Ché's advisors decide the best way around the situation would be for him to marry before his former fiancée does. But Ché, though willing to do what duty and honor requires of him, doesn't want to stick around through the process of finding himself the correct bride. So he hightails it to Earth--and meets with none other than the sister of the man who stole his fiancée!
To the world at large, independent filmmaker Ilana Hamilton looks like a strong woman. But deep down she is afraid. Afraid of flying. Afraid of commitment. Afraid of having her heart broken. But one thing she is not afraid of is Prince Ché Vedla. He's simply the arrogant, annoying, uninvited houseguest (and soon-to-be-brother-in-law) who turned up on her doorstep unannounced in the dead of night. Clearly, it's not her fault she doused a Prince of the galaxy with pepper spray!
But sparks are soon flying between the two and before long it looks like things will be getting spicier than the contents of the canister Ilana erroneously emptied on Ché.
If only he wasn't bound by eleven thousand years of tradition to marry a Vash Nadah woman who is his equal!
What worked for me:
Ilana and the ultra-Alpha male Ché were great characters and the culture clash that resulted from their interactions was very amusing at times.
I loved the fact that the Conan-type bodyguard in the story (named Muffin of all things!) really dug thick chicks.
And hopefully Ms. Grant's vision of the future comes true in at least one respect: all the cars on the CA freeways in her story are electric.
Size-wise Ilana was barely described and would have been considered an "everywoman" character but for the briefest of references to her strong, shapely figure.
What didn't work for me:
Dropping into the middle of this series wasn't a problem for me as I felt I got a fairly good background on what was happening in this universe. But those who have already read "The Star Prince" and "The Star King" may possibly find themselves scanning past the background passages so they can find out what's new in the Star world.
Overall:
I'd recommend this sexy, enjoyable story to fans of futuristic romances, but it's not for sci-fi addicts looking for a book with hard science between its pages.
Warning: The Prince has a brief steamy dalliance with one of his courtesans in the beginning of the story, and there are some other spicy passages later on in the book as well.
If you liked "The Star Princess" you might also enjoy "Ascendant Sun", "StarKissed", "Star-Crossed Lovers", "Oracle", the "Darkover" series, "Channeling Cleopatra", "Cosm", "HomeGoing", "A Civil Campaign", "Memory", "Mirror Dance", or "Time Pressure".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Struck!!!, July 31 2003
By 
L. Theroux "lindaetea" (West Warwick, RI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Star Princess (Mass Market Paperback)
Positively enchanting! Susan Grant has done it again! She has incorporated old fashion romance and sensitivity with "out of this world male sexuality"! What could be better? Not much, when it comes to Prince Che'. Especially for Ilana, when she receives a surprise visit from the handsome Prince, who claims to be seeking to sow his wild oats before he commits to an arranged marriage to someone he has never met! And he can't understand why her brother, "The Crown Prince" did not alert her to his impending arrival. (Hummm?) As their relationship as "bodyguard" and "tour guide" develop into an unexpected, intense, love story, Che's emotional support helps Ilana overcome her fear of flying (and falling in love), while Ilana's free spirit and love of life breaks down all of the deep rooted, ancient values and perceptions of what a traditional Vedla Prince's wife should be, awakening his heart to an everlasting love. It was great to revist old friends, Jas and Rom and an interesting sub-plot of murder and betrayal will keep you on the edge. I couldn't put this book down, and I was saddened when I had finished. I wanted this book to go on and on...It was such a fun read. If you have read the two previous stories of The Star King and The Star Prince, you are going to love this one! Hey, SG...how about a sequal about the dark and mysterious Klark! This whole series is definately a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2aa242c)

This product

The Star Princess
The Star Princess by Susan Grant (Mass Market Paperback - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews