Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
I had a lot of trouble putting this book down (and I tend to be hard to please when it comes to finding a book that will keep my attention!). If you're a James Patterson fan or a Patricia Cornwell fan, I think you'll love this one! The story lines are similar and it is just as fast-paced.
Published on Aug. 5 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but fun
This is a fun book if you're not too analytical and don't try to make it match reality. The repartee is very good; the characters are unusual; and it's bloody satisfying to have a female character going after a serial killer with every intention of blowing him away. But the factual innaccuracies are jarring, and the number of wacko characters defies belief. So just...
Published on April 16 1998


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars E for Effort and Earnesty , J for Juvenille, Sept. 9 2003
By 
Angie (Columbia, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
More often than not (unfortunately) you read a poorly written novel by a bestselling author and wonder if the book got by the editor/publisher just because of the author's name. This is a perfect example. Why?
1) Great writers pay attention to detail without going overboard. In this case "less is more" is NOT more. Nothing here rings credible except for the mention of Hogan's Alley (which turns what seems to be a Keystone Cops routine into a trite, unfunny incident.) It's like the author declined to do anything more than superficial research.
2) Dialogue should flow and realistically represent how a character would talk (in this case FBI agents). In the MAZE, dialogue often sounds stilted and grown adults talk like teenagers.
3) Complex cases (i.e. serial killers) are not solved so easily as by the stroke of a computer key and a "oh gee, it must be someone who hated them" attitude.
4) The "Sherlock" shtick got old REAL FAST. Once is cute, EVERY time Lacey meets someone (and is kidded about her name) is corny and downright annoying.
It's not that you expect great literature from all thrillers but for a pleasant, well-researched and well-executed light romantic suspense read, check out the Harlequin Intrigue line. You'll fare much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but fun, April 16 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a fun book if you're not too analytical and don't try to make it match reality. The repartee is very good; the characters are unusual; and it's bloody satisfying to have a female character going after a serial killer with every intention of blowing him away. But the factual innaccuracies are jarring, and the number of wacko characters defies belief. So just ignore the little voice in your head that says "It just doesn't work this way!" and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, Aug. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
I had a lot of trouble putting this book down (and I tend to be hard to please when it comes to finding a book that will keep my attention!). If you're a James Patterson fan or a Patricia Cornwell fan, I think you'll love this one! The story lines are similar and it is just as fast-paced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a High School creative writing project, June 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with the reviewer from Alexandria, VA. I'm amazed at the number of 5-star reviews this book garnered, since I could've written the dialogue from this book when I was a sophomore in high school.
To give just one example (out of dozens of possibilities), when an agent on the CAU is caught leaking information to the press, her confrontation with her superior read more like a fight behind the bleachers during homecoming than anything you would expect from professionals. Would said agent really be simply reassigned? Wouldn't the superior have something a little more cutting to say about the lapse than the comebacks that were about as snappy as "Oh, yeah?"? I found myself rolling my eyes so often I'm surprised they didn't stick that way.
In short, the plot had promise, but the immature writing brings this book down in quality to the point that it's hard to believe an author of Coulter's stature actually wrote it. (Is it possible she has a 15-year-old niece who's using her name?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lacey and Dillon are a hit, Feb. 20 2003
By 
Victoria Mosher (Independence, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
I was introduced to Dillon Savich in "The Cove" and liked how he solved crimes using MAX. When I found out that he had a book of his own, I was excited. What I really liked about this book is how Lacey and Dillon fell in love slowly. I also liked how Ms. Coulter gave details. I also found humor in this book, a rare thing. I thought her parents were hilarious. What I didn't like was there was hardly any actual romance going on. I also didn't like the backstory with Lacey and her sister, Belinda. What kind of sister does that to her sister. All in all, I really liked this book and looking forward to "The Target".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!! Catherine Coulter is awesome., Feb. 10 2003
By 
Pinktulip "Cat" (Chattanooga, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
Catherine Coulter does it again. What a enthralling book. Lacey Sherlock is driven to find the man who killed her sister. What better way to do that than to join the FBI. There she meets Dillon Savich who brings her into his computer forensic team. She is right where she needs to be in order to find out about the String Killer. During this time, Sherlock and Savich are becoming closer by working out together at the gym and working on the same cases. Finally, after seven years, the killer strikes again. She recognizes his m.o. immediately and rushes to Boston to capture him. Unfortunately, she does not tell Savich what she is doing and then the fun begins. He is furious that she has not told him of her past. After several days, he decides to let her pursue the case, but only with him as her partner. Many twists and turns follow to make you wonder if the string killer really did it.Was it the jealous husband? Was it her judgemental father? Her crazy mother? This book will keep you guessing until the end. Sherlock and Savich are a lot fun and their love story is wonderful. Also, if you read the first book in this series, The Cove, then look for James and Sally Quinlan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best of the FBI series, Feb. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
Coulter gets high marks for this book. The instant chemistry between Savich and Sherlock is enough reason to read this book. However the suspense and danger surrounding the maze creates thrill and excitement. I had such a hard time putting this book down that I stayed up all night to read it. Coulter began the FBI series with The Cove, which was a good book, but the Maze is the definite front runner. The characters of Savich and Sherlock are so likeable that they make appearances in her following FBI series. I was actually disappointed that they were moved to secondary characters because these agents definitely deserve the spotlight. This is a definite buy, and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock and Savich meet - ah what a team, Oct. 18 2002
By 
Tanya L. Schaub "TSchlaack" (Livermore, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the story where Dillon and Sherlock first meet. If you have not read/listened to this one yet it is a must in the FBI series by Catherine Coulter.
Lacy Sherlock has decided to become and FBI agent after a terrifying issue in her past makes her afraid to even go out of the house. She decided that if she does nothing else she will find the person who killed her sister and have vengeance.
Enter Savich who Sherlock bests in one of their first meetings which intrigues him quite a bit. Then he requests her in his unit at the FBI.
She finds this is the perfect opportunity to look for the string killer and at the first opportunity lies to Dillon and takes off for Boston to track him down. At the same time she has been doing well in the unit and helping to catch killers.
Her sisters old husband also seems to be a bit to infatuated with her and this causes a lot of tension. As well as her dysfunctional family.
I really enjoyed this story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Embarrasingly Adolescent, Oct. 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
This embarrasingly adolescent book has absolutely no redeeming virtues, and I would recomend fans of the genre to look elsewhere: to James Patterson, Martin Cruz Smith, or Patricia Cornwell.
Although the book is supposed to be set in Washington, DC, the city is unrecognizable. Compared to Patterson, who salts his Alex Cross books with details that reflect knowledge of and affection for the city, Coulter seems to have never visited DC, or even bothered looking at a map of the city.
Worse, her characters are disconnected from the world the rest of us live in. One of the two main characters openly engages in what can only be called sexual harrassment towards the other main character, but the other characters watch this with approval, as does Coulter herself.
Naming this new organization within the FBI the "Criminal Apprehension Unit" is another example of Coulter's laziness. What, exactly, does she think the rest of the FBI does, if not apprehend criminals? Another lazy shortcut is the "magic computer" that is the chief investigative asset of this "Criminal Apprehension Unit". While computers are indispensible to the modern investigator, Coulter doesn't bother including them in ways that make sense. She pays no attention to their real capabilities.
In short, this book is terrible, with amateurish style, unbelievable characters, and a ridiculous plot. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book rocks......, Sept. 26 2002
By 
"kcash96" (Columbus, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
I love catherine coulter. I have read all of her books and this one is great. She writes very well adn allows to conjure images in your head. Plot twist and all!!! If you love a good mystery mixed in with a little romance then she is the writer for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbcfcf888)

This product

The Maze
The Maze by Catherine Coulter (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 30 2010)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews