Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Great read by a great author.
Published 4 months ago by Andrew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as reviews indicated
The humor in this book tended primarily toward slapstick, and though it was funny at times, I've read much funnier. Katie MacAlister's Improper English is funnier by a a hundred miles. Some scenes, like the Renaissance Ball, went on too long.
Honestly, much of it was too slow and uninteresting to me. It took me a good while to read it. In fact, I stopped about 1/3 of...
Published on May 10 2004 by S. Reader


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great read by a great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, side splitting, sexy romp!, Sept. 5 2003
By 
This review is from: Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Lynsay absolutely rocks with her new series about a dysfunctional vampire family! I won't go into the plot line too heavy because you need to experience all the surprises and delights yourself.
A mother, two sons and a daughter (and more relatives to come hopefully) face the every day struggles of vampire existence in the 21st Century. In this tale, originally called Lucern, we meet Lucern Argeneau, the first son.
He is a four hundred year old vampire, getting by in the dreary world by writing contemporary romances about...well, vampires...only no one catches on he is merely writing about his family. To his surprise, they are a big success, so much so his editor, Kate C. Leever of Roundhouse Publishing is determined to drag the reclusive writer to the Romantic Times Convention.
Lucern is a grumpy - albeit sexy - curmudgeon, and he is determined NOT to go to a book convention. However, Kate is a whirlwind, an editor - who has little life outside her work - so she is firmly determined to drag him kicking and screaming into the limelight. She gets aid from his family, who think Kate is not only a super editor, but also the perfect mate for Lucern. And while Lucern loves her as an editor - at a distance - he hates to admit he feels an attraction for the pushy lady.
Only, romance for the vampire - as well as attending a book convention - has a lot of modern day drawbacks. Kate fits in well with his family, though she finds them a bit odd. Lynsay is known for her side-aching humour, but she is at top form as Lucern is forced into the world of sunshine and supermarkets. Being your totally civilised vamp, Lucian does not go around biting necks - let's face it, in today's situation of aids, drugs and diseases only a foolish vampire runs around taking blood without knowing the donor's lifestyle! Being a smart vampire family, they have invested in a series of blood banks, and have a steady supply delivered to them. Only Kate's presence causes Lucern to miss din-din more than once, making him so famished he considers attacking a steak in the local market.
By the time Kate installs Lucern in the convention hotel, she is becoming concerned there is something very wrong with Lucern's health. From the mad escapade at the Ball for the Romance Times (with an appearance of Lady of RT herself!!) to Kate coming to terms with her popular vampire writer might just be writing biographies instead of fiction, it is typical Lynsay wit and brilliance.
Lucern is sexy, deliciously grumpy and is the new wave of vampires for the 21st Century. I have always enjoyed every book Lynsay was written, but I must say she takes the gold ring with this wonderful funny book! I fell in love with Lucern, so cannot wait for the rest of the Argeneau family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yay, finally they released it as mp3, April 7 2010
By 
Harmony K. (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazon only allows one review for all versions of the book. I want to give 1 star to the $70 audio CD version (LOL, $70). ZERO stars to the preloaded audio player version (what a horrible idea, it has at least 5 fatal flaws IMO). I do want to give 5 stars to the MP3 version and the paperback.

I love this Argeneau series. It's hilarious and there's lots of action. I own all the paperbacks. So glad to see that they finally released it a third one as MP3.

If the publisher reads this - hi there, keep up the good work. If you release MP3 CD versions of the other 11 books in the series, under $20, I'll buy them, promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lynsay Sands is Incredible, Feb. 8 2009
By 
J. Goodbrand "Jamielynn" (ontario canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This whole series just gets better, I truly love how she incorporates her characters in all her books but writes them independently...if you start the series at book 3 your not lost. I hated turning the last page as the characters truly come to life and the world you find yourself in is believable and a true escape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh Out Loud Funny!, June 28 2004
By 
Tanya L. Schaub "TSchlaack" (Livermore, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Lucern Argeneau is a four hundred year old vampire, trying to adapt to the 21st century. He has decided that to do so he will tell the "fiction" stories of his family, which once his editor sees them decided they are fantastic contemporary romances. To his surprise, they are a big success, so much so his editor, Kate C. Leever is trying to drag him to a romance convention to promote his books. Lucern is a very sexy and grumpy 30/400 year old, and he is determined NOT to go to a book convention. However, Kate is a whirlwind, an editor who is in need of a life and a good career move she not only shows up on his doorstep but she gets aid from his family to make him go. By the time Kate installs Lucern in the convention hotel; she is becoming concerned there is something very wrong with Lucern's health. She is shocked to find out the truth when she figures out his stories are not fiction. All the while you can see the 2 of them falling in love! This is part of a series but you can easily read them out of order.
As usual L. Sands makes me laugh out loud with her writings. I love the scene at the supermarket where he is almost to the point of stalking a woman through the store. Also when he is watching Monty Pyton for the first time is hysterical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!!, June 27 2004
This review is from: Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading her first book in the series; Love Bites I had to run out the very next day and buy Single White Vampire. It was fantastic. Lynsay Sands gives us a look into the world of romance book writing and their writing conventions. A great series of books about not-quite your run of the mill vampires. I recomend this book and the others in the series to anyone who loves a good funny story or loves to read romance books with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot damn! :-), June 27 2004
By 
Donna "Donna L" (NJ, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first 'Vampire Romance' and it rocked! I read the whole thing in a day and I wanted more lol Lynsay's talent and wit is on each and every page.....keep 'em coming Lynsay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too Cute to Pass Up!, June 2 2004
This review is from: Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was very cute, and worthy of 5 stars because it delivers a funny, romantic, energetic, and modern love story. Although the title may be off-putting to some, this book is thoroughly modern ! The references (i.e. Buffy the Vampire Slayer and all the latest in condom-wear) keep the book from taking itself too seriously, and the result is some very funny scenes involving the two characters. Admittedly, some of the scenes did go on a bit long, but overall it didn't detract from the story. The main character, Lucern is more of an old-fashioned romantic than a vampire, and the vampire references are actually pretty minimal. The story is first and foremost about a romance, and the vampire thing is just secondary in this book. The characters are very funny at times, and very romantic too. I look forward to Etienne and Rachel's story in Love Bites. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thought I'd "die" laughing!!!!, May 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have just finished reading SWV and now I've started on "Love Bites", which is said to be the sequel, but it seems to take place prior to the time of SWV. I agree with one reviewer who said that you should probably read "Love Bites" first, because it tells the story of how Etienne and Rachael got together. They are indeed already married in the SWV, which can get somewhat confusing. I don't understand why Lynsay Sands wrote them in this order. Enough said about that! This story was somewhat different in the humor than the Katie MacAlister vampire romance books I had previously finished. Luc (the vampire) was so..funny, whereas the girl was somewhat "normal" or "straitlaced" in contrast to the girls in the Katie MacAlister books, who were much more witty and outrageous! I agree with the reader who also laughed at the codpiece scene at the Romanic Times Convention, and later when Luc was trying to desperately purchase condoms at the hotel! I never laughed so hard, and I was afraid someone would see me and think I had lost my mind! Read this book!! Luc came across as somewhat stuffy in the beginning, but was so hilarious throughout the rest of the story. Read this book!!! I am now anxious to see how Etienne and Rachael got together, as their characters had cameo appearances in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I Can See Why He's Still Single..., May 11 2004
This review is from: Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Have you ever read a book with an interesting plot idea but with characters you just didn't like? That's how I felt about Single White Vampire.
Kate C. Leever is the editor for Lucern Argeneau, a popular paranormal fiction writer. When Kate's job demands that she book Argeneau for a publicity tour, she finds Argeneau QUITE uncooperative. When Argeneau continues to resist her demands, Leever travels to Toronto to meet him. Thus begins a rather annoying and banal vampire story which tries to be funny but quite simply wasn't.
I wanted to like this story, but I HATED the character of Lucern. I'm not a big fan of 'growly' fuss-bucket heroes to begin with, but Lucern is so cranky he needs to invest in serious Midol. What's so funny about one syllable answers to everything? Also, I just didn't find this book very romantic.. Lucern was just NOT a nice guy, and Kate's attitude was so unrealistic and perky it was not to be believed. Sure Kate...Stay with an abusive mean man, and hope you'll be able to change him...Righttt.......
I found this novel disappointing. Sand's other books were much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 3)
Single White Vampire (Argeneau Vampires, Book 3) by Lynsay Sands (Mass Market Paperback - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews