Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Will Brenna get her man???
I have found after fighting my tastes I really like Nora Roberts stories. Especially the ones set in Ireland.
This is the second of a new trilogy. The stories center around Cerdick the Fairy Prince who has to make things right to be able to spare the ghost of his past love and spend eternity with her. The Gallagher clan (Adian, Shawn and Darcy) must meet their true...
Published on June 19 2003 by Tanya L. Schaub

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Irish It's Not
I rarely read romance fiction. So much of it is formula fiction. But when I heard about Nora Roberts Irish trilogy ( Jewels of the Sun, Tears of the Moon and Heart of the Sea) I had to take it for a spin.
For the most part the writing is good and entertaining. The action all takes place in present day Ireland and she seems to have a good feel for the setting...
Published on Feb. 2 2003 by Steve B. Mcknelly


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Irish It's Not, Feb. 2 2003
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
I rarely read romance fiction. So much of it is formula fiction. But when I heard about Nora Roberts Irish trilogy ( Jewels of the Sun, Tears of the Moon and Heart of the Sea) I had to take it for a spin.
For the most part the writing is good and entertaining. The action all takes place in present day Ireland and she seems to have a good feel for the setting.
But...(you just KNEW that was coming!)
It's also quite obvious that Ms Roberts is an Irish American who took a "weekend trip" to Ireland. There is much in these novels that is jarring me and the research, especially into Irish history, is sloppy at best.
1. A recurring theme in all three books centers around a love affair gone awry between a Fairy Prince and a mortal woman. Ms. Roberts created the "legend" from whole cloth, although I agree it's themely. Except she places the purported romance only three hundred years in the past. A thousand years, even two thousand years ago, and I could believe it, But three hundred years ago Ireland was under the English Occupation who were busily doing their damnedest to commit genocide and had outlawed all Irish culture and language. The name of her "Fairy Prince" is Carrick. I can swallow that. But his mortal lover is named "Lady Gwen". Ireland never followed feudalism and their were no Irish "Ladys" and Gwen is a WELSH name. This leads me to believe that his mortal lover wasn't even IRISH but English!
2. One of the central locations in all three books is a pub owned by a family of two brothers and a sister, all of who are major characters in the novels. Supposedly the pub was established in 1842 and passed down in the family. This was just THREE YEARS before the start of the Great Famine. Considering that all of Ireland starved during the Famine I can't even imagine a pub surviving through it, especially in as tiny a village as the setting is supposed to be.
3. She makes good use of music throughout the books, printing snatches of song lyrics here and there. Until she mentioned Willie McBride. This is a reference to a song called No Man's Land. It was written by Eric Bogle, an expatriate Scotsman living in Australia. Another jarring note.
4. At one point her "Fairy Prince" says "By Finn!" Although Finn had a strong connection to magic and had the gift of the Sight he wasn't even a demigod, much less a god. He was a mortal man. For a Prince of the Sidhe to swear by him simply doesn't fit.
As I'm only halfway through the second book I'm sure that there will be more to make me blink as I read. But I can't help feeling that if she had just taken a little more care and time the books could have been so much better. The mistakes are so gauche. Ireland has a rich history and culture she could have drawn from without making these kinds of errors. All in all I'm disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will Brenna get her man???, June 19 2003
By 
Tanya L. Schaub "TSchlaack" (Livermore, Maine USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
I have found after fighting my tastes I really like Nora Roberts stories. Especially the ones set in Ireland.
This is the second of a new trilogy. The stories center around Cerdick the Fairy Prince who has to make things right to be able to spare the ghost of his past love and spend eternity with her. The Gallagher clan (Adian, Shawn and Darcy) must meet their true loves...
This is Shawn and Brenna's story. They have known each other forever. What many don't know is for almost that same amount of time Brenna has loved Shawn and wishes he would notice her. But, she finally decided waiting is not for her (not really her style anyways) and she goes straight to him and proposes they sleep together. Shock is a mild comment as to what Shawn feels... But, does he really know what he wants either?
As usual there is a bit of unbelievable in any story that also has Fairies but this one also shows the misunderstandings that happen in a lot of relationships.
If you are looking for a good romance this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great series!, May 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
Tears of the Moon by Nora Roberts was a very good fictional story about two star-crossed lovers who fall into the trap of fate. The novel explores Irish folklore, which gives the book its magic. Roberts snatches the reader's attention and compels them to want to read more.
Tears of the Moon was the second in an Irish trilogy about the Gallagher family. The trilogy itself revolves around an Irish legend of a fairie prince named Carrick and the mortal woman he loved, Gwen Fitzgerald. Three times Carrick tried to win the love of Gwen and she wanted nothing more than to accept him, but he forgot one thing. He never told her that he loved her. After the third rejection, Carrick got mad and cast a spell on the both of them. They can never be together until true love finds itself three times over. The second time around, the story is of Shawn Gallagher and Brenna O'Toole, friends forever...and maybe a bit more. Is it possible that the two could play a role in breaking the spell? After all, Shawn and Brenna are two very different people. Shawn is a dreamer and is in no rush to change his life in any way. Brenna on the other hand, just wants Shawn to get up and do something with himself!
Tears of the Moon was a great book that will make the reader laugh and continue to turn the page. Nora Roberts did a remarkable job describing the Irish countryside and pulling the reader into the story. This book is recommended to anyone who likes a good romance novel with a little Irish twist.
Also, don't miss the other two books in the trilogy, Jewels of the Sun, the first book, and Heart of the Sea, the third book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here We Go Again... :), July 12 2002
By 
John Rossi (Somers Point, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
Well, once again we find ourselves in the happy little seaside village of Ardmore in County Waterford Ireland. The star-crossed lovers Prince Carrick and Gwen Fitzgerald need more help to break the spell that has kept them apart for 300 years and counting. The excellent depiction of Ireland's scenery, people, music, humor and folklore continues, to great page-turning effect.
This time Carrick's target is the loveable dimwitted "bonehead" Shawn Gallagher, the middle child of the three. Some say he's weak and a wimp. Fine. That's their right. I say he's not. In fact I loved the way he was written. The romance here was just as steamy as Jewels Of The Sun but a bit more tender to me somehow. I really could relate to Sean as I love music and food but can't cook. :) And I don't write music. Anyway I could feel him in my mind easily. Who among men does not have dreams AND the fear of the fact that they just might not come true. Who would NOT resent being "pushed" into love just because it fits with someone else's plans? Who would NOT be content if they could lead a simple life in a place they adore with a job they love to do and if they were content with friends instead of running around chasing every girl in the village?
I digress. What I really loved here was the way the romance worked. Shawn DID learn to go ahead with his dreams. With Carrick and Gwen's help, and quite a bit from Brenna too, Shawn does learn to see what's been right in front of his nose for years... that Brenna loves him and he loves her too, even though he wouldn't let himself admit it. (Hey, men can be real idiots about things, just ask us. So can women for that matter. It's called pride and ego folks. :)) Note: This is an observation, NOT a personal attack on men and women. But the character of Shawn embodies it perfectly, the burning desire for love and yet the deep urge to "be a man" and hide his feelings for fear that they make him look weak and stupid. Brenna has the same problem but learns to overcome it too (she first wants to leave Ardmore to hide her love for Shawn but finally gives in and accepts and embraces that love because she learns the truth that true love is worth FAR much more than pride and ego). The aforementioned fiesty Brenna O'Toole, an adorable tomboy of sorts, is efficient to a fault as well and appears to think acting "female" makes her look weak and idiotic. But she learns that the most efficient way of doing something isn't always the best way. She wants her first romp with Shawn to be "fast and furious and done" but she caves when she is shown that slow and tender can be just as nice and is often much BETTER than fast and furious. She also learns that it's okay to loosen up and be gentle and pretty. She can be herself and loosen up because Shawn will always love her no matter what. That's an important lesson. True love ALWAYS loves the one it seeks to embrace... forever. What man or woman would not wish to have a lover like this?
What I said about Jewels Of The Sun, I will repeat about Tears Of The Moon. I loved the scenery, the writing style, the people, the humor and the warm family spirit. This drove home the lesson that it is important to chase your dreams and give love a chance to enter your life, as it will make your life all the better and richer if you just let it. Love is one of God's best gifts and should never be looked on as something of little value or only something that "real men" (or women) don't or couldn't care less about. True love I think ENABLES you to better be a real and fuller, more complete person if you are lucky and fortunate and blessed enough to find it. Hang on to it and treasure it. When you stand at the point of death it isn't what you've DONE that grieves you the most, they say. It's all the dreams you DIDN'T chase and all the things you DIDN'T do.
To make a long story short, this is a worthy sequel to Jewels Of The Sun and every bit as good. If you like nice feel-good stories with a point and with a heart (and plenty of spice too) pick it up. Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And I like it, too..., Oct. 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
As an Irish-North American living in Ireland I ususally steer away from romances that take place here. In general, I find the characters are caricatures whose dialoge is a cross between an Irish Spring commercial and the leprechaun from Lucky Charms, which is not only trite but annoying. I must admit that I've had this book tucked away for several months and I didn't read it precisely because I thought it fed into those same characterizations. However, despite an occasional (and probably inherent) wince on my part I do believe that Ms. Roberts has managed to evade the Irish stereotypes; this must have been a particular challenge since she's borrowing from the genre of a fairy tale that would be steeped in them.
I admit it: I loved Shawn and Brenna. There was a depth and breadth to them that I haven't come across in a while since so many romance characters are as thin as the paper they're portrayed on and equally forgettable. Here, you laugh, frown and cringe right along with them as if they're people you met last week when you went down to Tomas O Brian's for a pint. I look forward to picking up the two remaining books of the trilogy when I go home for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous read, Oct. 23 2001
By 
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
I absolutely loved "Tears of the Moon" by Nora Roberts. It is the second book in the trilogy of the Gallagher siblings of Ardmore, Ireland and it is NOT to be missed! Rich and vivid characters, gorgeous settings, a heart-warming romance, and just the right dose of fantasy all combine to make for a superb reading experience.
Shawn Gallagher has spent his entire life moving at his own relaxed speed, daydreaming along the way. He is an extremely talented musician and songwriter, but he has never put his gifts to good use. This handsome man is content working as cook at his family's pub and writing songs for his own benefit. However fiery-haired tomboy Brenna O'Toole, who has known Shawn nearly all her life, can't comprehend why he lets his immense talent go to waste. Shawn and his daydreaming are a constant frustration to Brenna, who has had a secret crush on Shawn for years.
Shawn has always treated Brenna like a little sister, which she has had just about enough of. So, Brenna finally decides to confess her true feelings to Shawn. This particular scene in the book is absolutely hilarious.
From this point on, Shawn and Brenna begin their romance. They have many obstacles to overcome, and their romance is full of ups and downs, passion and tenderness. Shawn and Brenna are both wonderful, lovable characters, and readers will come to care deeply for them. Roberts skilfully renders Shawn and Brenna's courtship, making their relationship so interesting that readers will be hard pressed to put this book down!
Another fascinating part of the story that will keep readers glued to the pages is the subplot of Carrick, prince of the faeries, who must help all three Gallagher siblings find true love in order to break a centuries-old spell that keeps him from his one and only love, Lady Gwen. Roberts does a fantastic job of incorporating these fantasy elements into the story and Carrick and Gwen's heart-breaking tale enriches the entire book.
"Tears of the Moon" is one of my favourite Nora Roberts books ever. The interaction between the three Gallagher siblings, Aiden, Shawn and Darcy, will warm your heart and make you laugh. This is a beautiful and highly satisfying tale that you won't soon forget. So buy this book today. It is a magical read and I highly recommend it, along with the other two books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun/Romantic Read, Sept. 23 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (Savannah, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
"Tears of the Moon", the second installment of Nora Roberts' Irish trilogy, takes us once again to the seaside village of Ardmore, Ireland. It's a year later and Jude and Aidan have been married and are expecting a child. Shawn Gallagher, Aidan's younger brother and chef at Gallagher pub, has moved into the little cottage on fairy hill. He's content here, living alone and working on his one true passion, music. That's where this story and romance begins. Unknown to him, Brenna O'Toole, a lifelong friend of his family, has always had a "yen" for him. Unfortunantely, so does her younger sister Mary Kate.
Brenna isn't what you call your typical female. She does a lot of handy work and she rarely looks the part of a woman. Because of this, Brenna finds herself unattractive and undesirable. Once Shawn moves into the cottage, Brenna's feelings for him begin to worry her more and more. She doesn't want to want Shawn. Brenna decides that the only way to get him out of her system is to sleep with him. She offers herself to him and he pushes her away, thinking of her only as a friend. Once he's had time to think about what she's offered, he starts to see that he also has feelings for her. They decide to begin a physical relationship, to keep love out of the way, and end it as friends. But somewhere along the way, Shawn does exactly what he promised he wouldn't, fall in love. Knowing that Brenna is stubborn and hard-headed and will likely turn him away, he decides to trick her into falling in love with him. And with a little help from his family, as well as Carrick and Gwen, he succeeds. The only problem is whether or not she'll return his love.
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It has all the elements of a good romance novel: laughter, obstacles, fiery heroines and of course hot, steamy love scenes. I found myself laughing at Brenna and Shawn throughout the book. Their scenes together are truly magical. I definantely recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed "Jewels of the Sun" or any of Nora's other books. She brings Ireland and the Gallagher family to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely story. Well written., Sept. 18 2001
By 
apoem "apoem" (Bosque Farms, NM USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
I just love Nora Roberts books. Again and Again I am pleased with the books she writes. I particularly like her series books.
This is the second book in this series about a family in Ireland. I have to admit to being a little bit hesitant to reading books about Ireland because many times the author will get sidetracked by faeries, goblins, and pots of gold. Although Nora Roberts did a great job in the first book of this series, I was worried she wouldn't do so well this time. Not to fear, she wrote with her usualy flair for romance and although there were some faery stuff, it wasn't so much it took away from the story.
Nora's love of Ireland shines through in her writing. The descriptions of Ireland make me feel that I could travel there and see exactly these places she describes.
The characters are adorable. They are non traditional in that Brenna is the hammer holding, jack of all trade type woman. She is one who can change the oil, take care of herself, and cook dinner. Shawn is a musician. This book explores the changes that take place in relationships as friendship turns to love. It does a credible job of exploring the fears and concerns of the two main characters and those around the two characters.
I particularly like how characters from past books in this series are reintroduced and you are able to follow their lives as well.
What a wonderful, well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second in a Terrific Series, May 11 2001
By 
Peggy Lee "sleepyangel0" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
Normally I'm somewhat leery of romance stories that implement some kind of supernatural aspect, but Nora Roberts manages to put in a magic and faeries without it seeming out of place, or at least not too much out of place. The legend of Carrick is a romantic theme for the series, the titles of the trilogy coming from the gifts he brought for his Gwen.
This second book is a continuation of the Ardmore trilogy, and is a great standalone as well. It follows the story of Shawn Gallagher, the dreamy, artistic sibling of the Gallagher family. Shawn is sooo oblivious - to Brenna's attraction and also to her little sister's attraction as well. And isn't it just so true to life? In any case, Brenna O'Toole is tired of being seen in his eyes as just the handy fix-it-all girl, the friendly, innocuous girl next door. She's always had a little something something for the poetic and amazingly handsome Shawn, and she figures it's time that he found out about it.
It's great how Roberts details the way Shawn's thoughts about Brenna turn from friendly to something deeper and more serious. It seems so natural and realistic the way that he learns to realize and take Brenna as a woman instead of just a friend. The gradual realization of Brenna's feelings for him and his own feelings for her is well written and thought out. Another conflict that they have to deal with is about Shawn's music, which Brenna stubbornly believes should be published and which Shawn is somewhat more insecure about. The intervention and exasperation of Carrick, the Fairy Prince, is both amusing and touching. All in all, this book was a great read.
Tears of the Moon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read by Roberts, March 23 2001
By 
"geminigirl529@yahoo.com" (Huntington Beach, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 (Mass Market Paperback)
This book hooked me from the first chapter. I immediately went out and bought this book and Heart of the Sea after reading Jewels of the Sun. In my opinion, this one was better than the first. I enjoyed the closeness and teasing Brenna and Shawn shared even in the beginning.
Brenna O'Toole has known Shawn Gallagher all her life. She has had feelings for him for years, yet he only sees her as a little sister. (He writes beautiful songs, so he has his head in the clouds half the day, and thus can't see what is in front of him). Brenna, being the straightforward woman that she is, decides the intiate the relationship herself. Suffice to say that what happens after she announces her intentions to Shawn is hilarious! They go through many obstacles that will leave you wanting more.
Also, there are visits from the characters from the first novel. Jude and Aiden come back to give advice to Shawn and Brenna. Their scenes are so touching. Also giving advice is Carrick, prince of the fairies. His story with Gwen runs through the trilogy, and I can't wait to see them finally together!
So go out and get this book. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2
Tears of the Moon: The Gallaghers of Ardmore Trilogy #2 by Nora Roberts (Mass Market Paperback - Nov. 1 2004)
CDN$ 8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews