Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!! Catherine Coulter is awesome.
Catherine Coulter does it again. What a enthralling book. Lacey Sherlock is driven to find the man who killed her sister. What better way to do that than to join the FBI. There she meets Dillon Savich who brings her into his computer forensic team. She is right where she needs to be in order to find out about the String Killer. During this time, Sherlock and Savich are...
Published on Feb. 10 2003 by Pinktulip

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars E for Effort and Earnesty , J for Juvenille
More often than not (unfortunately) you read a poorly written novel by a bestselling author and wonder if the book got by the editor/publisher just because of the author's name. This is a perfect example. Why?
1) Great writers pay attention to detail without going overboard. In this case "less is more" is NOT more. Nothing here rings credible except for the...
Published on Sept. 9 2003 by Angie


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars E for Effort and Earnesty , J for Juvenille, Sept. 9 2003
By 
Angie (Columbia, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
More often than not (unfortunately) you read a poorly written novel by a bestselling author and wonder if the book got by the editor/publisher just because of the author's name. This is a perfect example. Why?
1) Great writers pay attention to detail without going overboard. In this case "less is more" is NOT more. Nothing here rings credible except for the mention of Hogan's Alley (which turns what seems to be a Keystone Cops routine into a trite, unfunny incident.) It's like the author declined to do anything more than superficial research.
2) Dialogue should flow and realistically represent how a character would talk (in this case FBI agents). In the MAZE, dialogue often sounds stilted and grown adults talk like teenagers.
3) Complex cases (i.e. serial killers) are not solved so easily as by the stroke of a computer key and a "oh gee, it must be someone who hated them" attitude.
4) The "Sherlock" shtick got old REAL FAST. Once is cute, EVERY time Lacey meets someone (and is kidded about her name) is corny and downright annoying.
It's not that you expect great literature from all thrillers but for a pleasant, well-researched and well-executed light romantic suspense read, check out the Harlequin Intrigue line. You'll fare much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but fun, April 16 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a fun book if you're not too analytical and don't try to make it match reality. The repartee is very good; the characters are unusual; and it's bloody satisfying to have a female character going after a serial killer with every intention of blowing him away. But the factual innaccuracies are jarring, and the number of wacko characters defies belief. So just ignore the little voice in your head that says "It just doesn't work this way!" and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a High School creative writing project, June 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with the reviewer from Alexandria, VA. I'm amazed at the number of 5-star reviews this book garnered, since I could've written the dialogue from this book when I was a sophomore in high school.
To give just one example (out of dozens of possibilities), when an agent on the CAU is caught leaking information to the press, her confrontation with her superior read more like a fight behind the bleachers during homecoming than anything you would expect from professionals. Would said agent really be simply reassigned? Wouldn't the superior have something a little more cutting to say about the lapse than the comebacks that were about as snappy as "Oh, yeah?"? I found myself rolling my eyes so often I'm surprised they didn't stick that way.
In short, the plot had promise, but the immature writing brings this book down in quality to the point that it's hard to believe an author of Coulter's stature actually wrote it. (Is it possible she has a 15-year-old niece who's using her name?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!! Catherine Coulter is awesome., Feb. 10 2003
By 
Pinktulip "Cat" (Chattanooga, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
Catherine Coulter does it again. What a enthralling book. Lacey Sherlock is driven to find the man who killed her sister. What better way to do that than to join the FBI. There she meets Dillon Savich who brings her into his computer forensic team. She is right where she needs to be in order to find out about the String Killer. During this time, Sherlock and Savich are becoming closer by working out together at the gym and working on the same cases. Finally, after seven years, the killer strikes again. She recognizes his m.o. immediately and rushes to Boston to capture him. Unfortunately, she does not tell Savich what she is doing and then the fun begins. He is furious that she has not told him of her past. After several days, he decides to let her pursue the case, but only with him as her partner. Many twists and turns follow to make you wonder if the string killer really did it.Was it the jealous husband? Was it her judgemental father? Her crazy mother? This book will keep you guessing until the end. Sherlock and Savich are a lot fun and their love story is wonderful. Also, if you read the first book in this series, The Cove, then look for James and Sally Quinlan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Embarrasingly Adolescent, Oct. 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
This embarrasingly adolescent book has absolutely no redeeming virtues, and I would recomend fans of the genre to look elsewhere: to James Patterson, Martin Cruz Smith, or Patricia Cornwell.
Although the book is supposed to be set in Washington, DC, the city is unrecognizable. Compared to Patterson, who salts his Alex Cross books with details that reflect knowledge of and affection for the city, Coulter seems to have never visited DC, or even bothered looking at a map of the city.
Worse, her characters are disconnected from the world the rest of us live in. One of the two main characters openly engages in what can only be called sexual harrassment towards the other main character, but the other characters watch this with approval, as does Coulter herself.
Naming this new organization within the FBI the "Criminal Apprehension Unit" is another example of Coulter's laziness. What, exactly, does she think the rest of the FBI does, if not apprehend criminals? Another lazy shortcut is the "magic computer" that is the chief investigative asset of this "Criminal Apprehension Unit". While computers are indispensible to the modern investigator, Coulter doesn't bother including them in ways that make sense. She pays no attention to their real capabilities.
In short, this book is terrible, with amateurish style, unbelievable characters, and a ridiculous plot. Don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This book was terrible..., Dec 21 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
Ms. Coulter is one of my favorite historical writers. But this book was just plain horrible. I don't know how anyone of you that read this book actually managed to give the book 5 stars. It was horribly written. The book actually starts off really good, which is how you get trapped into reading the rest of it in the first place. As the book goes it starts to make no sense at all. Too many things just don't add up. Too many questions are left unanswered. Like did Douglas and Lacy's mother have an affair? If not then why in the world did Ms. Coulter write that part in, where he goes into her hospital room and display the show of tender affection that he did??? HELP ME OUT WITH THAT ONE PLEASE. I also have some other strong issues concerning this book but I don't want to give away the plot and reveal the very stupid ending for anyone that just has to read this book.
I've decided to stick with her historical writings and when I'm in need of suspense writings I will look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A loving and a heroic story, Dec 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
The Maze is a story of a women who is hunting down the killer of her sister. Lacey Sherlock is this women and she is determined to put the killer in jail. The killer had also killed 6 other women. This was 7 years ago. Lacey is now a FBI agent. She and a few agents are now in this alley tracking an undercover agent who supposedly stole wads of fake dollar bills. Lacey suspects a well known agent,Dillon Savich, there talking to the mayor. She sees that he is wearing baggy clothes and she keeps her eye on him. Seconds later she and Savich are fighting each other and Savich has disarmed her twice. Thanks to her partner she shot Dillon with a paint gun. She was right about him being the undercover agent. A few days later, Lacey was put in Dillons unit, CAU= Criminal Apprehension unit, which he has built and programed himself. Savich finds out about Laceys obsession of trying to find the killer and so he helps her track him down. Lacey went undercover as a women named Marty and got a knife stuck in her arm by Marlin Jones, the killer. Marlin was also wounded but by a gun shot.
In this book, Lacey falls in love and gets married to Dillon. The main part of the ending is that Lacey was captured by Marlin and his father and Hannah was also captured. Hannah dated Dillon but he broke it off, she's jealous of Lacey. Dillon finds out where Lacey and Hannah were taken and brings several agents with him. Marlins father dies first and then Marlin.
This was just alittle intro of the book but there is more suprising parts in this book. Parts that will make you warm and parts that will make you laugh your heart out. I hope that you will read this book. It would make you want to read more of Catherine's FBI series books. I've read all of them and I know that you will enjoy them.
By: Anna
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walking the walk...., Aug. 24 2000
By 
D. Smith "mulan345" (Charlotte, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
Seven years ago, Lacey Sherlock's sister was brutally murdered in a maze of horrors. Since that time Lacey has devoted herself to finding the murderer, quipped by the media as the String murderer. After finishing college and receiving her Master's degree in Criminal Psychology, she immediately applies and is accepted into the FBI program. Finding the job of profiling to much to handle, she is routed to the Criminal Apprehension Unit, whose director, Dillon Savich has developed a unique computer program to capture serial killers. Dillon is an intelligent man who senses that Lacey has deep secrets. And as Lacey secretly uses the Predictive Analogue Programs to find the String Murder, Dillon must join in her crusade to eliminate the killer, before Lacey becomes the next victim..
What a great novel!!! I enjoyed the suspense, character development and budding relationship between Lacey and Dillon. My only gripes with the book were with the secondary characters and the unanswered questions. For example, did we really have to have Hannah's character, the bitter and obsessed ex-girlfriend?? Alright, so it is done in every romance novel, but it is time that female authors move beyond this predictable character . The flow of the book would not have been interrupted or slowed if Hannah's character had been deleted. Ms. Coulter's attempts to introduce secondary characters to paint a convincing line of suspects were successful in some areas (Douglas and Candice) . However, extensively including Sherlock's parents in the story was confusing. There were also many questions left unanswered, such as Douglas's relationship with Lacey's mother, which was hinted at but never explained. How did Lacey's sister meet the murderer?
But the saving grace of this book, and maybe the reason why so many people enjoyed it, was the relationship between Lacey and Dillon. I enjoyed reading through their debates and even smiled at some of their attempts at humor. In this novel, intelligence wasn't just tallied as a positive attribute and then never mentioned (or more importantly, demonstrated) again. You have a real sense that you are dealing with intellectual persons instead of cardboard personas with a "Hey, I'm smart" button. Great job!! On top of that, kudos to any author that can write an intelligent, confident female character without making her into a "B". I can't wait to read more by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Left something to be disired in romance..., May 12 2000
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
But it was a great thriller. I loved Lacey, she was definately not your typical romance heroine which was nice because too often they are breathtakingly beautiful women who walk around and have men fall at their feet. Also, Lacey was extremly smart and was a good match for Dillon. Some of their intellectual battles were very entertaining. Although Lacey was obsessed with her sister's death, she didn't let it crontrol her every move. Dillon was the perfect match for her. They were very similar, and that's what made it seem like they were being drawn together. The mystery and suspense seemed to be shoving the love story out though. I wanted more of a romance, but it turned out to be more of a thriller then anything else. The only reason that I didn't give this book five stars (it was extremly good in the uniquness of storyline and the lines that moved you to the end of your seat) was because the climax in the plot seemed to occure towards the begining of the book rather then at the end. But if you love mystery, this is a pretty good book for you. If you want a romance, you may want to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed-down thriller trying to be romantic suspense novel, April 11 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maze (Mass Market Paperback)
I was able to finish this book, but not without cringingcountless times at the utterly horrible dialogue! I am not sure whatthe author was trying to accomplish with the mind-numbing, juvenile banter between the characters, but I was embarrassed for her throughout the book. These characters are supposed to be members of the FBI and yet they sound like adolescents for the most part. Conversations consist mostly of disjointed thoughts without any description of the speaker's mannerisms. For a book that starts with an introduction praising the editors for their work, I can only wonder, what was anyone involved in this book thinking! For a good romantic thriller, check out Kay Hooper's After Caroline. The people sound realistic in this book.
Another gripe, how the heck was Sherlock able to get into the FBI in the first place? And if I had to read one more dumb comment about her name, I could have screamed. If that is the author's idea of a running joke, it was lame, lame, lame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Maze
The Maze by Catherine Coulter (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 30 2010)
CDN$ 8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews